Charlotte's Web

Charlotte's Web Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
884   0
Write Review
Charlotte's Web
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 09, 2006
ISBN
0-06-026386-5
Buy This Book
      

The classic story of a friendship between a spider named Charlotte and a pig named Wilber. Charlotte's artful spinning of messages in her web saves Wilber from getting slaughtered.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Review of the 60th Anniversary Edition

Kate DiCamillo is one of my all-time favorite authors. When I saw that she wrote the foreword in the 60th anniversary edition of Charlotte's Web, I had to stop everything and read it.

And she brought tears to my eyes, just as E.B. White does each time I re-read Charlotte's Web.

If you're looking to purchase an edition of Charlotte's Web, I encourage you to choose this one. Kate remembers herself as a child, never wanting to read Charlotte's Web because the cover told her there was something disconcerting about the story. She was fearful nothing good could come of a worried pig on the cover, especially when the very first sentence is, "Where's Papa going with that ax?" But her foreword speaks to the young child today who may have the same fear. She wishes she were there to tell herself not to be afraid of this book, that she promises it turns out beautifully.

I promise this book will not only change your life, but Kate's foreword will make owning this version even more precious.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Goose on a Farm
When Sophie and Goose go on a class trip to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears
Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)