Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Tally Ho!

Kit and her father Rudy are moving from Montana to the posh Covington Academy in England where her father is the new equestrian supervisor. Kit is excited to be in a new country where no one knows about her embarrassing fall from a horse that has left her reluctant to get back on, and it's also a new adventure that her deceased mother would have embraced. The downside? Everyone at Covington rides, and the headmistress is a stickler for rules, which Kit, being an American, doesn't care much for. Kit's roommate, Anya, is very nice, as are several of the cute boys, but the head prefect, Elaine, is not happy to have Kit and her headstrong ways in her house. When Headmistress Covington wants to remove an unteachable, headstrong horse, Kit throws a fit and the horse is allowed to stay as long as Kit can bring the animal up to the competition level the school needs to defeat their rival. This, of course, is a rocky process, but with the help of her father and her new friends, Kit tries to train the horse and settle into her new life in England.

Good Points
Kit will amuse young readers who like to think that adults make silly rules. I personally think it would be fantastic to have a school uniform complete with blazer and pleated skirt with tights, but that's just me! Kit is irrepressible and tries to do what she thinks is right even if the adults in her life are not quite as sure about it.

Boarding school books are always fun, and Anya, who is hiding her background as a princess, is a character who could use more exploration. Nav and Josh are appealing boy characters who treat the girls as equals but are also willing to ask them to dances. Headmistress Covington is a rule follower, but is human enough to bend the rules when necessary. There is apparently a Nickelodeon television series called Ride, but the book can be enjoyed even by readers who are not familiar with it.

The details about horse riding are going to be the real pull. Horses who are underdogs always figure largely in books about equestrian pursuits, and TK's relationship with Kit will have readers rooting for him to stay at Covington. Readers who enjoyed Hapka's Ponies of Chincoteague, Smiley's The Georges and the Jewels or Burkhart's Wild Hearts will find it easy to get back in the saddle with Kit Meets Covington.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars
Did you know that the earth is covered in three...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Three Sides of A Heart: Stories About Love Triangles
You may think you know the love triangle, but...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The November Girl
I am Anda, and the lake is my mother....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Approximately Yours (North Pole, Minnesota)
Danny Garland is so out of Holly’s league. And...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Penny Lost
Penelope Grace, usually forgotten under the shadow of her...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Chasing Eveline
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Higgins is the only student at Carmel...
 
4.7
 
5.0 (2)
Good and Gone
When Lexi Green’s older brother, Charlie, starts plotting a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Glow
When thrift-store aficionado Julie discovers a series of antique paintings...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Secrets
After an abrupt move across the country to San Francisco,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her music...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
White Rabbit
Caleb Roehrig, author of Last Seen Leaving, delivers another spellbinding...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Temptation of Adam
Adam Hawthorne is fine. Yeah, his mother left, his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Undiscovered Country
In the aftermath of her mother's death, Cat recklessly...
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
Being a member of the Elite Hunter Command imperils...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Emerald Circus
Where is Wendy? Leading a labor strike against the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Light Years
 
2.3
" Thank you so much Simon Pulse and the FFBC for providing me with a e-arc for review. In compliance..."
When Dimple Met Rishi
 
4.3
"When Dimple Met Rishi was on my most anticipated list for this year. One of the things I love about..."
Light Years
 
3.3
"A dystopian-leaning mid-apocalyptic YA with a pandemic premise and a code savvy heroine. The book takes place in a..."
The Museum of Heartbreak
 
4.7
"I really relate to this book very much. Most especially with Pen. This book was so honest. Many symbolisms but..."
Want
 
4.7
"This book is stellar! Truthfully, I came across this book blindly. I don't have a lot of information about..."
Blacksouls
 
4.3
" I did find some of the descriptions of ‘Teach’ and ‘Anne’ and ‘Cara’ and ‘Coyle’ a little sanctimonious..."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
4.7
"The first book in the world famous The Mortal Instruments series the City of Bones definitely lives up the hype...."
Alex, Approximately
 
4.7
"What I Loved: Seeing as Bailey and her online friend Alex met and bonded over movies, it’s fitting each chapter..."
Confessions of a High School Disaster
 
4.0
"'Confessions of a High School Disaster: Chloe Snow's Diary' by Emma Chastain had its moments. Main character Chloe is starting..."
We Are The Ants
 
4.7
"We Are the Ants follows Henry Denton in the worst year of his life. His mother is struggling to keep..."
Violent Ends
 
4.7
"VIOLENT ENDS by Shaun David Hutchinson and 17 other authors is a young adult contemporary fiction, standalone novel. I..."
 
4.0
"The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson is a young adult standalone novel. This is not the first book by..."
Want
 
5.0
"Jason Zhou lives in a futuristic society in Taipei, Taiwan, where pollution is everywhere. This affects not only the air..."
Diary of a Haunting
 
4.7
"Paige's life is turned upside down when her mother makes them move from California to Idaho. Her wanted a new..."
The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones
 
4.0
"I first read this series years ago before the third one had even come out and I loved them! They..."
City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2)
 
4.0
"This one picks up just a bit after City of Bones. Jace is pinning for Clary and she for him...."
Let the Wind Rise (Sky Fall #3)
 
4.0
"4.4 stars! Awesome series! Filled with a lot of action and an interesting plot. I really enjoyed the first book..."
The Odds of Lightning
 
3.0
"THE ODDS OF LIGHTNING by Jocelyn Davies is a fun coming of age story as told by four different protagonists,..."
We Knew It Was You (Strange Truth, #1)
 
3.0
"We Knew It Was You is a quirky mystery with characters that are both the worst and the best at..."
Shade
 
3.3
"3.5 Stars This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/12/shade-by-jeri-smith-ready.html Aura was born after the Shift, which..."