ChirChir is Singing

ChirChir is Singing Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
933   0
Write Review
ChirChir is Singing
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 23, 2011
ISBN
978-0375861987
Buy This Book
      
Chirchir just wants to make herself useful like all her other family members. But she drops Mama's water bucket, spills Kogo's tea, and sends Baba's potatoes tumbling down the hill. Isn't there something that Chirchir does best? Set in the rolling hills of rural Kenya, this is a wise and lyrical story about belonging from Kelly Cunnane, the author of the Ezra Jack Keats Award winner For You Are a Kenyan Child, accompanied by Jude Daly's beautiful folk art-style illustrations

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Glimpse into the Daily Life of a Kenyan Family

This book has so many great attributes: song, poetry, a lyrical cadence, musical descriptions, and even words from the Swahili language. The youngest daughter of a Kenyan family, ChirChir, whose name means "born quickly," makes her way to each family member to try to help them with their daily work. She makes up songs to accompany her task and introduces the reader to different animals, foods, and chores in a typical rural Kenyan family's life. Each person she tries to help, however, eventually sends her along to find something else to do because her lack of skill ends up harming rather than helping. The descriptions of her emotions and surroundings are vibrant, causing the sounds and colors and scents of Africa to bubble up in the mind. Eventually ChirChir finds that her song, her voice, can help the entire family to have a smooth, sweet day.
My 3-year-old immediately loved this book, and it is a treat to read it to her. We have learned Swahili words and definitions and even some customs of the Kenyan culture. We especially enjoy it since we have close friends who are from Kenya. The pictures are a marvelous accompaniment, and I hope to keep and read this book for years to come.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Goose on a Farm
When Sophie and Goose go on a class trip to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adrift: An Odd Couple of Polar Bears
Perfect for fans of Goodnight, Already! and You Will Be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)