Books Kids Fiction Brainboy and the DeathMaster

Brainboy and the DeathMaster

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/96/c6/06/1160_2645918-1350231590.jpg
 
0.0
 
1.0 (1)
462   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 07, 2003
ISBN
0060291818
Buy This Book
      
Darryl Kirby is an orphan. He is also a whiz at computer games -- especially those conceived by Keith Masterly, the greatest software guru of all time. But when Darryl plays a new prototype of his favorite game, StarMaster, strange things begin to happen. After he finds his way through a tortuous maze and answers questions that could stump a scientist, a mysterious message -- "WANT TO PLAY?" -- invites him into a game in which the stakes are higher than they first appear -- a game that eventually lands him in a luxurious laboratory where Masterly has enlisted a brain trust of children for a secret purpose of his own. Befriended by Nina, who suspects Masterly's motives, Darryl slowly uncovers a sinister plan and finds himself the star in his own real-life computer game. But will he and Nina be able to stop Masterly and escape before it is too late?

"Brainboy and the Deathmaster" is a fast-paced, high-tech mystery-adventure by National Book Award finalist Tor Seidler, author of the modern-day classic "Mean Margaret."

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by reading guru

The Brain Boy and the Deathmaster, written by Tor Seidler
begins in Chicago, with twelve-year-old Darryl Kirby stuck in an orphanage (the Masterly Children's Center founded by Keith Masterly) after the rest of his family is killed. After scrawny, tattooed boy Boris wakes him from shock by stealing his GameMaster, Darryl is intrigued by a laptop (there's one in each orphanage room) and begins to play its StarMaster game. To gain access to the game, he has to solve a timed maze and answer questions tough enough to stump a scientist, which is why Boris calls him 'brain boy'.

Soon after he meets and befriends BJ, whose mother delivers books and videos to the orphanage, Darryl is suddenly taken from the center by billionaire, software guru Keith Masterly himself, and offered the opportunity to 'change the course of human history.' He ends up with other young geniuses in an underground secret think tank called Paradise Lab. Essentially imprisoned; they are supplied with endless luxury and resources, but in exchange they must participate in the research of the 'G-17 project', the discover of eternal youth. As the young geniuses work, Keith Masterly is begins to develop a diabolical scheme, which forces him to confront his painful past

In the meantime, Boris and BJ team up to find out what's happened to Darryl; Boris is also searching for his brilliant sister Nina, who disappeared some time before. Of course Nina is in paradise lab with Darryl. They all end up involved in dangerous adventures, in which they must face their deepest fears. And when Brain boy does finally beat the Deathmaster, his punishment is a perfect fit for his crimes.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader November 06, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

great book for all kids

Reader reviewed by reading guru

The Brain Boy and the Deathmaster, written by Tor Seidler
begins in Chicago, with twelve-year-old Darryl Kirby stuck in an orphanage (the Masterly Children's Center founded by Keith Masterly) after the rest of his family is killed. After scrawny, tattooed boy Boris wakes him from shock by stealing his GameMaster, Darryl is intrigued by a laptop (there's one in each orphanage room) and begins to play its StarMaster game. To gain access to the game, he has to solve a timed maze and answer questions tough enough to stump a scientist, which is why Boris calls him 'brain boy'.

Soon after he meets and befriends BJ, whose mother delivers books and videos to the orphanage, Darryl is suddenly taken from the center by billionaire, software guru Keith Masterly himself, and offered the opportunity to 'change the course of human history.' He ends up with other young geniuses in an underground secret think tank called Paradise Lab. Essentially imprisoned; they are supplied with endless luxury and resources, but in exchange they must participate in the research of the 'G-17 project', the discover of eternal youth. As the young geniuses work, Keith Masterly is begins to develop a diabolical scheme, which forces him to confront his painful past

In the meantime, Boris and BJ team up to find out what's happened to Darryl; Boris is also searching for his brilliant sister Nina, who disappeared some time before. Of course Nina is in paradise lab with Darryl. They all end up involved in dangerous adventures, in which they must face their deepest fears. And when Brain boy does finally beat the Deathmaster, his punishment is a perfect fit for his crimes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)