Review Detail

(Updated: February 05, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0

Inspirational reading for aspiring young heroes

A wonderful gift for any child at any age. The Book of Heroes is full of tales of the heroes we’ve all admired, plus the ones we’ve never even heard of. Political leaders, stars of the sports arena, historical legends, the great men of the ancient world, peacemakers, and leaders in their fields of study, there is something here to inspire every reader—young and old (and a great book for families to enjoy together).
The Book of Heroes is beautifully presented with full color images and illustrations. The information is educational with a healthy dose of personality so the reader doesn’t feel like they are reading a textbook of boring facts.
The author does a wonderful job bringing a sense of balance to the masculine theme as each section offers a selection of “Gutsy Gals” to complement the Heroes. And the final section on “Outstanding Animals” gives the reader a glimpse into the world of adorably heroic animals.
A solid look at a variety of heroic deeds from ancient history to present day leaders, The Book of Heroes will teach and entertain all at once. Highly recommended reading for young boys and a handy tool for the classroom too.

Good Points
A great book for fathers and sons
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Deadly Exodus
Their love is forbidden…their lives in danger… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front Cover
Join Clementine on a Winter Adventure in the Great Outdoors!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front cover
Growing up as a biracial child, Maggy Williams had three...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
hanna_final.jpg
Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51MO7YjcihL.jpg
Twins Finn and Eric’s peaceful lives are turned upside down...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
4.7
"One of the most stunningly written and understated books I have read these holidays, Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
4.0
"Literary fiction for the young adult audience is something of a rare beast. It can be found, as evidenced in..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
3.0
"Oh, that awkward moment where you read a book that's come highly recommended to you from just about everyone you..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
2.0
"s it possible not to like a book perfectly written? This book is superbly written. The prose just flows and..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
2.7
JenJen
"OK, so, this wasn't a bad book, just not the one for me. (It opens with a sex scene which..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
3.3
"I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading Amelia Anne Is Dead and Gone, but I can honestly..."