Brainboy and the DeathMaster

Brainboy and the DeathMaster

 
0.0
 
1.0 (1)
750   0
Write Review
Brainboy and the DeathMaster
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 07, 2003
ISBN
0060291818
Buy This Book
      
Darryl Kirby is an orphan. He is also a whiz at computer games -- especially those conceived by Keith Masterly, the greatest software guru of all time. But when Darryl plays a new prototype of his favorite game, StarMaster, strange things begin to happen. After he finds his way through a tortuous maze and answers questions that could stump a scientist, a mysterious message -- "WANT TO PLAY?" -- invites him into a game in which the stakes are higher than they first appear -- a game that eventually lands him in a luxurious laboratory where Masterly has enlisted a brain trust of children for a secret purpose of his own. Befriended by Nina, who suspects Masterly's motives, Darryl slowly uncovers a sinister plan and finds himself the star in his own real-life computer game. But will he and Nina be able to stop Masterly and escape before it is too late?

"Brainboy and the Deathmaster" is a fast-paced, high-tech mystery-adventure by National Book Award finalist Tor Seidler, author of the modern-day classic "Mean Margaret."

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

great book for all kids

Reader reviewed by reading guru

The Brain Boy and the Deathmaster, written by Tor Seidler
begins in Chicago, with twelve-year-old Darryl Kirby stuck in an orphanage (the Masterly Children's Center founded by Keith Masterly) after the rest of his family is killed. After scrawny, tattooed boy Boris wakes him from shock by stealing his GameMaster, Darryl is intrigued by a laptop (there's one in each orphanage room) and begins to play its StarMaster game. To gain access to the game, he has to solve a timed maze and answer questions tough enough to stump a scientist, which is why Boris calls him 'brain boy'.

Soon after he meets and befriends BJ, whose mother delivers books and videos to the orphanage, Darryl is suddenly taken from the center by billionaire, software guru Keith Masterly himself, and offered the opportunity to 'change the course of human history.' He ends up with other young geniuses in an underground secret think tank called Paradise Lab. Essentially imprisoned; they are supplied with endless luxury and resources, but in exchange they must participate in the research of the 'G-17 project', the discover of eternal youth. As the young geniuses work, Keith Masterly is begins to develop a diabolical scheme, which forces him to confront his painful past

In the meantime, Boris and BJ team up to find out what's happened to Darryl; Boris is also searching for his brilliant sister Nina, who disappeared some time before. Of course Nina is in paradise lab with Darryl. They all end up involved in dangerous adventures, in which they must face their deepest fears. And when Brain boy does finally beat the Deathmaster, his punishment is a perfect fit for his crimes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)