Books Kids Fiction Elijah and King Ahab (I Can Read! Level 1)

Elijah and King Ahab (I Can Read! Level 1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/76/5b/45/_139397113_1332874860.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
470   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
March 20, 2012
ISBN
978-0310726753
Buy This Book
      

Elijah knows that God is the One Almighty God. King Ahab thinks Baal is better. What happens when Elijah challenges Ahab to a contest to prove who is right?

Editor reviews

First of all, I was super excited to read this book because this is one of my favorite Bible stories. When Elijah receives word from God to tell Ahab that there will soon be rain, he glady does it. Ahab is not happy to see Elijah though, and the two of them soon decide on a test to see who the real God is, Baal or God.

The story is taken straight from the Bible, and I think Crystal Bowman does a great job of keeping it on track and not deterring from the actual Bible story. The illustrations are colorful and easy to look at. I honestly adore this series and will be looking for more Bible stories in the "I Can Read" series of books. Fantastic job!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Awesome story about trusting in God

First of all, I was super excited to read this book because this is one of my favorite Bible stories. When Elijah receives word from God to tell Ahab that there will soon be rain, he glady does it. Ahab is not happy to see Elijah though, and the two of them soon decide on a test to see who the real God is, Baal or God.

The story is taken straight from the Bible, and I think Crystal Bowman does a great job of keeping it on track and not deterring from the actual Bible story. The illustrations are colorful and easy to look at. I honestly adore this series and will be looking for more Bible stories in the "I Can Read" series of books. Fantastic job!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)