Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Chevelles in Space!

In 2085, Benny lives in the Drylands. His father didn't come back from a scouting mission, so he lives in a caravan with his grandmother and two younger brothers. When he is picked for the elite academy at the swank Lunar Taj, he knows that the way to better the circumstances for his family is to go. Once there, he meets the other students, including the obnoxious Drue, the daredevil Hot Dog, and the techie Jasmine. When Hot Dog goes out in a Space Runner and crashes, Benny and Drue go out looking for her. Theyfind her, but uncover a mystery as well. Could it be that Elijah West has brought the 100 children to the moon for other reasons?

Good Points

Benny is a great character who is trying hard to fit into a new environment. Life in the Drylands is hard, so he appreciates all of the amenities of the Lunar Taj in a way that Drue does not. Drue is a spoiled brat, but not beyond redemption. Hot Dog throws caution to the wind, but can back up her actions with excellent skills-- and she's described as a pretty blond. I loved that Jasmine was the tech guru instead of some stereotypical geeky boy!

The Lunar Taj is a solidly described setting. Will technology progress that far by 2085? Children who read this book today could conceivably live long enough to find out! I'm not entirely sold that a Chevelle could be retrofitted and made space worthy, but it's a fun concept. This bore a small resemblance to Reilly's 2007 Crash Course, but has a lot more going for it.

Kraatz's The Cloak Society also offered tweens saving the world; as much as this concept gives me pause, middle school students love the idea. Pair this first book in the Space Runners series with Fry's Jupiter Pirates, McDougall's Mars Evacuees, and Kloepfer's Galaxy's Most Wanted for readers who like Star Wars, Star Trek, and traditional space adventure rather than dystopian worlds.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

  

  

   

   

  

   

   

   

    

   

   

Latest Book Listings Added

16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart, sexy,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Earth to Skye
Buy direct from the publisher ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hubert in Heaven: A hi-tech angel gets his wings
A hologram in a video game, Hubert is accidentally transported...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blacksouls
Nicole Castroman brings the dangerous pirate ports of the Caribbean...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Other Breakable Things
According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Takedown
Kyla Cheng doesn't expect you to like her. For the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
rsz_rsz_atskcoverfinal.jpg
"This is a lovely romance, which unleashes butterflies in the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leaving Dreamland
GT is an intelligent, handsome and talented athlete in Page,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Dream of Fire
In a not-so-distant future, Dreams really do come true… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Happily Ever After  (Cinder & Ella #2)
“Like it or not, Brian, the moment you gave that...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cover Image
Azrael's a wingless angel, and if that wasn't bad enough,...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Revengers
How far would you go to make things right? Ama,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lost in Starlight
High school is tough. Romance with a sexy outsider? Even...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheShip.jpg
London is burning and Lalla has one hope for survival,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In the desolate remains of a post-apocalyptic earth, two territories...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)