The Phantom Tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth

Featured
 
4.0
 
4.3 (2)
1474   0
Write Review
The Phantom Tollbooth
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 25, 2011
ISBN
978-0375869037
Buy This Book
      

Illustrated in black-and-white. This ingenious fantasy centers around Milo, a bored ten-year-old who comes home to find a large toy tollbooth sitting in his room. Joining forces with a watchdog named Tock, Milo drives through the tollbooth's gates and begins a memorable journey. He meets such characters as the foolish, yet lovable Humbug, the Mathemagician, and the not-so-wicked "Which," Faintly Macabre, who gives Milo the "impossible" mission of returning two princesses to the Kingdom of Wisdom.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: March 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Relive, or Experience for the First Time, a Unique Classic

I read this book for the first time in third or fourth grade, and immediately was transfixed. Not only did this book introduce me to all kinds of new words and figures of speech, it was a unique take on the fairy-tale style. Re-reading it as an adult was a pleasure. All I could remember from my memory was that there were words, math, odd characters, and a boy and a clock-dog riding around in a little car. It is all that, but much more!
The Phantom Tollboth has lots of silliness but also instructive scenes which involve all kinds of people and ways of thinking. It is part author commentary on humanity, part common sense. Younger readers will learn all kinds of new, big words and concepts. The philosophical side of the book also delves into the importance of balance in life, showing how too much of a something can be just as bad as too little. The world Juster creates is extremely unique. Occasionally some places are a stretch and end up being annoying rather than humorous, but all in all Milo's curiosity and questions make you love him and the world he is pulled into. Another plus is the great descriptions of scenery, sunsets, and people.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
(Updated: April 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

My Childhood!

I read this book way back when. I was probably in the fifth grade, maybe even earlier than that. And for YEARS after reading this, I tried to remember what it was called, and I searched high and low for the story about the boy who meets the man with the numbers! Just recently, my brother picked it up at the school library and I remembered it! I love this cute story! It's actually really funny, and I can't believe I read this at such a young age and understood it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0

Learning experience

This is a good book if you like some smart-humor. There are lots of different typed of figurative language used in unsusual ways. There are a lot of expressions used to mean something that they don't usually mean.It's a pretty funny book. This is a good book to teach kids about different expressions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Solo
From award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Kwame Alexander,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Refugee.jpg
JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
SwingitSunnyjpg
Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheWitchBoy.jpg
n thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Flowers for Sarajevo
 
5.0
"Haunting and hopeful. The bombing one of the last working bakeries in the city of Sarajevo might have been..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Plankton Is Pushy
 
4.0
"A quick and comical read, rife with sarcasm. A particular plankton is used to eliciting a response from every..."
Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure
 
4.0
"DRAGONWATCH is a captivating, action-packed story that is filled with all type of creatures such as trolls, goblins, dragons, nipsies,..."
Once Upon a Cruise
 
4.0
"What I Loved: After Ainsley’s mom took a cruise director job aboard what is essentially a mockbuster Disney cruise, Ainsley..."
Five Elements #2: The Shadow City
 
4.0
"THE SHADOW CITY starts off where I expected it to. The elementals are trying to decide on their next move...."
Will Wilder #2: The Lost Staff of Wonders
 
4.0
"In THE LOST STAFF OF WONDERS, the legendary staff of Moses is stolen by a powerful demon named Amon who..."
Cavern of Secrets (Wing and Claw #2)
 
4.0
"Raffa, Kuma, and Garith have escaped Gilden with their animal companions in CAVERN OF SECRETS. Raffa has Echo the Bat..."
Black Moon Rising (The Library Book 2)
 
5.0
"Marcus, along with his friends Lu and Theo, are struggling to make it through middle school. Lu gets a bad..."
Pig the Winner
 
4.5
"This book is a winner (no pun intended). This hilarious story paired with the most perfect illustrations will definitely leave..."
Rolling Thunder
 
5.0
"A touching memorandum and homage to the armed forces—wrapped in a gentle and beautifully illustrated teaching tool. The premise..."