Wonderstruck

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
4.5 (1)
1786   0
Write Review
Wonderstruck
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 13, 2011
ISBN
9780545027892
Buy This Book
      

Ben and Rose secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known. Rose dreams of a mysterious actress whose life she chronicles in a scrapbook. When Ben discovers a puzzling clue in his mother’s room and Rose reads an enticing headline in the newspaper, both children set out alone on desperate quests to find what they are missing.

Set fifty years apart, these two independent stories--Ben’s told in words, Rose’s in pictures--weave back and forth with mesmerizing symmetry. How they unfold and ultimately intertwine will surprise you, challenge you, and leave you breathless with wonder. Rich, complex, affecting, and beautiful--with over 460 pages of original artwork--Wonderstruck is a stunning achievement from a uniquely gifted artist and visionary.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Wonder Has Truly Struck

"I wish I belonged somewhere," ~Rose

Being a middle school teacher, I see many young people struggling to find out who there are, where they came from, and where they might be headed. In reflection, isn't that what everyone asks themselves from time to time whether they are 8, 13, or 75?

Imagine being alone in the world,being alone in a world of silence. Imagine searching for loved ones, discovering a world you never knew exsited. This is the world of Brian Selznick's Wonderstruck.

Wonderstruck is wonderfully crafted and illustrated. The illustrations, tells the story of Rose a deaf girl, who sets off on an adventure in New York City in 1927. Through the illustrations the reader is able to understand her story in the silence that covers her world. She is looking for answers- she wants to belong.

In words, we read about an orphan boy, Ben, who travels from Minnesota to New York in 1977 in search of his father, and winds up hiding inside the American Museum of Natural History.

The two story lines give clues throughout the novel providing lots of intriguing clues of what connections there might be before all is revealed in the novel's final conclusion.

I love Wonderstruck's narrators, Rose and Ben, who bring a fresh look to the world around us. This book definitely touched the heart.


Good Points
Even with two narrators- plot line is easy to follow.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Will Leave You Wonderstruck!

Everybody longs to find a place where they belong and in Wonderstruck both Ben and Rose are trying to figure out where they fit into their own lives. Even though their stories are told fifty years apart they share striking similarities. Ben longs to find the father he's never met and Rose seeks the attention of a popular actress whose life she's chronicled in a scrapbook. The book flows easily back and forth between the two stories until they merge together creating one fluid ending.

Using The American Museum of Natural History in NYC as a backdrop, Brian Selznick uses beautiful drawings, complex characters and interesting historical facts to weave a tale that both entertains and challenges. The role of museum curator is a focal point and describes how their job is to decide what objects go into a display and how those objects are arranged. The idea that we can be the curator of our own lives is considered, in essence giving us the opportunity to pick and choose what stories will go into the display box that is our life. Will we put our best face forward and see where our dreams take us or allow our fear and something that others might view as a disability to define us?

I really enjoyed reading this book even if I did end up in tears by the end! It was a quick read and left me with a new perspective on those that are hearing impaired.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Amazing! Most unique book ever


It’s hard to describe exactly what I felt while reading this book. Elation at the speed and ease of navigating 600+ pages? Burning biceps as I held the book to read (it weighs like 10 pounds—no lie!)? The thing that sticks with me most is the pictures. I loved seeing Rose’s story unfold with every page. It was a constant guessing game. I was captivated by the detail that went into every picture. When her story starts to blend with Ben’s story, it becomes this beautiful tale of finding where you belong. To be able to tell a story with so much passion with only black and white sketches, isamazing... Simply, amazing.





Ben’s story is very moving. The poor kid has a rough life and never feels like he belongs anywhere… until he runs away to NYC. It is in NYC that he begins to learn about his past and finds a way to belong in his new life. I really did love this story. It was simple, yet complex. For a MG book it’s pretty deep. Anyone that reads this novel will have mixed emotions. There are so many layers to navigate that it’s hard not to experience many things while you read. A+ novel. (So glad we picked this for book club this month!)

Good Points
Both stories are gripping.
Beautiful illustrations.
Most unique book I've ever read.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Brigette Barrager reunite to bring us...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Black Bird of the Gallows
simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Now, Not Ever
The sequel to The Only Thing Worse than Me Is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age: ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pashmina
Priyanka Das has so many unanswered questions: Why did her...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
How to Disappear
Vicky Decker has perfected the art of hiding in plain...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Penguins Love Their ABC's
Six of the most appealing penguins ever (featured in Sarah...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even Fairies Fart
Turns out nobody is perfect! Queens and kings; giants and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
Full of funny faces, underwater friends, and razzle dazzle seaweed...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Flowers for Sarajevo
 
5.0
"Haunting and hopeful. The bombing one of the last working bakeries in the city of Sarajevo might have been..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Plankton Is Pushy
 
4.0
"A quick and comical read, rife with sarcasm. A particular plankton is used to eliciting a response from every..."
Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure
 
4.0
"DRAGONWATCH is a captivating, action-packed story that is filled with all type of creatures such as trolls, goblins, dragons, nipsies,..."
Once Upon a Cruise
 
4.0
"What I Loved: After Ainsley’s mom took a cruise director job aboard what is essentially a mockbuster Disney cruise, Ainsley..."
Five Elements #2: The Shadow City
 
4.0
"THE SHADOW CITY starts off where I expected it to. The elementals are trying to decide on their next move...."
Will Wilder #2: The Lost Staff of Wonders
 
4.0
"In THE LOST STAFF OF WONDERS, the legendary staff of Moses is stolen by a powerful demon named Amon who..."
Cavern of Secrets (Wing and Claw #2)
 
4.0
"Raffa, Kuma, and Garith have escaped Gilden with their animal companions in CAVERN OF SECRETS. Raffa has Echo the Bat..."
Black Moon Rising (The Library Book 2)
 
5.0
"Marcus, along with his friends Lu and Theo, are struggling to make it through middle school. Lu gets a bad..."
Pig the Winner
 
4.5
"This book is a winner (no pun intended). This hilarious story paired with the most perfect illustrations will definitely leave..."
Rolling Thunder
 
5.0
"A touching memorandum and homage to the armed forces—wrapped in a gentle and beautifully illustrated teaching tool. The premise..."
Hamstersaurus Rex vs. Squirrel Kong
 
5.0
"Sam and his friend Dylan aren't quite in the clear after the events of Hamstersaurus Rex, especially when there is..."