Books Kids Fiction Brainboy and the DeathMaster

Brainboy and the DeathMaster

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/96/c6/06/1160_2645918-1350231590.jpg
 
0.0
 
1.0 (1)
619   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 07, 2003
ISBN
0060291818
Buy This Book
      
Darryl Kirby is an orphan. He is also a whiz at computer games -- especially those conceived by Keith Masterly, the greatest software guru of all time. But when Darryl plays a new prototype of his favorite game, StarMaster, strange things begin to happen. After he finds his way through a tortuous maze and answers questions that could stump a scientist, a mysterious message -- "WANT TO PLAY?" -- invites him into a game in which the stakes are higher than they first appear -- a game that eventually lands him in a luxurious laboratory where Masterly has enlisted a brain trust of children for a secret purpose of his own. Befriended by Nina, who suspects Masterly's motives, Darryl slowly uncovers a sinister plan and finds himself the star in his own real-life computer game. But will he and Nina be able to stop Masterly and escape before it is too late?

"Brainboy and the Deathmaster" is a fast-paced, high-tech mystery-adventure by National Book Award finalist Tor Seidler, author of the modern-day classic "Mean Margaret."

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by reading guru

The Brain Boy and the Deathmaster, written by Tor Seidler
begins in Chicago, with twelve-year-old Darryl Kirby stuck in an orphanage (the Masterly Children's Center founded by Keith Masterly) after the rest of his family is killed. After scrawny, tattooed boy Boris wakes him from shock by stealing his GameMaster, Darryl is intrigued by a laptop (there's one in each orphanage room) and begins to play its StarMaster game. To gain access to the game, he has to solve a timed maze and answer questions tough enough to stump a scientist, which is why Boris calls him 'brain boy'.

Soon after he meets and befriends BJ, whose mother delivers books and videos to the orphanage, Darryl is suddenly taken from the center by billionaire, software guru Keith Masterly himself, and offered the opportunity to 'change the course of human history.' He ends up with other young geniuses in an underground secret think tank called Paradise Lab. Essentially imprisoned; they are supplied with endless luxury and resources, but in exchange they must participate in the research of the 'G-17 project', the discover of eternal youth. As the young geniuses work, Keith Masterly is begins to develop a diabolical scheme, which forces him to confront his painful past

In the meantime, Boris and BJ team up to find out what's happened to Darryl; Boris is also searching for his brilliant sister Nina, who disappeared some time before. Of course Nina is in paradise lab with Darryl. They all end up involved in dangerous adventures, in which they must face their deepest fears. And when Brain boy does finally beat the Deathmaster, his punishment is a perfect fit for his crimes.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader November 06, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

great book for all kids

Reader reviewed by reading guru

The Brain Boy and the Deathmaster, written by Tor Seidler
begins in Chicago, with twelve-year-old Darryl Kirby stuck in an orphanage (the Masterly Children's Center founded by Keith Masterly) after the rest of his family is killed. After scrawny, tattooed boy Boris wakes him from shock by stealing his GameMaster, Darryl is intrigued by a laptop (there's one in each orphanage room) and begins to play its StarMaster game. To gain access to the game, he has to solve a timed maze and answer questions tough enough to stump a scientist, which is why Boris calls him 'brain boy'.

Soon after he meets and befriends BJ, whose mother delivers books and videos to the orphanage, Darryl is suddenly taken from the center by billionaire, software guru Keith Masterly himself, and offered the opportunity to 'change the course of human history.' He ends up with other young geniuses in an underground secret think tank called Paradise Lab. Essentially imprisoned; they are supplied with endless luxury and resources, but in exchange they must participate in the research of the 'G-17 project', the discover of eternal youth. As the young geniuses work, Keith Masterly is begins to develop a diabolical scheme, which forces him to confront his painful past

In the meantime, Boris and BJ team up to find out what's happened to Darryl; Boris is also searching for his brilliant sister Nina, who disappeared some time before. Of course Nina is in paradise lab with Darryl. They all end up involved in dangerous adventures, in which they must face their deepest fears. And when Brain boy does finally beat the Deathmaster, his punishment is a perfect fit for his crimes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • YABC August Book Haul

    It's here! It's Here! The August Book Haul is finally here! Enjoy this mountain of wordy-filled goodness.  Yay for books! ...

  • Giveaway: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (US Only)

    MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS 20th Century Fox In theaters September 18, 2015   The Maze was just the beginning! See Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials in theaters September 18   In this next chapter of the epic “Maze Runner” saga, Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) a ...

  • Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

    TOO COOL TO BRAG. TORREY’S MY DOG, BOB, INTRODUCES KIDS TO A DIFFERENT WAY TO BE GREAT Raab Associates   Quiet dignity is vastly underrated, but it’s a quality shared by those who are truly fortunate to have learne ...

  • Author Trisha Leigh's TOP 5 OTPs

    Today we welcome Trisha Leigh, author of RETURN ONCE MORE, to the blog to share with us her top 5 OTPs!  RETURN ONCE MORE is a book about a teenage girl caught between her responsibility to document the past and her desire to use time travel in order to meet her one true love—even if he ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Emerge: The Edge by Melissa A. Craven + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for EMERGE: THE EDGE by Melissa A. Craven, releasing September 29, 2015 from Midnight Hour Studio. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hello YABCers! And welc ...

  • On the Horizon

      DC Comics’ Lois Lane Returns in Lois Lane: Double Down from Switch Press  Second Book in the New Young Adult Series by Gwenda Bond   MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (August 24, 2015) – DC Comics’ iconic character Lois Lane will be back for more in Lois Lane: Dou ...

  • What's New in YA--August 25, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Inspired by Victor Hugo’s classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine.   Paris, 1832 ...

  • Exclusive Sneak Peek at LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins + Giveaway (US Only)

    LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins Release Date: September 29, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine / Del Rey Hardcover   About the Book With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A. Higgins spins a riveting science fict ...

  • Love Letters to Literature #1

      Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Dear J.K. Rowling,   I suppose the best way to begin this letter would be to say thank you! Many readers might say that you changed their lives with the inception of your boy wizard. I'm su ...

  • Letters to the Living

      Contriubted by Joanne Mumley   Our very own Joanne Mumley, interviewed Ava Dellaira, author of Love Letters to the Dead, at Comic Con. This wonderful book and Joanne's interview, which you can find below, inspired all of us here at YABC! Don't believe us? Read on to f ...

  • Giveaway: The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender (US & Canada Only)

    THE DEAD GIRLS OF HYSTERIA HALL  by Katie Alender  Release Date: August 25, 2015   About the Book Asylum meets Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, in this riveting tale of ghosts, secrets, and family, from master of suspense Katie Alender. D ...

  • Giveaway: The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe (US only)

    THE APPEARANCE OF ANNIE VAN SINDEREN by Katherine Howe  Release Date: September 15, 2015   About the Book A haunting, contemporary love story from the New York Times bestselling author of Conversion It’s July in New York City, and aspiring filmmaker Wes A ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

A girl’s dark destiny could cause the unraveling of the world in this spellbinding novel from the author of A...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
"A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
17 year old Ember Denning has made an art of isolating herself. She prefers the dead. She spends her days...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
n this exciting and action-packed adventure by an award-winning author, a young girl discovers her secret ancient bloodline. The fate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ELIDAIRE_The_Tome_of_Knowledge_COVER.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Four years after the murder of his mother, Revel Harcourt, leader of a group of an ancient race of demon-hunting...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Metal crumpled, screamed as the force sent bodies in all directions. Instant stink of burnt rubber, glimpse of an arm...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has… Haley Patterson has had a crush on...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are looking for a place...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
nspired by Victor Hugo's classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
13 days.jpg
When Luke Manchett’s estranged father dies unexpectedly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance: a collection...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The world is a far different place in 2259. Thirty years of world war, rampant bombing, and the melting of...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Leia Swanson has always believed in monsters, especially after one killed her parents when she was seven years old. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Remarque, a lonely boy raised by his grandfather, discovers a gateway that could lead him to everything he's ever wanted......
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kamran Smith has it all. He's the star of the football team, dates the most popular...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Blink—and you’ll miss her. Mei Barrett has been hiding all of her life. Raised in solitude by her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a fairy-tale nightmare . . . One girl is kept in a room where every...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)