Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Chevelles in Space!

In 2085, Benny lives in the Drylands. His father didn't come back from a scouting mission, so he lives in a caravan with his grandmother and two younger brothers. When he is picked for the elite academy at the swank Lunar Taj, he knows that the way to better the circumstances for his family is to go. Once there, he meets the other students, including the obnoxious Drue, the daredevil Hot Dog, and the techie Jasmine. When Hot Dog goes out in a Space Runner and crashes, Benny and Drue go out looking for her. Theyfind her, but uncover a mystery as well. Could it be that Elijah West has brought the 100 children to the moon for other reasons?

Good Points

Benny is a great character who is trying hard to fit into a new environment. Life in the Drylands is hard, so he appreciates all of the amenities of the Lunar Taj in a way that Drue does not. Drue is a spoiled brat, but not beyond redemption. Hot Dog throws caution to the wind, but can back up her actions with excellent skills-- and she's described as a pretty blond. I loved that Jasmine was the tech guru instead of some stereotypical geeky boy!

The Lunar Taj is a solidly described setting. Will technology progress that far by 2085? Children who read this book today could conceivably live long enough to find out! I'm not entirely sold that a Chevelle could be retrofitted and made space worthy, but it's a fun concept. This bore a small resemblance to Reilly's 2007 Crash Course, but has a lot more going for it.

Kraatz's The Cloak Society also offered tweens saving the world; as much as this concept gives me pause, middle school students love the idea. Pair this first book in the Space Runners series with Fry's Jupiter Pirates, McDougall's Mars Evacuees, and Kloepfer's Galaxy's Most Wanted for readers who like Star Wars, Star Trek, and traditional space adventure rather than dystopian worlds.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Come Home, Angus
Angus woke up mad and knew today was not his...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rulers of the Playground
A stunning picture book about sharing, friendship, and kindness in...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
June Sparrow and the Million Dollar Penny
June Sparrow and her best friend—a miniature pig named Indigo...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Story Sparks:  Finding Your Best Story Ideas & Turning Them into Compelling Fiction
Find rock-solid story ideas before you start writing ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl in the Tower
A remarkable young woman blazes her own trail, from the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Coming Up For Air
Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Landscape with Invisible Hand
National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson returns to future...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
26091228.jpg
Follow-up to the New York Times bestselling novel, Forget Tomorrow!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
It was the perfect night for a party. That is,...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding
Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his old...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fireblood
Against all odds, Ruby has defeated the villainous Frost...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing
From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome Home
Welcome Home collects a number of adoption-themed fictional short...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Even the Darkest Stars
The first in a sweeping and action-packed debut fantasy...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2)
In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Many Worlds of Albie Bright
Stephen Albie Bright leads a happy, normal life. Well, as...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Truthers
 
3.3
"So, I've said before that for some reason I love conspiracy theories. Do I believe any of them? No. I..."
Princess Breeze
 
4.3
"This is the second book in a very adorable, fun series. This story starts with Breeze Brannigan's end of the..."
A Short History of the Girl Next Door
 
5.0
"I HAVE NEVER CRIED SO HARD READING A BOOK. Or laughed. Or laughed AND cried at the same time. I..."
The Hate U Give
 
5.0
"I am honestly floored by The Hate U Give. Everything about this novel touched me in irrevocable ways and I..."
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
 
4.7
"I was excited to be asked to read and review I AM NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER. I love stories..."
Expelled
 
4.3
"EXPELLED is the brainchild of James Patterson and Emily Raymond, in which four teenagers, some guilty, some not, are kicked..."
The Date to Save
 
3.0
"Here's a thing you immediately need to know about THE DATE TO SAVE: it's an oral documentary. It read's like..."
Our Broken Pieces
 
3.7
"As Everly learns the hard way, high school relationships don't always survive high school. When she catches her boyfriend cheating..."
The Hate U Give
 
5.0
" A new favorite! This book is intense. I think it should be required reading in all high schools...."
Chasing Eveline
 
4.7
"Ivy is desperate to connect with the mother who abandoned Ivy and her dad. The closest connection she has to..."
They Both Die at the End
 
5.0
"Adam Silvera makes me cry. Holy crap. I hardly ever cry when reading, but I’ve cried twice this..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.3
"August 15-18 is the anniversary of Woodstock music festival! and i relived that time by reading this book! i make..."
Eight Days on Planet Earth
 
3.3
""I want to believe." Agent Scully's take from the X files is shown here when a mysterious girl shows up..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I..."
David Inside Out
 
5.0
"David Inside Out is a novel about a teenager (David) who is discovering he is gay. In David's high school,..."
Everything, Everything
 
3.0
"This story is told in first-person present-tense entirely from the POV of Madeline, who is turning eighteen in the first..."
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Someone Else's Summer was an amazing and emotional novel. It had a well written plot and captivating..."
The Inconceivable Life of Quinn
 
4.0
"THE INCONCEIVABLE LIFE OF QUINN has to be the most interesting and original story I've read all year. It follows..."
The Secret History Of Us
 
4.0
"The story kicks of with Liv waking up in the hospital while people around her are walkin on egg shells...."
Lucky in Love
 
4.3
"Maddie, our main character in Kasie West’s “Lucky in Love”, is logical, hard-working, and a mega planner. She has..."