Books Kids Fiction Three Times Lucky

Three Times Lucky

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/dd/21/ef/_155137514_1330362127.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
715   0
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 10, 2012
ISBN
978-0803736702
Buy This Book
      

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Editor reviews

Murder, child abuse, and baby abandonment. You might think topics like these are a bit too mature for young readers, but with Mo LoBeau on the case, you can sit back, relax, and enjoy a Big Gulp full of sweet tea ‘cause she’ll keep your young’uns in good hands.

If you couldn’t tell, Sheila Turnage’s “Three Times Lucky” is set in the tiny southern town of Tupelo Landing, North Carolina where sixth grade girl Mo LoBeau helps run a café with her adoptive parents. When not working the counter serving the locals, Mo is brushing up on her detective skills, mainly looking for her Upstream Mother, the woman who abandoned her as a baby during a hurricane. That is until her most cantankerous café client is murdered, and she drops everything to find the culprit.

Mo ain’t your typical Southern Belle, and that is absolutely her most endearing quality. She’s blunt yet never offensive and persistent without harassing. It’s through the eyes and thoughts of Mo that readers discover the adult themes of murder, abandonment, and child abuse, and this is the best possible vehicle to introduce these deep topics to children. The nitty-gritty details of the murder are never divulged, we just know that grumpy Mr. Jesse is dead. No unnerving life stories about why Mo was abandoned are given, instead readers are shown that her adoptive parents love her more than life itself. Finally, incidents of child abuse against Mo’s best friend Dale are handled delicately. They are never too graphic, and Mo becomes heartwarmingly defensive of her best friend.

In addition to Mo, what makes Turnage’s Tupelo Landing even more fantastic is that all of her characters are entertaining. There is a high amount of adult characters in this Middle Grade book, yet you can see how each one of them can amuse and keep the attention of young readers. The Colonel is goofily militant, Miss Lana is hysterically eccentric, and Mayor Little is delightfully flamboyant.

Get ready for a cheesy line to wrap up this review, but I truly feel this way: Mo might be the one to say she’s three times lucky, but I definitely feel lucky to have been able to read this book.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Three Times Lucky to Have Read This Book

Murder, child abuse, and baby abandonment. You might think topics like these are a bit too mature for young readers, but with Mo LoBeau on the case, you can sit back, relax, and enjoy a Big Gulp full of sweet tea ‘cause she’ll keep your young’uns in good hands.

If you couldn’t tell, Sheila Turnage’s “Three Times Lucky” is set in the tiny southern town of Tupelo Landing, North Carolina where sixth grade girl Mo LoBeau helps run a café with her adoptive parents. When not working the counter serving the locals, Mo is brushing up on her detective skills, mainly looking for her Upstream Mother, the woman who abandoned her as a baby during a hurricane. That is until her most cantankerous café client is murdered, and she drops everything to find the culprit.

Mo ain’t your typical Southern Belle, and that is absolutely her most endearing quality. She’s blunt yet never offensive and persistent without harassing. It’s through the eyes and thoughts of Mo that readers discover the adult themes of murder, abandonment, and child abuse, and this is the best possible vehicle to introduce these deep topics to children. The nitty-gritty details of the murder are never divulged, we just know that grumpy Mr. Jesse is dead. No unnerving life stories about why Mo was abandoned are given, instead readers are shown that her adoptive parents love her more than life itself. Finally, incidents of child abuse against Mo’s best friend Dale are handled delicately. They are never too graphic, and Mo becomes heartwarmingly defensive of her best friend.

In addition to Mo, what makes Turnage’s Tupelo Landing even more fantastic is that all of her characters are entertaining. There is a high amount of adult characters in this Middle Grade book, yet you can see how each one of them can amuse and keep the attention of young readers. The Colonel is goofily militant, Miss Lana is hysterically eccentric, and Mayor Little is delightfully flamboyant.

Get ready for a cheesy line to wrap up this review, but I truly feel this way: Mo might be the one to say she’s three times lucky, but I definitely feel lucky to have been able to read this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)