Books Kids Fiction The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/7c/27/59/_12079365_1330048083.jpg
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
569   0
Age Range
6+
Release Date
January 10, 2012
ISBN
978-0375864483
Buy This Book
      

The Flying Beaver Brothers are back, and this time they're hot on the trail of another eco-villain: Fish Stix  Environmental Manufacturing. When Fish Stix sets up shop, most of the islanders are thrilled. After all, Fish Stix are the most popular, best-selling sticks around AND they're good for the environment! But this eco-friendly facade is just a cover for a nefarious plot involving dirty money, fish who walk on dry land, and a great big smoking volcano. It's up to the dauntless beaver brothers to set things right—and they better do it fast or the island's forests are history! Now if only Bub can stop napping and they can all make enough pancakes to save the day. . . .

This second installment to Max Eaton's new graphic series ups the ante in terms of both action and humor. The Flying Beaver Brothers are poised to take off as beloved comicbook heros

Editor reviews

Ace and Bub, The Flying Beaver Brothers, are back for another graphic novel adventure. This time they are pitted against a corporation, Fish Sticks Environmental Manufacturing. When the brothers literally fall into the path of the company, they uncover information about this allegedly eco-friendly business that reveals...it's evil. Luckily, the brothers are clever and athletic, skills that will help them in their quest to defeat the bad guys.

While the first book in the series was not overtly environmental, this book takes more of an activist approach. Author Maxwell Eaton's choice to make green the main color of this book ties in nicely with the theme. The illustrations remain as cute as in the original and I hope that they make plush Beaver Brothers toys some day.

The reading level of The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business seemed to be much higher than the first in the series. I read both books over the course of two days with a low-level ESOL student. He struggled a lot with the more complex vocabulary and heavier emphasis on text in this book. Hopefully readers who have gotten hooked on the series will not be frustrated by a more challenging reading experience.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Megan Kelly, Editor Reviewed by Megan Kelly, Editor February 23, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (112)

A Fun, Environmental Graphic Novel

Ace and Bub, The Flying Beaver Brothers, are back for another graphic novel adventure. This time they are pitted against a corporation, Fish Sticks Environmental Manufacturing. When the brothers literally fall into the path of the company, they uncover information about this allegedly eco-friendly business that reveals...it's evil. Luckily, the brothers are clever and athletic, skills that will help them in their quest to defeat the bad guys.

While the first book in the series was not overtly environmental, this book takes more of an activist approach. Author Maxwell Eaton's choice to make green the main color of this book ties in nicely with the theme. The illustrations remain as cute as in the original and I hope that they make plush Beaver Brothers toys some day.

The reading level of The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business seemed to be much higher than the first in the series. I read both books over the course of two days with a low-level ESOL student. He struggled a lot with the more complex vocabulary and heavier emphasis on text in this book. Hopefully readers who have gotten hooked on the series will not be frustrated by a more challenging reading experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)