Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children

Shen of the Sea: Chinese Stories for Children

 
0.0
 
3.0 (2)
690   0
Write Review
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0525392440
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

It's so good I'm doing a report on it!

Reader reviewed by Evan

I loved reading this book. For my book report I made a poster that was suppossed to be a newspaper and I rewrote the stories to be like newspaper articles. This was the most fun I've had doing a bookreport for homework. Great Stories!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Dull and boring

Reader reviewed by Amanda

Shen of the Sea is a highly not recommended book of Chinese stories for children. I have owned Shen of the Sea for about 3-5 years and have tried to read it about 2 or 3 times. This book is impossible to read and very dull. I can’t believe why it was given the Newbery Award. Shen of the Sea includes stories about a new invention, food, a sea monster, and finding a good father.


The story “Buy a Father” is about Ah Tzu who buys a father. He is forced to work and receives little praise or reward despite his “son-ship.” When Weng Fu, the father, wrongs, he sends Ah Tzu for a rope to hang himself. However, he is already dead when Ah Tzu gets to the emperor. The emperor rewards him with ribbons for obeying Weng Fu.


I didn’t enjoy Shen of the Sea one bit. It was very boring and not at all creative. I know it is a book of Chinese folk stories, which are old-fashioned, but nevertheless, it is not a good choice for today’s readers. I “recommend” this book for ages 10 and up. I give it 1 star.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)