Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
(Updated: February 04, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Midnight in the Piazza

Thirteen-year-old Beatrice Archer isn't too excited when her professor father is offered a job far away from Boston. When she finds out they're moving to Rome, she's upset that she'll leave her friends behind. Once there though she's swept up in what looks like an robbery of some priceless sculptures on a fountain. She witnesses the crime outside her window. What happens next has her searching for the truth, even when others, including her father, don't believe her.

What worked: This is a fun adventure, mystery set in Rome. Beatrice's reluctance to leave Boston and her friends felt very real to me as I know how hard it is for this age group to be separated from the only home they know. Little by little though, Beatrice's heart warms up to the city. Readers see the art, city, and people through her eyes. She meets Marco, someone who age who lives in the city. Together they search for hints that might resolve the mystery of the sculptures.

Parks does a great job showing the old Jewish Ghetto in Rome and the history behind one ancient family. There's mystery, ancient art, adventure, and an ancient curse. Great pacing and Italian history woven throughout. Parks does have direct translations of Italian footnoted on the bottom of the pages. This makes it easy for readers, who don't know Italian, to find the quick translations without losing their place.

Fun romp through Rome with an endearing heroine who searches for the truth behind missing sculptures and in the process learns to love the city too.

Good Points
1. Fun adventure/mystery in Rome
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Out in Left Field
 
2.0
"In this sequel to When the Sergeant Came Marching Home (which I haven't read; it didn't affect my comprehension) set..."