Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Portrait of a Folk Artist

Artist James Castle was born with many problems right before the turn of the last century. Raised on a farm, he was deaf, possibly autistic, and had learning difficulties. His family struggled to deal with his issues, and he was often sent to the attic, where he would do drawings with charcoal and found materials. When he was ten, he and a sister (who became deaf due to measles) were sent to the Idaho School for the Deaf and the Blind. He was drawn to the library, where he would watch teachers making books for their students. The teachers did not like him to draw, and took his drawings away when they felt they were making fun of other students. Eventually, he was sent home, where he continued to draw.

His family moved several times, and after his parents died, he ended up living with a sister. Eventually, his artwork came to the attention of a college professor, and he had his own shown in Portland. His artwork started to sell, and continued to grow in popularity after his death in 1977.

Good Points
Artist James Castle was born with many problems right before the turn of the last century. Raised on a farm, he was deaf, possibly autistic, and had learning difficulties. His family struggled to deal with his issues, and he was often sent to the attic, where he would do drawings with charcoal and found materials. When he was ten, he and a sister (who became deaf due to measles) were sent to the Idaho School for the Deaf and the Blind. He was drawn to the library, where he would watch teachers making books for their students. The teachers did not like him to draw, and took his drawings away when they felt they were making fun of other students. Eventually, he was sent home, where he continued to Say has carefully replicated the style of Castle's work in this picture book, using color sparingly, and evoking the sad events of Castle's life through black and sepia tones. The book is told from the perspective of a purported nephew of Castle's, making this a more fictionalized account. In notes in the back, Say says that interviews with family members and articles written at the time tell conflicting stories of Castle's challenges.

In this book, Say tries to explain Castle's eccentricities by fleshing out the outline of his life, and uses homages to some of Castle's own illustrations to try to understand what motivated and inspired this somewhat obscure folk artist.

Fans of Say's work, such as The Sign Painter and Drawing from Memory will find this portrait of a fellow artist to be an interesting addition to Say's portfolio.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Krista My Name is Number 4 was a book I received from LibraryThings Early Reviewers program. It..."