Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0

works best as a companion to the movie

EMMET GETS TOUGH is a picture book that is a companion to the movie featured. In the vein of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, Emmet is telling the story of what is happening in Bricksburg (now Apocalypseburg). After he saved the world from Taco Tuesday (first movie plot), they thought everything would be awesome forever. However, they got invaded by DUPLOs which destroyed everything in sight, and thus, they are now known as Apocalypseburg. Emmet wants everything to be awesome and for Lucy to be happy, so he builds a dream house.

However, soon, they are confronted by a new invader who attacks and searches for leaders. However, they know quickly that Emmet is not a leader, and Lucy tries to defend him, but also admits he is not tough enough. After the aliens take away Emmet’s friends, the book ends with Emmet deciding to get tough.

What I loved: This book, like THE LEGO MOVIE (1 and 2), has tidbits for both children and adults, with jokes we can all appreciate. The characters also stay true to themselves, with some of the Batman and Emmet fun we all loved from the movie. The plot follows the movie with images selected from the big screen, making it great for children who saw and loved it! The image layout has a somewhat comic book and apocalyptic feel with overlapping boxes and darker colors that suit the plotline well. The stickers are also a nice touch, featuring the main characters, which can be used for artwork or fun outside of the book.

What left me wanting more: If you consider the book outside of the context of the movie, there are some minor concerns. While it is true to the characters involved and the movie, the relationship drawn between being a leader and toughness seems a little simplified- Emmet is already pretty tough by staying optimistic and thriving in hard times, and leaders can have many qualities. The book also features a lot of attacking, which is true to the movie but may be appropriate for older audiences (elementary vs. preschool). The ending is also open, and the story in the book not completely finished. This makes it less complete to stand on its own but does allow children to make up their own ending if they have not seen the movie. As a result, this may be more appropriate as a companion to the movie for people who have already seen and loved it.

Final verdict: This book is great for elementary/older kids’ books audiences who already fans of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, the charming characters, and more complex storylines. Parents can enjoy the jokes and fun alongside their children when reading this picture book. Great for fans of the movie, this book stays true to the plot as well as characters and their personalities.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamland
In his sleep, Louie starts visiting a magical world where...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Me, Shakespeare and the Anti-Love Club
Heartbroken and spurned Kassidy starts an Anti-Love Club in response...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
Sacrifice all you have to survive. ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
NewBookCover.jpg
The Akakies, a peaceful, technologically advanced alien species known as...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
A new, revised edition of Edward Willett’s multi-award-winning young adult...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Love at First Fight
Band Geek vs Quarterback... One humiliating photo, a stupid...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ellie Quinn has spent most of her sixteen years behind...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
King Geek vs the Cheerleader Julia Farrow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer vs Player Some girls have a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Long live Solaris. One bloodthirsty ruler has...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
 
4.7
"THE LAST HOPE is a thrilling conclusion to the THE RAGING ONES duology. As we know from the first book,..."
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
 
5.0
"SPIN THE DAWN is an unbelievably fantastic read with some elements of a high-stakes PROJECT RUNWAY, some elements of FLAME..."
The Chosen (Contender, #1)
 
5.0
"MAZE RUNNER meets LAND OF THE LOST in this engaging page-turner full of twists and turns in an epic tale..."
The Deceiver's Heart
 
5.0
"THE DECEIVER'S HEART opens in an epic way. Kestra tries to kill Lord Endrick, but fails and tries to escape..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"What worked: Just wowza. This is one intense, haunting tale of girls that are banished on their sixteenth year to..."
Castle of Concrete
 
5.0
"What an amazing debut novel - it weaves together fascinating characters, political upheaval, anti-Semitism, and conflicted love interests into a..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
5.0
"Tiffany D. Jackson has knocked it out of the park yet again with LET ME HEAR A RHYME. When Steph..."
The Dark Beneath the Ice
 
4.0
"THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a stunningly written YA horror that follows Marianne as she starts losing time, sees..."
Again, But Better
 
5.0
"The author’s writing style makes this book a joy to read from start to finish. I started reading it on..."
The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow, #1)
 
5.0
"THE STORM CROW is an engrossing and imaginative YA fantasy. Anthia (Thia) is a princess of Rhodaire and eagerly awaits..."
Overturned
 
5.0
"Top 3 reasons you need to read Overturned by Lamar Giles (and read the rest of his books while you're..."
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
 
4.7
"If you love a snarky heroine, surprise twists and turns, and a fairytale-themed plot, THE EVIL QUEEN is designed to..."
How It Feels to Float
 
4.7
"This story follows the life of Biz, a teenaged girl. Biz lives with her family, goes to school, explores her..."
Stepsister
 
4.3
""The wolves in the woods have sharp teeth and long claws, bit it's the wolf inside who will tear you..."
Breakout
 
4.0
"BREAKOUT is a thrilling and fast-paced YA sci-fi/dystopian. Lezah is in prison for a crime she cannot remember. This future..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.7
"It's been eighteen months since Hetty and her friends have been quarantined at the Raxter School for Girls. A deadly..."
Just Jaime
 
5.0
"'Just Jaime' by Terri Libenson captures the truth of middle school – a time when friendships are haunted by worry..."