Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Watch out for the plesiosaurs!

There are not enough middle grade books involving dinosaurs, so this is a great addition to the list of dystopian adventure novels. Since Sky was raised in an underground compound and Todd was raised topside, we get to see a range of reactions to the conditions that they see in the East Complex. I love all the details about the computers, electricity, and even the uniforms that the inhabitants wear. The details of the Lincoln Lab, with its setting in the middle of the lake and it's security detail of plesiosaurs was fascinating as well.

Sky's continued attempts to find her father or people who knew him are endearing and wistful, and the help she receives from her grandfather is nice to see. Chaz is a fun addition to the group, and sensitive fans of Shawn should not be overly worried about his disappearance.

Any aficionados of dystopia will want to add this series to their to-read list, and readers who enjoy rich, futuristic world building found inbooks like Perry's The Scavengers, DiTerlizzi's The Search for Wondla or Blakemore's The Firefly Code will enjoy their brief but exciting sojourn in the Lincoln Lab, East Complex and the new East Settlement.

Good Points
Armed with a map and note from her father that she obtained in The Ark Plan, Sky sets off to find Lake Michigan with her friends Todd and Shawn. Unfortunately, they run into scientists from a secret compound in the middle of the lake and are taken captive. Thanks to a young intern, Chaz, Schwartz and Boznic, scientists at the Lincoln Lab, listen to their story, and it turns out that they worked with Sky's father. The lab is trying to recreate some of the dinosaurs that were not previously recreated before the pandemic in order to balance out the population and try to restore some semblance of order to the outside world so that humans might be able to live topside again. Unfortunately, the flash drive of her father's that Sky has found outlines the Noah's ideas to wipe out ALL of the dinosaurs! Not long after finding this out, the lab is attacked by the Noah's marines, and Sky and Todd barely escape with Chaz. Shawn, however, does not make it out. Ivan meets the children outside of the lab, and they all manage to hide away on the Noah's helicopter and make it, undiscovered, to the East Complex in New York City. There, they have to find a way to upset the Noah's plans before all of the work at the Lincoln Lab is negated and the world as they know it crumbles.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Finding-Elora.jpg
High school’s a whole new ballgame. Elora used...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Deadly Exodus
Their love is forbidden…their lives in danger… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front Cover
Join Clementine on a Winter Adventure in the Great Outdoors!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Front cover
Growing up as a biracial child, Maggy Williams had three...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
hanna_final.jpg
Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51MO7YjcihL.jpg
Twins Finn and Eric’s peaceful lives are turned upside down...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Super Rabbit Racers!: A Branches Book (Press Start! #3)
This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
4.7
"One of the most stunningly written and understated books I have read these holidays, Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
4.0
"Literary fiction for the young adult audience is something of a rare beast. It can be found, as evidenced in..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
3.0
"Oh, that awkward moment where you read a book that's come highly recommended to you from just about everyone you..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
2.0
"s it possible not to like a book perfectly written? This book is superbly written. The prose just flows and..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
2.7
JenJen
"OK, so, this wasn't a bad book, just not the one for me. (It opens with a sex scene which..."
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone
 
3.3
"I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading Amelia Anne Is Dead and Gone, but I can honestly..."