The Underdogs

Featured Hot
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
5692   0
Write Review
The Underdogs
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 20, 2011
ISBN
978-0399250019
Buy This Book
      

Will Tyler can fly on a football field. He may not be the biggest running back around, but no one can touch him when it comes to hitting the hole and finding the end zone. And no one can match his love of the game. When Will has a football in hand, he may as well be flying for real because life can't touch him - his dad isn't so defeated, his town isn't so poor, and everyone has something to cheer for. All of which does him no good if the football season is canceled. With no funding for things like uniforms and a cared-for playing field, with seemingly every other family moving to find jobs, there simply isn't enough money or players for a season. Unless one kid can rally an entire town and give everyone a reason to believe . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
(Updated: November 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Underdogs

In the hipster romance “Garden State”, Natalie Portman talks about original moments in human history, and I’m pretty sure I lived one yesterday. I feel it is safe to say that no one else has ever spent four hours reading Mike Lupica’s THE UNDERDOGS while getting their hair straightened in a Korean salon in South Carolina. I’m not a sports fan, so I figured I would need to be strapped into a chair with chemicals on my brain to make me want to read a book about football. It turns out that wasn’t necessary; THE UNDERDOGS is fast-paced and spirited.

Twelve-year-old Will Tyler can fly when he’s playing football; he’s the fastest thing to ever take the field in Forbes, Pennsylvania. Unfortunately, Forbes’ sneaker factory has closed and the town can no longer afford to sponsor a youth football league. Football is Will’s life, so he decides to take matters into his own hands and contact the CEO of New Balance to request sponsorship and regain some of the community’s pride. Once he has the money, he still has a long way to go in pulling together enough players, a coach, and his town.

THE UNDERDOGS is a feel-good story with a familiar and beloved plotline. The title tells the reader what they will get: lovable misfits who scrap together a team and make a play for the championship. There are very few plot twists that will surprise readers, but that does not make the novel any less fun. Sports fans will be taken with the action scenes, which set the reader in the middle of the field, running alongside Will and his friends.

The popularity of dystopian fiction and more novels that could be described as Recession Lit interests me. Books have always been a way for adolescents to cope with difficulties in their lives. The closing of the sneaker factory and Mr. Tyler’s underemployment will be relatable to many readers, making it an easy book to recommend to readers whose families are struggling economically.

One of the best things about THE UNDERDOGS is how it will appeal to developing readers. I know many adolescents who don’t consider themselves readers, but will devour this novel and then ask for more. THE UNDERDOGS is a gateway book that will hook kids and have them searching the shelves for more by Mike Lupica.

Check out more of my reviews at www.bookchomper.blogspot.com.

Good Points
The uplifting football plot will appeal to developing readers.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Felipe Femur
 
5.0
"While this book in occupied by a cast of monsters, it is far from scary. It is also not solely..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
5.0
"I am so pleased by The Crystal of Atum. I love Aki and the Spheres of Time series. This book..."
The Crystal Of Atum. Aki and the Spheres of Time #3
 
4.8
"This is Aki’s third trip with the Sphere of Time. As usual, he ends up nowhere near the spot where..."
City of Grit and Gold
 
4.3
"'City of Grit and Gold' by Maud Macrory Powell offers a glimpse into the lives of those who came from..."
Good Boy, Achilles!
 
5.0
"Very nice book."
The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis
 
3.5
"'The Pathway to Dragons: The Portal to Pyranis' by Hannah Hoffman is more than your run-of-the-mill fantasy story. When Billy..."
Keys To The Sun
 
3.8
"‘Keys to the Sun’ tells the adventures of two brothers, Lucas and Parker Chase. They are in New Orléans to..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Cheating Death:  Book 3
 
3.5
"Jarod's tenure as Lord Greenwood gets even more complicated when he and Tommy figure out that each object has information..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Mischief Before Mastery:  Book 2
 
3.5
"Since Jarod was made Lord Kentwood, his extended family is being kept at the mansion for fear that someone will..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series: Priceless Inheritance:  Book 1
 
3.3
"Jarod's dysfunctional family is gathered for the reading of his grandfather's will. Jarod misses his grandfather, but the other are..."
The Crystal Of Nammu. Aki and the Spheres of Time #2
 
4.8
"I had great expectations for the second installment of the series Aki and the Spheres of Time and I enjoy..."
The Crystal Of Yggdrasil. Aki and the Spheres of Time #1
 
4.6
"An amazing surprise. Finished in almost one sitting. This should give an idea about how surprising it was. This is..."
The Crystal Of Nammu. Aki and the Spheres of Time #2
 
4.8
"This book is very entertaining with engaging characters and surprises at every turn. It was action packed, lots of fun,..."
 
5.0
"This book is nothing short of phenomenal. It truly feels like 4 books in one. It is the kind of..."
The Crystal Of Yggdrasil. Aki and the Spheres of Time #1
 
5.0
"Aki knows he has the strange ability to communicate with animals by reading their minds, but he is about to..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Vessel Of Safety:  Book 6
 
5.0
"Reader review of the series from Amazon: "By Pratt on December 2, 2015 I have read all..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  The Protected:  Book 5
 
5.0
"Reader review on the series from Amazon: "By Thatch on February 4, 2016 Wonderful read..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Solomon's Ring:  Book 4
 
5.0
"Reader Review on the series from Amazon: "By R.B. on May 22, 2014 I loved this..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Mischief Before Mastery:  Book 2
 
5.0
"Reader review from Amazon: "Spitzenberger on August 3, 2016 I have read the book #1- #2- #3-..."
Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series:  Cheating Death:  Book 3
 
5.0
"Actual Review from Amazon.com reader: "Cathleen C. Spitzenberger on August 3, 2016 I have read book #1- #2-..."