Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

More Cheeky UK Fun

The big event in Tom's world is the upcoming School Activity Trip, but he might not be going! He forgot to turn in the permission slip, and even when he gets another one, it is lost in the morass of his room. Luckily, his mother saves the day and sends him off with substandard wooly jumpers and way too many bananas instead of decent snacks! He has an odd assortment of roommates, including Marcus, who shoots his mouth off about how great and brave he isn't, but is really just whiny and annoying instead. There are lots of fun activities like raft building, and competitions with another school. Of course, the best activities are the forbidden ones, like snacking after lights out and being silly. Still, the trip is a success and Tom is glad that he finally got organized enough to go... even if he loses his teddy bear and everyone on his bus finds out he brought one.

Good Points
Like Peirce's Big Nate, Tom is an imminently likable and tremendously typical middle school student. He means well, but still can't remember to pack his own pajamas! He's obsessed with snacks, but in a world where you can buy caramel wafers at the corner Tesco, who wouldn't be? Tom is also very British, with his gym kit, rubbish bins, and even the whole concept of the School Activity Trip! The last time I took middle school students on a trip that stayed even one night away was 1989!

The other characters in the book are slightly one-dimensional; Tom's father is always claiming to want to stay fit but sneaking biscuits, his sister Delia is often mean and snarky to him but ends up saving the day when he forgets to mail in an entry to a t shirt design contest, and his teachers a bit waffly and ineffectual. I do appreciate that even with Marcus, Tom is understanding and not mean. This makes a big difference between this and the US Wimpy Kid series.

The hand-lettered font and copious pictures will appeal to fans of Stick Dog and Charlie Joe Jackson, and many readers will use this book as an arguing point to get a wall of their room painted in black board paint just like Tom, so they can doodle all over a wall. All of Tom's exploits are amusing, humorous, and pure fun to read. I am not overly sad that this series is fourteen books long in the UK!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Missing Easter Bunny (Pikmi Pops)
The Pikmi Pops have their own Easter egg hunt --...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
A storybook based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM), as told...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Pool Time! (Clifford)
Clifford and Emily Elizabeth are spending a day at the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Spring Babies (Babies in the Park)
An endearing board book with adorable babies on the go...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Making Bombs for Hitler
For readers who were enthralled by Alan Gratz's Prisoner B-3087...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Boy,
Dear Boy, is an open love letter to the special...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Need a Hug
In I Need a Hug, a tiny porcupine just wants...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beyond the Sixth Extinction: A Post-Apocalyptic Pop-Up
Whether or not we know it, the sixth global extinction...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Tess
Tess has a BIG problem. ...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom of Copper
S. A. Chakraborty continues the sweeping adventure begun in The...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colorblind
Colorblind: A Story of Racism is the third in a...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
40776737.jpg
An original young adult novel of the Alien universe ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dark Beneath the Ice
Something is wrong with Marianne. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Scream Site
Sabrina Sebastian's goal in life is to be an investigative...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
RUNAWAYS. ROMANCE. A ROCK & ROLL ROAD TRIP. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by 2 Johns and a Brian I enjoyed the book Transfer of..."