Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Goofy historical romp

After the adventures in Benjamin Franklin: A Huge Pain in My A**, Ike is worried about a letter he has gotten from his famous friend from the past... it says "Help!" Of course, now that mail can travel back in time with old postage stamps, Ike has his (now) girlfriend Claire send him back to Franklin. He ends up near the mailbox on Franklin's porch, but the house has been burned down. Immediately noticing that his clothing will make him suspicious, Ike gets himself outfitted with suitable garments and goes in search of Franklin to find out what is wrong. He finds his friend without money, so the two set up a snake oil business to fleece local coal miners out of their money to "cure" their black lung. Once they have a bit of cash, they manage to book passage to France, since Franklin's need for help stems from the increasing problems with the British. On the boat, the two meet Jefferson and Adams, and head off for an audience with Marie Antoinette and Louis XVI. Because they'd spent most of the trip inland eating oysters and drinking champagne, they all become violently ill right when they have the audience, and it's up to Ike to save the day. Will his impassioned speech be enough to get the colonists help and save his time from being wildly different?

Good Points

This is a goofy take on history that will be popular with fans of Kinney's Wimpy Kid and other irreverent middle grade books which celebrate potty humor and unlikely heroes. Ike is interested to travel back in time but doesn't have too much of a concept of what language and manners he should embrace, so he frequently angers people he meets. He refers to Franklin as B-Freezy, for example, and almost blows the audience with Antoinette before settling down and trying to fit in.

One of the best parts about this is Claire's letters from the "future"; she informs him that things are not going well, but also keeps an eye on any historical anomaly's that crop up. Once Ike returns, there are a few things that are different, which is a bit of an unusual turn for a time travel book.

Fans of Potter's The Left Behinds and Limbaugh's Rush Revere books will want to pick up these two books. For more accurate historical content, they can investigate Gutman's Flashback Four or Qwerty Stevens time travel books.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Eden Conquered
The electrifying conclusion to the Dividing Eden series by the...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restore Me (Shatter Me #4)
Juliette Ferrars thought she'd won. She took over Sector 45,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dark_Flowers_C_Brooke_FC_01.jpg
DARK FLOWERS is the multi award-winning novel by Caytlyn Brooke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans
Get ready for round-the-world adventure with Sam Spinner and her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom, Mellie....
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Brightly Burning
Stella Ainsley leaves poverty behind when she quits her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Pain Less Ordinary
Becca's life is anything but ordinary. At fifteen, she's...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All
The tragic lives of Henry VIII and his six...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Junction 2020 Book 1: The Portal
New Year's Eve, 2019. Mari Stratton attends a New...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Summer Constellations
Julia Ducharme is ready for a fresh start. Her...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race
Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson, and Christine Darden were...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Shaking Things Up: 14 Young Women Who Changed the World
"Well-behaved women seldom make history." —Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, Pulitzer Prize-winning...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Begin a fantastic journey with our hero, the Warrior from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fairy Mom and Me
From the bestselling author of the Shopaholic series and the...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Picture Us in the Light
Danny Cheng has always known his parents have secrets. But...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

It's Kind of a Funny Story
 
3.5
"A mature contemporary YA, set in New York City. The story is told in first-person present-tense, exclusively from the perspective..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
4.5
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a short illustrated novel by renowned genius Neil Gaiman that spins a clever twist..."
 
5.0
"Johnny loves his job as a teen stuntman, even if it means filling in for Ricky Corvette and not being..."
The Clique (The Clique #1)
 
4.0
"This is the most realistic book about girls in middle school I have ever read. it gets how girls..."
Confessions of an Imaginary Friend
 
4.5
"Confessions of an Imaginary Friend is humorous and delightful. I laughed my way through this book, and it’s no surprise..."
The Sleeper and the Spindle
 
5.0
"The Sleeper and the Spindle is a picture book that is as illuminating as it is dark. Spinning the fairytales..."
The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1)
 
3.0
"After a long day I wanted to read but I wanted something light, and entertaining. I opted for a kid’s..."
The Graveyard Book
 
4.0
"One can't possibly claim the title of this book isn't fitting...or exceedingly literal. >.> The story does indeed revolve around..."
Because of Winn-Dixie
 
4.0
" “Because of Winn Dixie” is written by Kate DiCamillo..."
Bliss
 
4.0
" This book is recommended to 12+ and in my opinion you will enjoy it for all the readers out..."
 
N/A
"This book is about a boy named Widge, and he is an orphan, and he has a good personally. I..."
 
4.0
"I found it vaguely reminiscent of 'My Side of the Mountain', from a distinctly female perspective, and facing a harsher..."
 
4.0
" I have to credit my early love of this book for a phase of reclusive nature-loving, and much..."
The Forbidden Library
 
4.0
"My heart has always held a special place for book. They take you to far off places away from every..."
 
3.0
"I really enjoyed this book for what it was. It kept me up till late, I finished it in one..."
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed the book No Talking by Andrew Clements. I think we all could learn an important lesson from..."
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
 
5.0
"I read this book when I was in high school (who didn't right??) It's still a classic and probably one..."
 
3.0
"This was an okay. I thought it was going to be more to it. I didn't think it was that..."
Bliss
 
4.0
"What I Liked: The bakery setting is a lot of fun. Who isn’t happy picturing a whole bunch of delicious..."
When You Reach Me
 
5.0
"In New York City in the late 1970s, twelve-year-old Miranda lives with her vibrant but sometimes childish and frustrated mother..."