Books Kids Fiction Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children

Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children

 
0.0
 
3.0 (2)
551   0
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0525392440
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Evan

I loved reading this book. For my book report I made a poster that was suppossed to be a newspaper and I rewrote the stories to be like newspaper articles. This was the most fun I've had doing a bookreport for homework. Great Stories!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader September 28, 2003
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

It's so good I'm doing a report on it!

Reader reviewed by Evan

I loved reading this book. For my book report I made a poster that was suppossed to be a newspaper and I rewrote the stories to be like newspaper articles. This was the most fun I've had doing a bookreport for homework. Great Stories!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Amanda

Shen of the Sea is a highly not recommended book of Chinese stories for children. I have owned Shen of the Sea for about 3-5 years and have tried to read it about 2 or 3 times. This book is impossible to read and very dull. I can’t believe why it was given the Newbery Award. Shen of the Sea includes stories about a new invention, food, a sea monster, and finding a good father.


The story “Buy a Father” is about Ah Tzu who buys a father. He is forced to work and receives little praise or reward despite his “son-ship.” When Weng Fu, the father, wrongs, he sends Ah Tzu for a rope to hang himself. However, he is already dead when Ah Tzu gets to the emperor. The emperor rewards him with ribbons for obeying Weng Fu.


I didn’t enjoy Shen of the Sea one bit. It was very boring and not at all creative. I know it is a book of Chinese folk stories, which are old-fashioned, but nevertheless, it is not a good choice for today’s readers. I “recommend” this book for ages 10 and up. I give it 1 star.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 23, 2003
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Dull and boring

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Shen of the Sea is a highly not recommended book of Chinese stories for children. I have owned Shen of the Sea for about 3-5 years and have tried to read it about 2 or 3 times. This book is impossible to read and very dull. I can’t believe why it was given the Newbery Award. Shen of the Sea includes stories about a new invention, food, a sea monster, and finding a good father.


The story “Buy a Father” is about Ah Tzu who buys a father. He is forced to work and receives little praise or reward despite his “son-ship.” When Weng Fu, the father, wrongs, he sends Ah Tzu for a rope to hang himself. However, he is already dead when Ah Tzu gets to the emperor. The emperor rewards him with ribbons for obeying Weng Fu.


I didn’t enjoy Shen of the Sea one bit. It was very boring and not at all creative. I know it is a book of Chinese folk stories, which are old-fashioned, but nevertheless, it is not a good choice for today’s readers. I “recommend” this book for ages 10 and up. I give it 1 star.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One
Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After almost a year in Japan, Katie Greene has finally unearthed the terrible secret behind her boyfriend Tomohiro's deadly ability...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
chain reactions.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
LEGO Chain Reactions is packed full of ideas, instructions, and inspiration for 10 LEGO machines that spin, swing, pivot, roll,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for teen readers who are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For decades, Sami has kept the key to the geniean and human races hidden. She is used to a life...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting new stand-alone football novel. When...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)