Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children

Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children

 
0.0
 
3.0 (2)
913   0
Write Review
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0525392440
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

It's so good I'm doing a report on it!

Reader reviewed by Evan

I loved reading this book. For my book report I made a poster that was suppossed to be a newspaper and I rewrote the stories to be like newspaper articles. This was the most fun I've had doing a bookreport for homework. Great Stories!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Dull and boring

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Shen of the Sea is a highly not recommended book of Chinese stories for children. I have owned Shen of the Sea for about 3-5 years and have tried to read it about 2 or 3 times. This book is impossible to read and very dull. I can’t believe why it was given the Newbery Award. Shen of the Sea includes stories about a new invention, food, a sea monster, and finding a good father.


The story “Buy a Father” is about Ah Tzu who buys a father. He is forced to work and receives little praise or reward despite his “son-ship.” When Weng Fu, the father, wrongs, he sends Ah Tzu for a rope to hang himself. However, he is already dead when Ah Tzu gets to the emperor. The emperor rewards him with ribbons for obeying Weng Fu.


I didn’t enjoy Shen of the Sea one bit. It was very boring and not at all creative. I know it is a book of Chinese folk stories, which are old-fashioned, but nevertheless, it is not a good choice for today’s readers. I “recommend” this book for ages 10 and up. I give it 1 star.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NanoBots
A boy inventor creates the ultimate in high-tech superheroes that...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Hoffman - Pathway to Dragons - Book Cover - 100616 - Crop.jpg
Nine-year-old Billy Jones dreams of having a pet dragon! After...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)