Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Splendid and Important Read

Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri from being curious. When Pri finds a magical pashmina in an old suitcase, she is suddenly transported to the India of her dreams, full of color, good food, and majestic buildings. In order to find out if the India the pashmina showed her is as beautiful as it seems and if it has the answer she’s been looking for, she must journey there herself.

PASHMINA is a beautifully illustrated graphic novel full of family and history. Priyanka yearns to know more about her family: who her father is, what her mom’s life was like in India, etc. Readers will find her curiosity relatable and realistic, just like the bond between Pri and her mother. Both love each other dearly, but they have parts of themselves that are hard to discuss and explain. Chanani captures the emotion spectacularly, and you shouldn’t be surprised if you get a little (or more) misty eyed at parts.

While I love Priyanka’s journey to discover where her family comes from and what that means to her, the story can be a little choppy. There were several times I had to go back a page or two to try to understand what had happened. Similarly, I felt the pashmina magic wasn’t as well explained as it could have been. We definitely get an answer as to what it does, but I was still confused about what exactly that meant.

While I was left confused in parts, the wonderful family portrayal, the meaningful journey of learning more about yourself and the world around you, and the gorgeous colors in the novel make this story a splendid and important read.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Out in Left Field
 
2.0
"In this sequel to When the Sergeant Came Marching Home (which I haven't read; it didn't affect my comprehension) set..."