Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0

Elizabethan intrigue

A lot of historical novels have been written about Shakespeare and his Globe theatre, but not too many have been written about his friend and rival Christopher Marlowe and his Rose theatre, so The Secret of the Rose is a slightly unusual look at theatre life in Elizabethan times. The story follows Rosalind Archer, a country girl who has to make a life for herself in London after her father is imprisoned and the family loses all its money. Taken in by the famous playwright, Rosalind (disguised as a boy and now known as Richard) struggles to hide a dangerous secret from her master, who has some dangerous secrets of his own.

The Secret of the Rose will work for readers on a couple of levels. Those who aren't familiar with the time period and its political intrigue will still enjoy a fairly suspenseful story, while those who are will enjoy putting together the clues and references, which aren't always spelled out for them (Rosalind/Richard doesn't understand all of what's going on, but with the hindsight of history, we do). While Rosalind's fear of persecution and corresponding distrust of everyone come through loud and clear, the cause of her persecution (her religion) isn't emphasized as strongly as in another novel I've recently reviewed, Ann Turnbull's No Shame, No Fear, but readers will still get the picture that Elizabethan England was a very hostile place to those who were different (and an emotionally wrenching episode involving Dutch immigrants will underline this). Full of interesting ideas (including a teensy bit of romance) and suspenseful enough to hold readers' interest, The Secret of the Rose is a recommended read.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Little Penguin Stays Awake
 
5.0
"All Little Penguin wants to do his fly like all of the other birds. His only hope is wishing on..."
Be Brave Little Penguin
 
5.0
"BE BRAVE LITTLE PENGUIN tells the story of Pip-Pip who is the smallest penguin in the group and is afraid..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Penguins Love Colors
 
4.5
" I could not be more obsessed with this book! I mean, just take a look at that cover and..."
Penguins Love Colors
 
5.0
"PENGUINS LOVE COLORS is such a bright colorful lovely story about six penguins who want to surprise their mother. They..."
Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups
 
4.0
"Little Penguin has a major dilemma. After a night of feasting on chili, the Little Penguin gets the hiccups. The..."