Books Kids Fiction Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children

Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children

 
0.0
 
3.0 (2)
439   0
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0525392440
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Evan

I loved reading this book. For my book report I made a poster that was suppossed to be a newspaper and I rewrote the stories to be like newspaper articles. This was the most fun I've had doing a bookreport for homework. Great Stories!!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader September 28, 2003
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

It's so good I'm doing a report on it!

Reader reviewed by Evan

I loved reading this book. For my book report I made a poster that was suppossed to be a newspaper and I rewrote the stories to be like newspaper articles. This was the most fun I've had doing a bookreport for homework. Great Stories!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Amanda

Shen of the Sea is a highly not recommended book of Chinese stories for children. I have owned Shen of the Sea for about 3-5 years and have tried to read it about 2 or 3 times. This book is impossible to read and very dull. I can’t believe why it was given the Newbery Award. Shen of the Sea includes stories about a new invention, food, a sea monster, and finding a good father.


The story “Buy a Father” is about Ah Tzu who buys a father. He is forced to work and receives little praise or reward despite his “son-ship.” When Weng Fu, the father, wrongs, he sends Ah Tzu for a rope to hang himself. However, he is already dead when Ah Tzu gets to the emperor. The emperor rewards him with ribbons for obeying Weng Fu.


I didn’t enjoy Shen of the Sea one bit. It was very boring and not at all creative. I know it is a book of Chinese folk stories, which are old-fashioned, but nevertheless, it is not a good choice for today’s readers. I “recommend” this book for ages 10 and up. I give it 1 star.
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 23, 2003
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Dull and boring

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Shen of the Sea is a highly not recommended book of Chinese stories for children. I have owned Shen of the Sea for about 3-5 years and have tried to read it about 2 or 3 times. This book is impossible to read and very dull. I can’t believe why it was given the Newbery Award. Shen of the Sea includes stories about a new invention, food, a sea monster, and finding a good father.


The story “Buy a Father” is about Ah Tzu who buys a father. He is forced to work and receives little praise or reward despite his “son-ship.” When Weng Fu, the father, wrongs, he sends Ah Tzu for a rope to hang himself. However, he is already dead when Ah Tzu gets to the emperor. The emperor rewards him with ribbons for obeying Weng Fu.


I didn’t enjoy Shen of the Sea one bit. It was very boring and not at all creative. I know it is a book of Chinese folk stories, which are old-fashioned, but nevertheless, it is not a good choice for today’s readers. I “recommend” this book for ages 10 and up. I give it 1 star.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)