ChirChir is Singing

ChirChir is Singing Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
818   0
Write Review
ChirChir is Singing
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 23, 2011
ISBN
978-0375861987
Buy This Book
      
Chirchir just wants to make herself useful like all her other family members. But she drops Mama's water bucket, spills Kogo's tea, and sends Baba's potatoes tumbling down the hill. Isn't there something that Chirchir does best? Set in the rolling hills of rural Kenya, this is a wise and lyrical story about belonging from Kelly Cunnane, the author of the Ezra Jack Keats Award winner For You Are a Kenyan Child, accompanied by Jude Daly's beautiful folk art-style illustrations

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Glimpse into the Daily Life of a Kenyan Family

This book has so many great attributes: song, poetry, a lyrical cadence, musical descriptions, and even words from the Swahili language. The youngest daughter of a Kenyan family, ChirChir, whose name means "born quickly," makes her way to each family member to try to help them with their daily work. She makes up songs to accompany her task and introduces the reader to different animals, foods, and chores in a typical rural Kenyan family's life. Each person she tries to help, however, eventually sends her along to find something else to do because her lack of skill ends up harming rather than helping. The descriptions of her emotions and surroundings are vibrant, causing the sounds and colors and scents of Africa to bubble up in the mind. Eventually ChirChir finds that her song, her voice, can help the entire family to have a smooth, sweet day.
My 3-year-old immediately loved this book, and it is a treat to read it to her. We have learned Swahili words and definitions and even some customs of the Kenyan culture. We especially enjoy it since we have close friends who are from Kenya. The pictures are a marvelous accompaniment, and I hope to keep and read this book for years to come.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)