Books Kids Fiction Storybound

Storybound Featured

http://69.195.136.18/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/08/e6/16/_Storybound12med_1318122249.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.5 (2)
672   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 03, 2012
ISBN
9780061986352
Buy This Book
      

In the land of Story, children go to school to learn to be characters: a perfect Hero, a trusty Sidekick, even the most dastardly Villain. They take classes on Outdoor Experiential Questing and Backstory, while adults search for full-time character work in stories written just for them. In our world, twelve-year-old Una Fairchild has always felt invisible. But all that changes when she stumbles upon a mysterious book buried deep in the basement of her school library, opens the cover, and suddenly finds herself transported to the magical land of Story. But Story is not a perfect fairy tale. Una’s new friend Peter warns her about the grave danger she could face if anyone discovers her true identity. The devious Tale Keeper watches her every move. And there are whispers of a deadly secret that seems to revolve around Una herself…. With the timeless appeal of books like A Wrinkle in Time and the breathtaking action ofInkheart, Storybound has all the makings of a new classic. Brimming with fantastical creatures, magical adventure, and heart-stopping twists, Storybound will leave readers wishing they too could jump through the pages into this enchanting fairy-tale world.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Storybound by Marissa Burt is the perfect book for lovers of middle grade fantasy and adventure. From the first few chapters, the reader will be sucked into the land of Story, just as Una Fairchild is.

Marissa Burt did a great job building the characters in Storybound. There were a lot of characters, but none of them ended up falling flat - each had their own story to add. Una Fairchild, the confused protagonist lost in a strange world and there's Peter who desperately trying to live up to his family name and be a hero. And of course his family with their secrets, and Sam the sarcastic cat. It's even hard not to love Snow, the mean girl from a broken home.

Despite the various point of view changes throughout Storybound - often without warning - it's easy enough to follow along. In fact, the changes in point of view actually make sense and make up a necessary element of Storybound.

The worldbuilding and storytelling in Storybound was done wonderfully. There's so many fantastical elements that make up the land of Story and all the rules that go along with it. Muses, tale keepers, villains, heroes, ladies, etc - each had an important role to play but Marissa Burt was able to build it all up without overwhelming the reader.

Any lover of fairy tales is bound to enjoy Storybound by Marissa Burt. Storybound is engaging and full of mysteries and adventure, as well as beautiful world building and characters that you can't help but love.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Tara Gonzalez Reviewed by Tara Gonzalez May 14, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (68)

Hobbitsies Reviews: Exciting premise and wonderful characters

Storybound by Marissa Burt is the perfect book for lovers of middle grade fantasy and adventure. From the first few chapters, the reader will be sucked into the land of Story, just as Una Fairchild is.

Marissa Burt did a great job building the characters in Storybound. There were a lot of characters, but none of them ended up falling flat - each had their own story to add. Una Fairchild, the confused protagonist lost in a strange world and there's Peter who desperately trying to live up to his family name and be a hero. And of course his family with their secrets, and Sam the sarcastic cat. It's even hard not to love Snow, the mean girl from a broken home.

Despite the various point of view changes throughout Storybound - often without warning - it's easy enough to follow along. In fact, the changes in point of view actually make sense and make up a necessary element of Storybound.

The worldbuilding and storytelling in Storybound was done wonderfully. There's so many fantastical elements that make up the land of Story and all the rules that go along with it. Muses, tale keepers, villains, heroes, ladies, etc - each had an important role to play but Marissa Burt was able to build it all up without overwhelming the reader.

Any lover of fairy tales is bound to enjoy Storybound by Marissa Burt. Storybound is engaging and full of mysteries and adventure, as well as beautiful world building and characters that you can't help but love.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The concept of Storybound had me a little confused before I started reading but Burt does a great job of introducing the world of Story. And to me, that’s what Stoybound was: an introduction. There’s a self-contained story arc of its own, of course, but everything works toward he higher purpose of introducing a larger story.

I was a little confused by a few things that just seemed to be fact. Like, why did Peter and Una assume Truepenny was bad from the get go? He didn’t seem to do anything to get himself branded as a suspicious character besides stare at Una, but let’s face it, she did some things that would seem strange to native Storyians. And why do they just automatically think Thornhill is evil? I know she teaches villainy and has a cold disposition, but that’s about it for obvious “evil” factors.

All that aside, I did enjoy the characters. I especially liked that Una wants to be a part of the action. I mean, when she’s faced with a dragon, she snatches the sword from the guy’s hand instead of waiting for him to save her. Then we have Sam who happens to be a pretty awesome talking cat and Peter who desperately wants to be a hero. I kind of wish I got to learn more about all the side characters, though. They were enjoyable but they also felt a bit surface.

I liked the idea of Story and Burt explains it all in a way that makes sense, but I was still left feeling like there was more to be learned. Like I said, though, Storybound is a great introduction and I look forward to learning more about Story in the sequel.

The Nutshell: Storybound is a good intro to the series, but I was left feeling a little disappointed in the overall story.

Near Miss
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jasmine Reviewed by Jasmine November 05, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (326)

Storybound (A Room with Books review)

The concept of Storybound had me a little confused before I started reading but Burt does a great job of introducing the world of Story. And to me, that’s what Stoybound was: an introduction. There’s a self-contained story arc of its own, of course, but everything works toward he higher purpose of introducing a larger story.

I was a little confused by a few things that just seemed to be fact. Like, why did Peter and Una assume Truepenny was bad from the get go? He didn’t seem to do anything to get himself branded as a suspicious character besides stare at Una, but let’s face it, she did some things that would seem strange to native Storyians. And why do they just automatically think Thornhill is evil? I know she teaches villainy and has a cold disposition, but that’s about it for obvious “evil” factors.

All that aside, I did enjoy the characters. I especially liked that Una wants to be a part of the action. I mean, when she’s faced with a dragon, she snatches the sword from the guy’s hand instead of waiting for him to save her. Then we have Sam who happens to be a pretty awesome talking cat and Peter who desperately wants to be a hero. I kind of wish I got to learn more about all the side characters, though. They were enjoyable but they also felt a bit surface.

I liked the idea of Story and Burt explains it all in a way that makes sense, but I was still left feeling like there was more to be learned. Like I said, though, Storybound is a great introduction and I look forward to learning more about Story in the sequel.

The Nutshell: Storybound is a good intro to the series, but I was left feeling a little disappointed in the overall story.

Near Miss

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)