Books Kids Fiction How to Get a Job by Me The Boss

How to Get a Job by Me The Boss

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f2/2a/34/_boss_1330013729.jpeg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
526   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
May 10, 2011
ISBN
978-0375866647
Buy This Book
      

The know-it-all narrator from the New York Times Bestselling How to Be a Baby is back with the third book in the series. This time, she knows all about how to get a job, and she walks readers through the whole process: from deciding what you want to be all the way to acing the interview (tip: don't bring your pet gerbils). This book is sure to be a hit with kids who love to play pretend and dream about what they're going to be when they grow up.

Editor reviews

I thought this book would be a clever, short, witty and simple book. I'm so glad I was wrong! Yes, it is clever, witty but not short at all. It is extremely informative, however manages to explain jobs to little ones in terms they can understand. This book will help children understand jobs ranging from a balloon holder to a judge and all those in between. It talks about resumes, how to dress and the attributes you need to have to succeed at each job. I was pleasantly surprised at what a fantastic book this is!

The pictures are cute and quirky. My household enjoyed looking at the pictures over and over. I did not realize this author has another book out in this series, and I plan to go pick it up soon! Highly recommend this book for the little entrepreneur in your household!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Jillian Van Leer Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer March 27, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (304)

Adorable and informative book about jobs!

I thought this book would be a clever, short, witty and simple book. I'm so glad I was wrong! Yes, it is clever, witty but not short at all. It is extremely informative, however manages to explain jobs to little ones in terms they can understand. This book will help children understand jobs ranging from a balloon holder to a judge and all those in between. It talks about resumes, how to dress and the attributes you need to have to succeed at each job. I was pleasantly surprised at what a fantastic book this is!

The pictures are cute and quirky. My household enjoyed looking at the pictures over and over. I did not realize this author has another book out in this series, and I plan to go pick it up soon! Highly recommend this book for the little entrepreneur in your household!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Perdita by Faith Gardner + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Welcome, everyone! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for PERDITA by Faith Gardner, releasing August 18, 2015 from Merit Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Faith:   Hello YABC readers! My name is Faith Gardner and I’m thril ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Readers of I Am Number Four, The Maze Runner, and Legend will love this sophisticated adventure series by the cocreator of the groundbreaking television show Twin ...

  • Author Top 5 with Jenny Martin

      Today we welcome Jenny Martin to YABC! Martin's soon to be released debut novel, Tracked, is sure to appeal to fans of The Fast and the Furious and Firely along with Marie Lu's Legend and Veronica Roth's Divergent. This book will be racing across the finis ...

  • Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + Giveaway (International)

    The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen Release Date: March 26, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Laura:   Hi, YABC! I’m fired up about sharing my first chapter with you today. The Ark is about a young convict trapped in prison on the last day of ...

  • Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

      Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2, is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the ...

  • April 2015 Book Haul!

    Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!    ...

  • Giveaway: Twintuition - Double Vision by Tia & Tamera Mowry (US Only)

    TWINTUITION: DOUBLE VISION by Tia & Tamera Mowry Release Date: April 21, 2015   About the Book Cassie and Caitlyn Waters may be identical twins, but everything else about them is completely different. The only thing they can agree on is that neither of them is happy th ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling + Giveaway (International)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE COMPLETE BLOOMING GODDESS TRILOGY by Tellulah Darling, releasing April 30, 2015 from Te Da Media. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Tellulah:   Hey YABC! I’ve basically been in sque ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing on ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

        I am happy to share with the YABC community the brand new Librarian's Corner column! This column features three themed book recommendations from a Teen Librarian each month. My name is Eden Grey, and I'll be doing the column each month. I am a Teen Librarian, and I absolutel ...

  • Chapter Reveal: Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca

    Last Year's Mistake by Gina Ciocca Release Date: June 9, 2015 Before we get to the chapter, here's a note from Gina:   I’m so excited to share the first chapter of LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE with all of you! I’ve written this opening many different ways, and I lov ...

  • Giveaway: The Ark by Laura Liddell (International)

    The Ark By Laura Liddell Nolen    Release Date: March 26, 2015   About the Book It’s the final days of earth, and sixteen-year-old Char is right where she belongs: in prison. With her criminal record, she doesn’t qualify for a place on an Ark, one of the five ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Mika is about to fulfill her dream of working at the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium when her plans are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A quiet city in black and white bursts into color as an energetic child uses colorful crayons to create vibrant...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Would an elephant learn the ABCs if she went to school? No way! She would learn to use her trunk...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Slurp, munch, crunch! Little hands will be turning the page to find out the real meals of animals! Would an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
enlightened cover from amazon.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Book 2 in the Light vs. Dark Series... After months of covert travel from Light clan to Light...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Ace and Bub are tangled up in an island-hopping competition, and there’s more than just the grand prize—a houseboat!—at stake....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The search for a missing baby drives this heart-pounding page turner, from Edgar Award Winner Susan Shreve (LUCY FOREVER AND...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Meet Hannah. Her name is a palindrome. Her birthday is on New Year’s. She wishes she had a cat. She’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Geoff Herbach, the award-winning author of the hit young adult novels Stupid Fast and Nothing Special, comes the ultimate...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The fast-paced, action-packed sequel to LAWLESS. No more teachers. No more crooks! M Freeman thought she had finally found a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
High school sophomore Zona Lowell has lived in New York City her whole life, and plans to follow in the...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve bestselling young adult authors contribute a story to this holiday themed book. Twelve holiday love stories are packed into...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Joey, the chocolate Labrador, loves to run and run. Living in the neighborhood of the Boston Marathon, he runs as...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Here's the third entry in Claudia Mills' charming middle-grade series. Mason Dixon survived the school choir. He survived adopting his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
For whimsical Cody, many things are beautiful, especially ants who say hello by rubbing feelers. But nothing is as beautiful...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Fans of How to Train Your Dragon will love this whimsical tale, the first in a series, by a Newbery...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fortune favors the bold in this adventurous tale of broken friendships, forbidden love, and a fiery heroine’s journey to escape...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alex Myers is a quarterback, but from the first day of football practice, it’s clear that that position is very...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
flora and ulysses.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Winner of the 2014 Newbery Medal Holy unanticipated occurrences! A cynic meets an unlikely superhero in a genre-breaking new novel...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Some endings are inevitable, but so are some stories. Cora Matthews, the principal’s gloomy goth daughter, is not exactly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)