Showoff Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/3e/fc/fa/_121049662_1327712193.jpg
 
5.0
 
4.5 (1)
838   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0545320597
Buy This Book
      

The fourth SWINDLE book, centering around a dog show that goes horribly awry!

The heroes of SWINDLE, ZOOBREAK, and FRAMED are back - and this time, things have gone to the dogs! When Luthor goes berserk at a mall dog show, he's accused of ruining the career of the three-time best-in-show beagle. Griffin always knew that Luthor's viciousness was simmering just below the surface - so why does he feel bad enough to spring him from the pound?

Griffin and his team have a new plan. This one involves New York City, a sinister saboteur, a reclusive dog-trainer who's quit the business, an international dog show, and a whole lot of red dye. But if they pull it off, no one will even notice their sting operation...right?

Editor reviews

Gordon Korman’s SWINDLE team is back and they’ve gone to the dogs. When Luthor, the massive Doberman, destroys a dog show and injures a champion dog, Savannah’s family faces a massive lawsuit and are forced to take him to the pound. Griffin Bing, also known as The Man With The Plan, and his friend Ben can’t let Luthor be left there—but the only way to keep the dog safe would be for him to win Best In Show at a national championship. Is it possible to do this before Luthor eats his competition?

I haven’t read the other books in the series, but I knew I wanted to read SHOWOFF as soon as I saw Gordon Korman was the author. Korman is one of the best writers for middle grade readers, constantly rolling out stories full of humor, adventure, and heart. The other books aren’t necessary in order to enjoy SHOWOFF; the characters aren’t so well-developed that you miss anything.

Griffin and his friends are likable—the kind of kids that readers will wish were in their gang. The fact that they have access to a collection of bizarre inventions and animals only makes them more interesting. The read star of the novel is Luthor, the silly smile he displays on the cover is only one of his many emotions. Readers will be coveting their own giant, prize-worthy Dobermans by the novel’s end.

The true proof of SHOWOFF’s appeal? I had the book on my desk and three students came up to ask if they could borrow it. My copy won’t even see the shelf for a few weeks…Korman’s that good.

Read this and more of my reviews at www.bookchomper.blogspot.com
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Megan Kelly, Editor Reviewed by Megan Kelly, Editor January 27, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (112)

Love That Dog

Gordon Korman’s SWINDLE team is back and they’ve gone to the dogs. When Luthor, the massive Doberman, destroys a dog show and injures a champion dog, Savannah’s family faces a massive lawsuit and are forced to take him to the pound. Griffin Bing, also known as The Man With The Plan, and his friend Ben can’t let Luthor be left there—but the only way to keep the dog safe would be for him to win Best In Show at a national championship. Is it possible to do this before Luthor eats his competition?

I haven’t read the other books in the series, but I knew I wanted to read SHOWOFF as soon as I saw Gordon Korman was the author. Korman is one of the best writers for middle grade readers, constantly rolling out stories full of humor, adventure, and heart. The other books aren’t necessary in order to enjoy SHOWOFF; the characters aren’t so well-developed that you miss anything.

Griffin and his friends are likable—the kind of kids that readers will wish were in their gang. The fact that they have access to a collection of bizarre inventions and animals only makes them more interesting. The read star of the novel is Luthor, the silly smile he displays on the cover is only one of his many emotions. Readers will be coveting their own giant, prize-worthy Dobermans by the novel’s end.

The true proof of SHOWOFF’s appeal? I had the book on my desk and three students came up to ask if they could borrow it. My copy won’t even see the shelf for a few weeks…Korman’s that good.

Read this and more of my reviews at www.bookchomper.blogspot.com

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
It is a book in the middle, not bad but not too good.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Andrew Reviewed by Andrew April 25, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

Could have been better

It is a book in the middle, not bad but not too good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)