Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Funny Coming-of-Age Book

Julia Marks is an eleven-year-old girl starting her summer vacation without Ramon, the family dog who died unexpectedly of an apparent heart attack. Julia’s two best friends, Kaylee and Piper, both have plans that will take them out of town for the summer, and Julia has decided that her own plans will include figuring out how to be okay with her small stature (she refuses to use the word “short”) and how to be happy without Ramon. She’s also responsible for her younger brother, Randy, and when Mrs. Marks decides that both Julia and Randy will audition for the local university’s summer production of The Wizard of Oz. Julia is reluctant, but she’s also obedient and she goes to the audition—and that’s where she finds a second home.

The Wizard of Oz is a semi-professional effort that blends the talents of local kids, university students, and professional actors, and Julia is cast as both a munchkin and a winged monkey. She bonds with her fellow actors and finds a friend in Olive—an adult with dwarfism who is the same size as Julia and someone Julia decides will be a great role model.

Julia’s theater experience is typical of that of a lot of kids who get involved in productions—it’s life-changing and it teaches her a lot more than a script and some songs. She learns how to observe others and notice little things happening around her, and she learns a whole lot about herself. Julia’s voice is fantastic. She’s hilarious and authentic—and definitely precocious. Although she’s more introspective and self aware than most eleven-year-olds, that makes the book all the more enjoyable.

It took me a little while to get into the rhythm of SHORT, but once I did, I couldn’t put the book down. Julia Marks is a great character, and her observations help bring the secondary characters to life.

SHORT is a book that would be fun to share in a classroom setting. I’m curious to hear what kids in the book’s target audience have to say about it, and I really want to know what they think of Julia. Any kid who has been involved in theater will identify with Julia’s emotions surrounding the show, and adult readers in particular will enjoy the book’s humor

My thanks to the publisher and YA Books Central for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

Good Points
A protagonist with a great voice

An introduction to the fun of involvement in theater
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Revenge of the Witch (The Last Apprentice #1)
 
4.0
"A mature middle-grade fantasy—sporting a medieval feel and steeped in an eerie English folklore ambiance which, at times, drifts over..."
Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)
 
5.0
"Blue Lily, Lily Blue was another great addition to The Raven Cycle! It was an amazing novel filled with fantasy,..."
Bad Girl Gone
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Echo Stone wakes up and finds herself in a dark house with other kids. Middle House is the home..."
Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)
 
5.0
"I love this book, I even think it’s my favorite Shadowhunter book of them all! (Which is really saying a..."
Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2)
 
5.0
"This book was amazing! So amazing! And so heart-breaking. I’m a mess, I need the third book NOW! The..."
Shadowhouse Fall The Shadowshaper Cypher series (Book 2)
 
4.3
"I'm a huge fan of diverse novels, especially ones that are set in the paranormal world. I was beyond excited..."
Loved (House of Night Other World series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"Zoe and the Nerd Herd from the House of Night Series have returned for another adventure in LOVED. All of..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Omega (Omega #1)
 
4.0
" Omega is an addictive, engaging adventure that effortlessly combines fantasy, greek mythology, and dystopia. Not only does our MC..."
Eerie
 
3.3
"if you look through my books here in goodreads, the paranormal genre does not belong here. but this book drew..."
Eerie
 
5.0
"Book 2 promises to just as good 8D with several new surprises ;)"
The Sacrifice of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl #3)
 
4.3
" As the last book in the Haunting of Sunshine Girl trilogy, The Sacrifice of..."
The Awakening of Sunshine Girl (The Haunting of Sunshine Girl #2)
 
4.3
" The Awakening of Sunshine girl is the thrilling sequel to The Haunting of Sunshine..."
The Haunting of Sunshine Girl
 
3.7
" The Haunting of Sunshine Girl is an intriguing novel capturing ghosts and the other world in a perfectly..."
Eerie
 
5.0
"This book captured me from the very start! I fell in love with all of the characters...I fell in love..."
Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3)
 
5.0
"I have spent a week trying to put together a coherent review for this book and I've still got nothing...."
Lost in Starlight
 
5.0
"Must-Read YA Series! "A dash of intrigue, a dollop of deceit, and a delicate love story makes Lost in Starlight..."
The Faerie War (Creepy Hollow Book 3)
 
5.0
"In THE FAERIE WAR, Violet wakes up with the reptiscilla and can’t remember a thing. When she drank the Forget..."
The Faerie Prince (Creepy Hollow Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE FAERIE PRINCE starts off exactly where I wanted: with Violet waiting for Nate. After her heart was broken in..."