Books Kids Fiction Charlotte's Web

Charlotte's Web Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/38/01/b3/_Screen shot 2012-03-21 at 10.45.35AM_1332344896.png
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
478   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 09, 2006
ISBN
0-06-026386-5
Buy This Book
      

The classic story of a friendship between a spider named Charlotte and a pig named Wilber. Charlotte's artful spinning of messages in her web saves Wilber from getting slaughtered.

Editor reviews

Kate DiCamillo is one of my all-time favorite authors. When I saw that she wrote the foreword in the 60th anniversary edition of Charlotte's Web, I had to stop everything and read it.

And she brought tears to my eyes, just as E.B. White does each time I re-read Charlotte's Web.

If you're looking to purchase an edition of Charlotte's Web, I encourage you to choose this one. Kate remembers herself as a child, never wanting to read Charlotte's Web because the cover told her there was something disconcerting about the story. She was fearful nothing good could come of a worried pig on the cover, especially when the very first sentence is, "Where's Papa going with that ax?" But her foreword speaks to the young child today who may have the same fear. She wishes she were there to tell herself not to be afraid of this book, that she promises it turns out beautifully.

I promise this book will not only change your life, but Kate's foreword will make owning this version even more precious.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Review of the 60th Anniversary Edition

Kate DiCamillo is one of my all-time favorite authors. When I saw that she wrote the foreword in the 60th anniversary edition of Charlotte's Web, I had to stop everything and read it.

And she brought tears to my eyes, just as E.B. White does each time I re-read Charlotte's Web.

If you're looking to purchase an edition of Charlotte's Web, I encourage you to choose this one. Kate remembers herself as a child, never wanting to read Charlotte's Web because the cover told her there was something disconcerting about the story. She was fearful nothing good could come of a worried pig on the cover, especially when the very first sentence is, "Where's Papa going with that ax?" But her foreword speaks to the young child today who may have the same fear. She wishes she were there to tell herself not to be afraid of this book, that she promises it turns out beautifully.

I promise this book will not only change your life, but Kate's foreword will make owning this version even more precious.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)