Books Kids Fiction Three Times Lucky

Three Times Lucky

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/dd/21/ef/_155137514_1330362127.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
647   0
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 10, 2012
ISBN
978-0803736702
Buy This Book
      

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Editor reviews

Murder, child abuse, and baby abandonment. You might think topics like these are a bit too mature for young readers, but with Mo LoBeau on the case, you can sit back, relax, and enjoy a Big Gulp full of sweet tea ‘cause she’ll keep your young’uns in good hands.

If you couldn’t tell, Sheila Turnage’s “Three Times Lucky” is set in the tiny southern town of Tupelo Landing, North Carolina where sixth grade girl Mo LoBeau helps run a café with her adoptive parents. When not working the counter serving the locals, Mo is brushing up on her detective skills, mainly looking for her Upstream Mother, the woman who abandoned her as a baby during a hurricane. That is until her most cantankerous café client is murdered, and she drops everything to find the culprit.

Mo ain’t your typical Southern Belle, and that is absolutely her most endearing quality. She’s blunt yet never offensive and persistent without harassing. It’s through the eyes and thoughts of Mo that readers discover the adult themes of murder, abandonment, and child abuse, and this is the best possible vehicle to introduce these deep topics to children. The nitty-gritty details of the murder are never divulged, we just know that grumpy Mr. Jesse is dead. No unnerving life stories about why Mo was abandoned are given, instead readers are shown that her adoptive parents love her more than life itself. Finally, incidents of child abuse against Mo’s best friend Dale are handled delicately. They are never too graphic, and Mo becomes heartwarmingly defensive of her best friend.

In addition to Mo, what makes Turnage’s Tupelo Landing even more fantastic is that all of her characters are entertaining. There is a high amount of adult characters in this Middle Grade book, yet you can see how each one of them can amuse and keep the attention of young readers. The Colonel is goofily militant, Miss Lana is hysterically eccentric, and Mayor Little is delightfully flamboyant.

Get ready for a cheesy line to wrap up this review, but I truly feel this way: Mo might be the one to say she’s three times lucky, but I definitely feel lucky to have been able to read this book.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Three Times Lucky to Have Read This Book

Murder, child abuse, and baby abandonment. You might think topics like these are a bit too mature for young readers, but with Mo LoBeau on the case, you can sit back, relax, and enjoy a Big Gulp full of sweet tea ‘cause she’ll keep your young’uns in good hands.

If you couldn’t tell, Sheila Turnage’s “Three Times Lucky” is set in the tiny southern town of Tupelo Landing, North Carolina where sixth grade girl Mo LoBeau helps run a café with her adoptive parents. When not working the counter serving the locals, Mo is brushing up on her detective skills, mainly looking for her Upstream Mother, the woman who abandoned her as a baby during a hurricane. That is until her most cantankerous café client is murdered, and she drops everything to find the culprit.

Mo ain’t your typical Southern Belle, and that is absolutely her most endearing quality. She’s blunt yet never offensive and persistent without harassing. It’s through the eyes and thoughts of Mo that readers discover the adult themes of murder, abandonment, and child abuse, and this is the best possible vehicle to introduce these deep topics to children. The nitty-gritty details of the murder are never divulged, we just know that grumpy Mr. Jesse is dead. No unnerving life stories about why Mo was abandoned are given, instead readers are shown that her adoptive parents love her more than life itself. Finally, incidents of child abuse against Mo’s best friend Dale are handled delicately. They are never too graphic, and Mo becomes heartwarmingly defensive of her best friend.

In addition to Mo, what makes Turnage’s Tupelo Landing even more fantastic is that all of her characters are entertaining. There is a high amount of adult characters in this Middle Grade book, yet you can see how each one of them can amuse and keep the attention of young readers. The Colonel is goofily militant, Miss Lana is hysterically eccentric, and Mayor Little is delightfully flamboyant.

Get ready for a cheesy line to wrap up this review, but I truly feel this way: Mo might be the one to say she’s three times lucky, but I definitely feel lucky to have been able to read this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)