Review Detail

 
Kids Nonfiction
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0

Heroes and Heroines

3.5 Stars

A compelling concept with a lot of heart behind it. The book presents as a sort of counterpart to one of the author's other works, Heroes For My Son.

Heroes For My Daughter is made up of 57 two-page spreads of real life individuals or groups, some widely known and others more obscure, who've all left some indisputable mark on history. The layout consists of a black & white picture, a tribute explanation, and a quote. Seven blank, lined pages at the back encourage readers to write down their own personal hero's story, and leaves a designated place for said hero's picture. The author ends the collection on a personal note, including tribute sections dedicated to his grandmother, mother, and wife. As with its related book, Heroes For My Son, the general layout and excessive smallness of right-side font tends to give it more of a coffee table book feel than children's book.

For readers seeking a book with an all female cast to inspire their daughter with, I wanted to clarify: this isn't that sort of book. If The Three Stooges technically count as 3 men, then this work contains at least 16 specific male heroes--plus however many were involved in the hijacker resistance on United Flight 93.

Speaking of Flight 93... Arguably the most stunning portion of this book is dedicated to them, on a very personal note from the author. Because the flight that went down in a field was only twenty minutes from Washington D.C., where it was intended to strike either the White House, or more likely, the U.S. Capitol building. The Capitol building where the author's wife, then 8 months pregnant, was working.

This book is very closely tied to Heroes For My Son. Perhaps a little too closely--as there is exact cut-and-paste overlap in several of the hero bios between them. Mahatma Gandhi, Lucille Ball, Eleanor Roosevelt, Amelia Earhart, Rosa Parks, Abraham Lincoln, and Teri Meltzer at the very least. Although, it is difficult to tell if there are more, as the heroes are listed in no readily discernible order and there is no appendix at the end to aid in searching for them. (And yes, you will note this paragraph of my review is essentially a cut-and-pasted replica of one I used in the aforementioned related book. It seemed only fair.)

For this reader, most concerns with this book are ultimately a matter of format and delivery rather than content. I think more exclusive books called Heroines For My Daughter and one called Heroes for My Son may have been more effective. Or perhaps a simple consolidation between the two called: Heroes For My Children. Regardless, larger print and clearer organization would certainly benefit later editions.

On the whole, a worthwhile read. And potentially a good starting point to prompt more thorough researching of some of these inspiring figures.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
All The Crooked Saints
 
3.7
"Trust me when I say no one was more stunned than me when I enjoyed All the Crooked Saints. ..."
Legacy of Kings
 
2.0
"Legacy of Kings was not a bad book per se, but I found it a confusing, frequently boring one. Perhaps..."
Tempests and Slaughter
 
4.7
"I am a terrible fantasy fan. Why? Because I’ve never read a novel by Tamora Pierce. I am definitely..."
Nimona
 
5.0
"Oh my gosh!!!!!!! This is the cutest graphic novel I have read in a long time! Cute and entertaining and..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"If you’re looking for an action-packed novel with a fierce female main character who is multifaceted, and the text is..."
The Tiger's Watch (Ashes of Gold #1)
 
3.0
"I’m in two minds about this novella. While there was a part of me that was intrigued by the general..."
Return of the Vinetropes
 
5.0
"What a unique and wonderful story told by a gifted writer! What I loved most is that there's something for..."
A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
 
4.0
"A THOUSAND BEGINNINGS AND ENDINGS is a collection of fifteen short stories, edited by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman. All..."
A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen #2)
 
4.7
" An enthralling, beautifully crafted YA fantasy—laced with Indian lore and memorable characterization. Gauri is a betrayed..."
Dark Breaks the Dawn
 
5.0
"In DARK BREAKS THE DAWN, Evelayn is the future queen of the Light Kingdom. As expected, she must prepare for..."
Eden Conquered
 
3.0
"EDEN CONQUERED by Joelle Charbonneau is the second book in a duology about royal twins competing for the throne. When..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"No comment."
Abhorsen (Abhorsen #3)
 
4.0
"Picking up right where book #2’s cliffhangery ending left off, Garth Nix brings us the satisfying conclusion to his Abhorsen..."
The Queen Of The Tearling (The Tearling Trilogy, #1)
 
4.0
"An exceptional middle-fantasy debut, keyed to a New Adult audience. Kelsea is an unremarkable orphaned girl, long kept..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Fire and Bone
 
3.7
"FIRE AND BONE by Rachel A. Marks is the beginning of a new young adult fantasy series. In many ways,..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"Great strong woman character in Eelyn, I couldn't get enough of this book!"