War Horse Movie Tie-In Edition

War Horse Movie Tie-In Edition

Featured
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
1192   0
Write Review
War Horse Movie Tie-In Edition
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
November 01, 2011
ISBN
978-0545403351
Buy This Book
      

Joey is a warhorse, but he wasn't always. Once, he was a farm horse and a gentle boy named Albert was his master. Then World War I came storming through and everything changed. Albert's father sells Joey to the army where the beautiful, red-bay horse is trained to charge the enemy, drag heavy artillery, and carry wounded soldiers not much older than Albert off of battlefields. Amongst the clamoring of guns and slogging through the cold mud, Joey wonders if the war will ever end. And if it does, will he ever find Albert again?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Be sure to have tissues close by

I so enjoyed this book! I had to read it in spurts because I kept getting so emotional and I'm not a crier. I have always had a soft spot for horses and any time there's a story about the connection between human and equine it's as if a switch is flipped in my heart. (I *hearts* horsies!) Add to it the element of war, the threat of harm or death to a horse and I'm rendered a sopping, useless puddle.

Part of what makes this story unique is that it's written from the horse's point of view. In doing so, it gives the reader an interesting take on humans as well as war. We get to see the value that was placed on horses like Joey during the war and how that value translated into their treatment and care. If their value was high in the eyes of their current owners, then they were well fed, cleaned properly and looked after. If not, they were half-starved, left out in the cold and made to endure grueling work often resulting in death for some.

Joey meets many new people along his journey most of whom are kind to him, although a few aren't. He never gives up hope of being reunited with his master and searches the faces of each new group of soldiers he comes upon in the hopes of finding Albert. He also befriends another horse, Topthorn and together they brave the front lines, the treacherous weather conditions and other various hardships of war.

Author Morpurgo writes Joey so convincingly, with all his emotional ups and downs that it's very easy to forget that he's a horse and not a regular, two-legged soldier. War Horse is a moving story that reminds us that even in the midst of all the sadness, despair and death that is "war", you can always find hope.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Stunning

This is the first World War One book that I have read, and I had no clue until I had read this that horses were used. Because the men were the only things to be described as heroes. They never mentioned what the horses went through for the sake of mankind. War Horse gives an insight into what truly happened.

I sorry to say, but I preferred the movie over the book. They had similar story lines but there were slight variations. There was the German possession of Joey, where the two brothers looked after Joey and Topthorn. I thought that this part was better than the book. Also the part with Emile, as in the book, she looked after the horses for the Germans, while in the movie, she hid them from the Germans. Also, the movie was not told in Joey's view, so it was possible for them to make things happen to Albert, like the gas attack. Over all, I thought that the movie was a whole lot sadder, because I cried in that, and I didn't while reading the book.

I was really annoyed how Joey was like a super genius and knew every single world in the English language. I really don't think horses are linguists as well, because Joey could understand English, German and French.

In all, this book was a great work, but the movie is definitely worth watching.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pashmina
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
How to Disappear
Vicky Decker has perfected the art of hiding in plain...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Penguins Love Their ABC's
Six of the most appealing penguins ever (featured in Sarah...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even Fairies Fart
Turns out nobody is perfect! Queens and kings; giants and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
Full of funny faces, underwater friends, and razzle dazzle seaweed...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Flowers for Sarajevo
 
5.0
"Haunting and hopeful. The bombing one of the last working bakeries in the city of Sarajevo might have been..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Plankton Is Pushy
 
4.0
"A quick and comical read, rife with sarcasm. A particular plankton is used to eliciting a response from every..."
Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure
 
4.0
"DRAGONWATCH is a captivating, action-packed story that is filled with all type of creatures such as trolls, goblins, dragons, nipsies,..."
Once Upon a Cruise
 
4.0
"What I Loved: After Ainsley’s mom took a cruise director job aboard what is essentially a mockbuster Disney cruise, Ainsley..."
Five Elements #2: The Shadow City
 
4.0
"THE SHADOW CITY starts off where I expected it to. The elementals are trying to decide on their next move...."
Will Wilder #2: The Lost Staff of Wonders
 
4.0
"In THE LOST STAFF OF WONDERS, the legendary staff of Moses is stolen by a powerful demon named Amon who..."
Cavern of Secrets (Wing and Claw #2)
 
4.0
"Raffa, Kuma, and Garith have escaped Gilden with their animal companions in CAVERN OF SECRETS. Raffa has Echo the Bat..."
Black Moon Rising (The Library Book 2)
 
5.0
"Marcus, along with his friends Lu and Theo, are struggling to make it through middle school. Lu gets a bad..."
Pig the Winner
 
4.5
"This book is a winner (no pun intended). This hilarious story paired with the most perfect illustrations will definitely leave..."
Rolling Thunder
 
5.0
"A touching memorandum and homage to the armed forces—wrapped in a gentle and beautifully illustrated teaching tool. The premise..."
Hamstersaurus Rex vs. Squirrel Kong
 
5.0
"Sam and his friend Dylan aren't quite in the clear after the events of Hamstersaurus Rex, especially when there is..."