Books Kids Fiction The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business

The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/7c/27/59/_12079365_1330048083.jpg
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
533   0
Age Range
6+
Release Date
January 10, 2012
ISBN
978-0375864483
Buy This Book
      

The Flying Beaver Brothers are back, and this time they're hot on the trail of another eco-villain: Fish Stix  Environmental Manufacturing. When Fish Stix sets up shop, most of the islanders are thrilled. After all, Fish Stix are the most popular, best-selling sticks around AND they're good for the environment! But this eco-friendly facade is just a cover for a nefarious plot involving dirty money, fish who walk on dry land, and a great big smoking volcano. It's up to the dauntless beaver brothers to set things right—and they better do it fast or the island's forests are history! Now if only Bub can stop napping and they can all make enough pancakes to save the day. . . .

This second installment to Max Eaton's new graphic series ups the ante in terms of both action and humor. The Flying Beaver Brothers are poised to take off as beloved comicbook heros

Editor reviews

Ace and Bub, The Flying Beaver Brothers, are back for another graphic novel adventure. This time they are pitted against a corporation, Fish Sticks Environmental Manufacturing. When the brothers literally fall into the path of the company, they uncover information about this allegedly eco-friendly business that reveals...it's evil. Luckily, the brothers are clever and athletic, skills that will help them in their quest to defeat the bad guys.

While the first book in the series was not overtly environmental, this book takes more of an activist approach. Author Maxwell Eaton's choice to make green the main color of this book ties in nicely with the theme. The illustrations remain as cute as in the original and I hope that they make plush Beaver Brothers toys some day.

The reading level of The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business seemed to be much higher than the first in the series. I read both books over the course of two days with a low-level ESOL student. He struggled a lot with the more complex vocabulary and heavier emphasis on text in this book. Hopefully readers who have gotten hooked on the series will not be frustrated by a more challenging reading experience.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Megan Kelly, Editor Reviewed by Megan Kelly, Editor February 23, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (112)

A Fun, Environmental Graphic Novel

Ace and Bub, The Flying Beaver Brothers, are back for another graphic novel adventure. This time they are pitted against a corporation, Fish Sticks Environmental Manufacturing. When the brothers literally fall into the path of the company, they uncover information about this allegedly eco-friendly business that reveals...it's evil. Luckily, the brothers are clever and athletic, skills that will help them in their quest to defeat the bad guys.

While the first book in the series was not overtly environmental, this book takes more of an activist approach. Author Maxwell Eaton's choice to make green the main color of this book ties in nicely with the theme. The illustrations remain as cute as in the original and I hope that they make plush Beaver Brothers toys some day.

The reading level of The Flying Beaver Brothers and the Fishy Business seemed to be much higher than the first in the series. I read both books over the course of two days with a low-level ESOL student. He struggled a lot with the more complex vocabulary and heavier emphasis on text in this book. Hopefully readers who have gotten hooked on the series will not be frustrated by a more challenging reading experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)