Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
4.0

Twenty years of protecting presidents


Emmett was a young, impressionable boy growing up in the South when President Kennedy was assassinated. The event made such an impression on him that he enlisted in Marine Corps, served his time there, and then made a concerted effort to break into the ranks of the secret service. He eventually was hired, and made his way up to working at the white house. He worked for presidents from Ronald Reagan and was personally in charge of the safety of Bill and Hillary Clinton before he joined the CIA in 2004.

Good Points
Filled with eye witness accounts of treacherous situations and covert operations, I am a Secret Service Agent also has lots of helpful tips for aspiring agents, from what education and background is important, to what sort of temperament one should have. Young readers will be able to put themselves into young Emmett's shoes, and thrill to behind-the-scenes opportunities like entering President Kennedy's former house at the invitation of his brother Ted or protecting the president in the storm ravaged, dangerous streets of Haiti.

There are lots of details about weapons, strategies, and a huge variety of trips taken with the presidents to exotic locations, all while on high alert for any and all threats to the president.

Readers who like nonfiction books detailing what life is like in the secret service, such as Butts' Bodyguards: From Gladiators to the Secret Service and Janeczko's Double Cross will love reading this memoir with their sunglasses on and one eye watching the door!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Out in Left Field
 
2.0
"In this sequel to When the Sergeant Came Marching Home (which I haven't read; it didn't affect my comprehension) set..."