Showoff Featured

 
5.0
 
4.5 (1)
1400   0
Write Review
Showoff
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0545320597
Buy This Book
      

The fourth SWINDLE book, centering around a dog show that goes horribly awry!

The heroes of SWINDLE, ZOOBREAK, and FRAMED are back - and this time, things have gone to the dogs! When Luthor goes berserk at a mall dog show, he's accused of ruining the career of the three-time best-in-show beagle. Griffin always knew that Luthor's viciousness was simmering just below the surface - so why does he feel bad enough to spring him from the pound?

Griffin and his team have a new plan. This one involves New York City, a sinister saboteur, a reclusive dog-trainer who's quit the business, an international dog show, and a whole lot of red dye. But if they pull it off, no one will even notice their sting operation...right?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Love That Dog

Gordon Korman’s SWINDLE team is back and they’ve gone to the dogs. When Luthor, the massive Doberman, destroys a dog show and injures a champion dog, Savannah’s family faces a massive lawsuit and are forced to take him to the pound. Griffin Bing, also known as The Man With The Plan, and his friend Ben can’t let Luthor be left there—but the only way to keep the dog safe would be for him to win Best In Show at a national championship. Is it possible to do this before Luthor eats his competition?

I haven’t read the other books in the series, but I knew I wanted to read SHOWOFF as soon as I saw Gordon Korman was the author. Korman is one of the best writers for middle grade readers, constantly rolling out stories full of humor, adventure, and heart. The other books aren’t necessary in order to enjoy SHOWOFF; the characters aren’t so well-developed that you miss anything.

Griffin and his friends are likable—the kind of kids that readers will wish were in their gang. The fact that they have access to a collection of bizarre inventions and animals only makes them more interesting. The read star of the novel is Luthor, the silly smile he displays on the cover is only one of his many emotions. Readers will be coveting their own giant, prize-worthy Dobermans by the novel’s end.

The true proof of SHOWOFF’s appeal? I had the book on my desk and three students came up to ask if they could borrow it. My copy won’t even see the shelf for a few weeks…Korman’s that good.

Read this and more of my reviews at www.bookchomper.blogspot.com

Good Points
A fun, fast-paced plot
Korman is a great writer
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Could have been better

It is a book in the middle, not bad but not too good.

Good Points
The same action packed crew from Swindle.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)