A Wrinkle in Time (Time #1)

 
0.0
 
3.8 (42)
1149   0

User reviews

42 reviews

 
(20)
 
(5)
 
(9)
 
(4)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
42 results - showing 1 - 10  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Wrinkle in Time audiobook review

I don't really understand why everyone loves this book so much. Maybe when it came out it was groundbreaking and fascinating, but these days there are lots of scifi/fantasy books for a younger audience that are better in every way.

First of all, the author really isn't always the best person to record the audiobook. That aside, I wouldn't have enjoyed the story had I read it myself.

Meg really bothered me. I know L'Engle is praised for creating such a relatable character, but I have to disagree. Meg is annoying and whiny as heck. Nearly everything she said was a complaint in one way or another. It might have been lamenting her (absolutely atrocious, apparently) appearance or yelling at somebody because the situation sucked. I couldn't stand it. There's a difference between being melodramatic to the point of annoyance and normal teenage feelings.

Calvin and Charles Wallace, however, I enjoyed. They were both unapologetically themselves.

And what about the story, you ask? I was surprised to find that I was enjoying it pretty well at about 2/3 of the way through. And then came the ending. Or, should I say, non-ending. Yeah, that seriously pissed me off. You can't just bring up this whole storyline and then toss it out the window once your character(s) have learned their lesson.

Needless to say, I won't be joining Team L'Engle. Her books were probably groundbreaking when they came out, but here in 2013, I just can't get on board.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Not as Good Now That I'm an Adult

I first read A Wrinkle in Time at some point during my elementary school career, probably for class, although I'm really not sure now. At the time, I was completely blown away by it. My memory of the plot and characters was not completely accurate, even though I believe I reread it sometime in high school as well. Like with The Giver, A Wrinkle in Time is a beloved book from childhood that does not retain all of its majesty when read as an adult.

This is not to say, of course, that it's not an interesting read or a good book, just that some things I didn't notice then I recognize now. For example, there's a definite theology to the book that I missed entirely. The references to God are minimal, but full of impact when they occur. Without doing a careful study, I cannot say precisely what L'Engle's theology is, but I'm not entirely sure that I like it.

Another thing that displeased was the ending. The resolution of the story comes suddenly and was, at least for me, pretty unsatisfying. I do wonder whether that resolution had some effect on J.K. Rowling, because it is in some ways reminiscent of the end of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Another comparison I was able to make was that the science fiction bits remind me rather of the first book in C.S. Lewis' space trilogy.

What I loved about this book, and still do, was the understanding that intelligence comes in many forms, and that people are not always whom you expect them to be. Meg and Charles Wallace are both considered slow because they do not live the way 'normal' smart people do. Calvin seems normal, but is actually a huge nerd, who, unfortunately, I do not love quite so much now as I did as a child. He was definitely one of my first loves. A Wrinkle in Time urges the reader to think of the world in a new way, and that is fantastic.

Plus, it has dystopian elements. Hurrah! (Should I be cheering for that?) Anyway, the dark thing that is surrounding planets and instilling negative feelings is working on Earth. It's good to know that much of the trouble humans have is actually not our fault, right? Dystopia via giant, evil alien attacker. Sweet. You could maybe also include the planet Camazotz, which is another kind of dystopian society, although one that was in good functioning order.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle

A Wrinkle in Time is a remarkably unique book! L'Engle makes a normal girl--Meg Murry--who doesn't like how she looks, and, with skill, turns it into a story. Meg gets taken (with her incredibly smart 5-year-old brother, Charles Wallace, and Calvin O'Keefe, a popular high school basketball player) on a sci-fi adventure through time, space, and dimensions to find her lost father, Dr. Murry, and to save the universe. Extremely suspenseful and interesting; I couldn't put it down!

http://reviewsbykristina.blogspot.com/2011/11/wrinkle-in-time-by-madeleine-lengle.html

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

fun, fun,fun

Reader reviewed by ana

hello everyone,this book is great,Meg Murry is a  is a thirteen year old girl,she has really low self esteem .but that all changes when she goes down stairs...to meet her younger brother Charles Wallace who is is a strange little boy who can say big words that i don't  even know how to say.Charles Wallace has a strange friend Mrs.whatsit. She needs there help..to save the world from evil darkness and to save Meg Murry's dad who has become missing.she and her brother Charles Wallace and a boy she meets (Calvin)go on to a adventure to strange new worlds.i highly choose this book to people that love adventure a bit of romance and lots of fun,don't try to put this book down it's a mind blower


Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Forever A Classic

Reader reviewed by Whitney

A Wrinkle In Time will always be one of my favorite reads. I put this book up there with books you must read before you die. This was my introduction into the scifi/fantasy Genre and since then I have never looked back. I love that this book includes a moral that no matter what your age or how different you are from other people you can still succeed in life and anything you want to do. Being different is what makes you who you are. Charles Wallace will go down in history as one of my favorite charcters ever written in a book. I will be reading the rest of the series and continuing on this journey with him.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

A Wrinkle in Time

Reader reviewed by The Time Travelers

       A Wrinkle in Time is a book about time travel. A man disapear's and many people think he has died. He has a daughter and three sons. His daughter, Meg has trouble in school. Then Meg and her brother, Charles Wallace, meet three strange ladies who take them on a wild adventure.
      A Wrinkle In Time had a lot to like about it . I liked it when Calvin and Meg were sitting in the backyard . I also liked when the creeatures took Meg. It was interesting when Meg saves Charles Wallace from It. It was a very interesting book.
      I would recommed this book to any9-99 who likes science fictio.It also has a lot of hard words,likee myopic. It was a wonderful book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Not one of the best.

Reader reviewed by AB

A Wrinkle in Time was really not one of my favorite books.
The book was full of fantasy and science fiction. I really don't like those types of books so I really did no emjoy this book.
Not one minute of it.
To me it was just bizzare and just unrealistic.
 Nothing really made any sense during the whole course of the book.
Anyone who likes science fiction may enjoy it. But I was not one of the ones who did.
In fact many people who have read it disliked it as much as I did.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Bad...

Reader reviewed by moonymaster

So, I kinda had to force myself to read this book. I knew it was a classic and it had been on my to-read shelf forever so I decided to pick it up. But what I found was just a bad fantasy. I don't really understand why this book is a classic. There were few parts where I really got into the story. Most of the time I was just wondering what was going on and if this story was truly as bad as it seemed. I really wanted it to be better but I was disappointed. Read at your own risk...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

The Meg in all of us

Reader reviewed by Lea

I remember reading this back in elementary school. Meg is far from perfect, with her glasses and crazy hair, but she's the perfect protagonist. Her brother, Charles Wallace and friend Calvin join her on her adventure to save her father. A great fantasy novel about love, family, and just what we're capable of.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

It was pretty interesting.

Reader reviewed by Jessica

I read the book, A Wrinkle in Time, first at school though it was originally called something like Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Witch. I like the way she created these worlds and how she described these interesting friends. I seriously think anyone who hasn't read it seriously needs to. It was very interesting.

Was this review helpful to you? 
42 results - showing 1 - 10  
1 2 3 4 5  
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)