Books Kids Fiction The Map of Me

The Map of Me Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/b9/8f/17/_TheMapofMe_1327973300.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
668   0
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 30, 2011
ISBN
978-0-374-35655-2
Buy This Book
      

The note Momma left on the fridge says only: “I HAVE TO GO.” But go where? Twelve-year-old Margie is convinced that Momma’s gone to the Rooster Romp at the International Poultry Hall of Fame, in search of additions to her precious flock of chicken memorabilia. And it’s up to Margie to bring her home. So she commandeers her daddy’s Faithful Ford, kidnaps her nine-year-old sister, Peep, and takes to the open road.

As she navigates the back roads of Kentucky with smarty-pants Peep criticizing her every move, Margie also travels along the highways and byways of her heart, mapping a course to help understand Momma—and herself.

Editor reviews

Is it grand theft auto if it’s your daddy’s truck? Is it kidnapping if she’s your sister? Is it even wrong if you’re chasing your runaway mother? In THE MAP OF ME, Margie never even pauses to ask these questions. As soon as she sees her mother’s note that says, “I have to go,” she grabs her annoying sister, Peep, her daddy’s keys, and hits the road. This wouldn’t be too shocking if Margie wasn’t twelve years old.

Author Tami Lewis Brown has created two sisters who couldn’t be more different. Younger sister Peep is an overachiever: she skipped three grades, is perfect in the eyes of all adults, and needs to figure out all the angles before doing anything. Margie is the opposite, all bold actions and impulsive mistakes. Margie is tortured by her perceived flaws, flashing back to them throughout the novel.

Although THE MAP OF ME takes place in a stolen car, most of the story is internal. It may progress slowly for middle grade readers who want more action or a neater resolution. Instead, they get a character study of a girl who is determined to persevere and keep moving forward.


Read this and more of my reviews at www.bookchomper.blogspot.com.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Megan Kelly, Editor Reviewed by Megan Kelly, Editor January 30, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (112)

The Map of Me

Is it grand theft auto if it’s your daddy’s truck? Is it kidnapping if she’s your sister? Is it even wrong if you’re chasing your runaway mother? In THE MAP OF ME, Margie never even pauses to ask these questions. As soon as she sees her mother’s note that says, “I have to go,” she grabs her annoying sister, Peep, her daddy’s keys, and hits the road. This wouldn’t be too shocking if Margie wasn’t twelve years old.

Author Tami Lewis Brown has created two sisters who couldn’t be more different. Younger sister Peep is an overachiever: she skipped three grades, is perfect in the eyes of all adults, and needs to figure out all the angles before doing anything. Margie is the opposite, all bold actions and impulsive mistakes. Margie is tortured by her perceived flaws, flashing back to them throughout the novel.

Although THE MAP OF ME takes place in a stolen car, most of the story is internal. It may progress slowly for middle grade readers who want more action or a neater resolution. Instead, they get a character study of a girl who is determined to persevere and keep moving forward.


Read this and more of my reviews at www.bookchomper.blogspot.com.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)