Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

It's good to know CPR... and how to kill a demon!

Kelly desperately wants to attend Camp Miskatonic-- she's overhead Deanna, head of the Princess Pack at her school talk about it, and it sounds awesome. The problem? It costs $4,000 to go for the summer, and Kelly's family is struggling financially. She has managed to raise $3,000 by doing various chores for neighbors, but still has a way to go. When her friend Tammy suggests babysitting, Kelly is reluctant to look into that activitiy. When her mother volunteers her to babysit Ms. Zellman's son Jacob on the night of a big Halloween party, Kelly isn't happy. However, the money is good, and her mother is worried that Ms. Zellman, who is her boss, will fire her if Kelly doesn't babysit. Once settled in for the night with Jacob, Kelly isn't a great babysitter. She texts her friends, lets Jacob eat candy as a bribe to get her phone back from him, and just wants him to go to sleep so she can watch her Korean soap opera on Netflix. She's been warned that Jacob has nightmares, but she doesn't realize the monsters are real. When one attacks Jacob and drags him off, Kelly calls his regular babysitter, Liz, who comes to the rescue with her other charge strapped in a front pack! With the help of Mama Vee, Kelly's former babysitter,the Grand Guignol, aka The Bogeyman, and all of his evil hench monsters are put in their places!

Good Points
Liz is a great character, and I love that she bills herself as a "professional babysitter". Kelly doesn't understand this at first, but she certainly does later! Her Babysitter's Guide is filled with lots of descriptions of different monsters so that she can identify them, as well as the best way to battle them. She also carries a back pack full of objects that are made to look normal but are really monster fighting equipment.

The babysitter's have to battle an amazing array of monsters, from Toadies and Shadow Monsters to the apparition Cat Lady. The Bogeyman is quite scary and evil, and Liz has a long history with him that motivates her to do away with him once and for all. Because the organization is organized and effective, it changes the way that Kelly feels about being a babysitter.

Readers who like Lorey's Nightmare Academy, Coville's The Monsters of Morley Manor, Lubar's Monsterriffic Tales or Stine's Goosebumps books will enjoy following Kelly's adventures in babysitting, and may pick up a few points in case they are babysitters themselves!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unearthed
From the New York Times best-selling author duo Amie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Boyfriend Agreement
Fake boyfriends are hard work. When 16-year-old Bella’s dream...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have little in common...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Believarexic
Asking for help is only the first step. ...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Graveyard Shakes
Katia and Victoria are sisters and scholarship students at a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last to Let Go
A twisted tragedy leaves Brooke and her siblings on their...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretty Dead Girls
Beautiful. Perfect. Dead. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By a Charm and a Curse
A kiss is never just a kiss. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Naondel (The Red Abbey Chronicles #2)
Booklist called Maresi “utterly satisfying and completely different from standard...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Water Paint
Her mother died when she was twelve, and suddenly Artemisia...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chausiku Nightmare of the Clans Book One
There are six secret clans across the world–Africa (Sakombi clan),...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roar of the Thunder Dragon: A Branches Book (Dragon Masters #8)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Graveyard Shakes
 
4.0
"All Victoria wants to do is fit in, but instead, her and her sister Katia are always being teased. It..."
The Traitor Prince
 
4.3
"An adventurous, accessible YA fantasy—with likely appeal for fans of An Ember In The Ashes. Based loosely on an..."
The Traitor Prince
 
5.0
"THE TRAITOR PRINCE is the latest installment in C.J. Redwine’s series of companion novels set in the Ravenspire world, each..."
Fireblood (Frostblood #2)
 
4.0
"This sequel picked up not to long after Frostblood left off, with Arcus on the throne and Ruby attempting to..."
The Last Namsara
 
4.0
"I was really excited to get my hands on this book. It was one of my most anticipated to come..."
The Queen's Rising
 
4.0
"It really didn’t take long for me to fall in love with this book. I really enjoyed the school scenes..."
Wedgie Gizmo #2: Wedgie Gizmo vs. the Toof
 
4.5
"Our friends are back after their exploits in Wedgie and Gizmo. Gizmo has settled in to life with his new..."
Olga and the Smelly Thing From Nowhere
 
4.0
"Olga loves animals of all kings, so when she finds one that looks like a cross between a potato and..."
Olga: We're Out of Here
 
4.0
" Olga and Meh are back after their exploits in Olga and the Smelly Thing From Nowhere. Olga..."
Eclipse (Twilight #3)
 
5.0
"[url=http://www.moncleruk.us.com][b]Moncler UK[/b][/url] [url=http://www.monclercoat.name][b]Moncler Coat[/b][/url] [url=http://www.monclerjackets2018.com][b]Moncler Jackets[/b][/url] [url=http://www.monclersale.us.com][b]Moncler Sale[/b][/url] [url=http://www.moncleroutlet2018.com][b]Moncler Outlet[/b][/url] [url=http://www.pjsparajumpersonlineshop.com][b]Parajumpers Online Shop[/b][/url] [url=http://www.parajumpersoutlet.name][b]Parajumpers Outlet[/b][/url] [url=http://www.parajumpersjacket.us.com][b]Parajumpers Jacket[/b][/url] [url=http://www.pjsparajumperssale.net][b]Parajumpers Sale[/b][/url] [url=http://www.parajumperscoats.net][b]Parajumpers..."
The King of Bones and Ashes (Witches of New Orleans #1)
 
3.3
"THE KING OF BONES AND ASHES is a story set around three witches living in New Orleans, as magic fades..."
The Queen's Rising
 
N/A
"In the kingdom of Maevana, a king sits on the throne when it should be a queen and it can't..."
Unraveling (Book #2 Unblemished Trilogy)
 
4.3
"This book definitely raised the bar on this series for me. I loved (and by loved I mean was shocked..."
Unblemished
 
4.0
"Keeping up with some of the special abilities was a bit tough. but an overall small shortcoming for a very..."
The Belles
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one of those books that totally lives up to the hype. Rich, lush descriptions woven throughout..."
Moonburner
 
4.7
" "The moon cannot enslave the sun, nor make the day its mistress." I absolutely loved this dark yet..."
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
 
3.0
"In this "Grow and Read" level two early reader book, the characters from Nocturnals World meet each other. Bismark is..."
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
 
3.0
"Dawn, a fox; Tobin, a pangolin; and Bismark, an energetic sugar glider are all friends who have adventures. When there..."
First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)
 
4.0
"This is a very good series introduction. From the critical side, my first impression was that Rachel Carter broke..."
The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline
 
5.0
"Zoe, the daughter of the three, isn’t just another descendant–she’s the key to humanity’s salvation. In this first installment of..."