Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Dogs as protection and comfort

Stubby was adopted from the streets of Boston by Bob Conroy, who managed to sneak him on the ship his unit took to Europe. Once they arrived, the commanding officer allowed the dog to be the mascot of the group as long as he didn't interfere. Stubby proved his worth by alerting men to poison gas, killing rats, and generally improving morale. As Conroy's unit was involved in a broad cross section of WWI activity, and we see the battles and movement through Stubby's eyes. The dog is even injured and in hospital for six weeks at one point, and even loses a friend on the battle field. He and Bob are still in Europe for the Armistice, and once they return to the US go on tour. Stubby was quite the celebrity, meeting General Pershing, the president, and traveling extensively in his retirement.

Good Points
There were a lot of details about how the military units were set up, how soldiers lived their daily lives, and what happened on the battle field, in the trenches, and in the hospital. Covering the Armistice was particularly brilliant, and the information about Stubby's further career is helpful. Stubby's eventual demise (from old age) is circumspectly covered so as not to upset young readers.

The inclusion of pictures brought Stubby to life in a vivid way. It's amazing how worn and grainy these pictures are after only 100 years, but even that brings home the fact that WWI was some time ago!

No matter how well written books from a dog's point of view are, there are always some awkward moments when I doubted that Stubby had a good working knowledge of politics, but certainly his views of daily life in the trenches, especially saving soldiers from impending gas attacks, were vivid and easy to understand.

While there are a couple of other books about Stubby, this one is just the right length and level of detail for somewhat younger readers who are very interested in World War I. There are not nearly as many stories about that war as there are about WWII, so I'm definitely glad to buy this one as well as Judy: Prisoner of War. Hand this to readers who love Tarshis' I Survived books or London's Dogs of War.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Clink A Story of Cyberbullying
Click is the heroic story of a young girl who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
On Blood Road (A Vietnam War Novel)
The last place on earth Taylor Sorenson wants to be...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aiden is the son of a fisherman on the south...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II
In the early years of World War II, Josef Stalin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Faithful Spy: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and the Plot to Kill Hitler
Adolf Hitler’s Nazi party is gaining strength and becoming more...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
New Kid
Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Watch Hollow
Deep within the enchanted woods in the town of Watch...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Giant Days
Based on the hit graphic-novel series from BOOM! Studios, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Unteachables
The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tales from the Inner City is a collection of incredibly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gamer Army
After Rogan Webber levels up yet again on his favorite...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world tilted for Elodee this year, and now it’s...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Right as Rain
It’s been almost a year since Rain’s brother Guthrie died,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie, Mac, and Maria managed to rescue the Project Chimera...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone
Set in the African savannah and told from three different...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tom Gates Is Absolutely Fantastic (at Some Things) (#5)
Since Tom forgets everything, it’s not surprising that he forgot...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Walls Around Us
 
4.7
""We liked to talk to failed justice." I watch news every night and all I see is failed justice. Reporters..."
The Walls Around Us
 
5.0
"I will admit, I was trepidatious going into this one. I wasn't a big fan of Imaginary Girls and..."
Imaginary Girls
 
3.7
"What I Liked: Nova Ren Suma has been on my absolutely-must-read list since her debut, but I've only just gotten..."
17 & Gone
 
4.7
"In what was one of the most thrilling and suspenseful, yet confusing and paranoid, reads of recent memory, 17 &..."
17 & Gone
 
5.0
"There are some novels where everything comes together, the stars align, and you get butterflies in your stomach within a..."
17 & Gone
 
4.0
"This book was creepy but in a good way. This is definitely not my usual type of read but when..."
Imaginary Girls
 
3.0
"Normally, I don’t give much credence to the author blurbs they put on front covers. Just because one best-selling author..."
Imaginary Girls
 
1.3
"I really wanted to like this book. The cover is mysterious and draws you in and Nova’s writing is artistic..."
Imaginary Girls
 
4.7
"So, the entire time I'm reading this book, I felt like I was Chloe. I was finding things out at..."
Imaginary Girls
 
3.0
"What made me keep turning the page? Just trying to figure out what in the world was going on..."
Imaginary Girls
 
3.0
JenJen
"If this book was a movie it would have me sitting, preferably not alone, with my hands covering my eyes..."