Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
(Updated: February 07, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Sunny is PUG-tastic!

Sunny is an older pug who has a comfortable life with her human and her stuffed animals. When Rosy, a new puppy, joins the family, Sunny is not happy. Puppies have a lot of energy and Sunny doesn't care for Rosy's in-your-face personality. Sunny also doesn't like sharing her things with Rosy, especially Mr. Bunny. When Rosy loses Mr. Bunny, Sunny gets angry, but when Rosy runs away, Sunny knows that the puppy has never been on her own alone outside before. What about the mean dogs in the neighborhood? Cars? All of the other dangers? Sunny goes out to find her new and annoying playmate, and comes to realize that having someone else around can be fun.

Good Points
This is the perfect length for an easy reader book. It doesn't look like a "baby book", but has large text and lots of pictures. Unlike graphic novels, which often have very tiny text, this would be a good book for readers transitioning from "I Can Read" books and other shorter readers.

Sunny's reaction to the new puppy is very realistic, and Rosy is portrayed as exuberant and bouncy. The black and white line drawings are extremely expressive and funny. I didn't know there was a Bah Humpug Blog (http://www.bahhumpug.com/) until I read another review of this book, but you can visit that site to find out more about the author and her work. (As well as her pugs!)

This is a great story of irritation and eventual acceptance. I was recently offered the possibility of adopting a seven-year-old toy poodle whose owners were relocating; accepting this offer is contingent on my twelve-year-old Sylvie accepting another dog. I can see Sylvie thinking the exact same things that Sunny is thinking, so this book warmed my heart.

Readers who love pet friendly tales like Selfors' Wedgie and Gizmo or Butler's Kayla and King will enjoy this book, which is the dog equivalent of Surovec's My Pet Human tales.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Krista My Name is Number 4 was a book I received from LibraryThings Early Reviewers program. It..."