Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
(Updated: April 09, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Hero Gone Bad

Nothing is quite as enjoyable as reading about one of the most interesting, complex, and iconic villains of our time. The story of Darth Vader is a complicated, and somewhat tragic one and Scholastic did a fantastic job telling it.

“Anakin Skywalker is dead. But Darth Vader is alive.”

Like many know, or do not know, Darth Vader’s real name was once Anakin Skywalker. Anakin, was once simply a young boy with hopes of escaping a life of slavery that he had been born into. He was curious and thoughtful, always looking to help others despite not being able to help himself. Most would never have guessed what he would later become.

The journey that Anakin goes on that eventually leads him to becoming Darth Vader, is a long one. He had many great moments, filled with friendship and love, but he also had a rage inside him that was uncontrollable. In this book, you will find all of the most iconic moments in Anakin Skywalker’s life, as well as the moments that helped created one of the greatest villains of all-time.

Final thoughts?

This was really a well-written story on the life of Anakin / Darth Vader. It touched on all the most memorable moments of Anakin’s life: from his early days as a pod racer, to meeting his future wife, Padme, and to the surprising ending of his story. It is a great edition to all the collection of these background stories that Scholastic has come out with, and it truly is suitable for all ages!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."