Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Summer adventures in Florida

Arturo lives in a very close knit community-- his family owns an apartment building, and his family, his grandmother, and most of his aunts and uncles live there. This summer, even a friend of his mother's is staying at the complex with his daughter, Carmen, to regroup after the death of Carmen's mother. Arturo is oddly drawn to her, but reminds himself that she is practically his cousin! There's a lot going on in his abuela's restaurant, La Cocina de la Isla, where his mother is the head chef. Not onlky does Arturo have a job as a junior dishwasher, but the family is trying to expand the place in order to do more business. The only problem? The slick Wilfrido Pipo comes to Canal Grove and wants to put up Pipo Place. This new apartment building will have it all, and Wilfrido is trying to get community buy in by having lots of parties and promising to increase business to the area. The problem? His plan involves tearing down abuela's restaurant! The family goes all out to save it, but will it be enough to appeal to Canal Grove's sense of family? And will Arturo be able to talk to Carmen without too many "epic fails"?

Good Points

Weaving in some Spanish vocabulary, this warm tale of family, food and friends is a delightful change from the standard tales of gloom and doom coming out for middle grade readers. I loved that the Zamoras were able to work together without too much family drama, and that their community valued their contributions. While there were some sad things (the death of Carmen's mother before the book opens, and another death during it), they were handled with resilience and pragmatism. No one becomes inconsolable and unable to function, which I thought was much more realistic. There is even a scene where Arturo's mother asks him to help with the funeral dinner-- she cries over her loss but is able to go on, even using the cooking to bond with Arturo and help him through the situation, instead of being unable to care for him. We need to see more of these coping skills in middle grade literature!

There is an interesting sub plot involving Arturo's growing interest in poetry which ties into his discovery of Carmen as a girl instead of a "cousin" that will intrigue readers, and perhaps get them to investigate the work of Jose Marti. This was another instance of bringing a more hopeful tone to the story-- Arturo's grandfather was fond of Marti's work, and Arturo gets to know more about his deceased grandfather through reading journals he had kept when he moved to the US.

While the family's Cuban heritage is vividly portrayed, it is integral to the story instead of being the main focus. Family, and the family business, figures largely, and Arturo's teenage concerns are paramount. Will he be taken seriously as a dishwasher? Can he care for his abuela? What will happen to his family if the restaurant goes under? Does Carment like him? Readers will identify with these concerns while having a window into what it would be like to live in a close knit Florida community.

Fans of Johnson's The Great Green Heist, Grabenstein's Wonderland Motel series, and Paul Acampora's books about the adventures of middle grade boys will gobble up The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora... and probably get hungry for churros while reading this humorous and insightful tale.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

20316920_1595609687178811_492401856_o.jpg
This is the true story of a young family of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Stealing Liberty
When Reed Paine is sent to a secret detention school...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monster (Gone #7)
It’s been four years since a meteor hit Perdido Beach...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sink or Swim: A Novel of World War II
It's been a month since the bombing of Pearl Harbor....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The White Tower
When Livy's accepted at Temple College, an exclusive school for...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Abby in Wonderland (Whatever After Special Edition)
Down the rabbit hole . . . ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rapunzel, the One With all the Hair (Twice Upon a Time #1)
There are two sides to every story -- even fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genuine Fraud
The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian meets...
 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
This Darkness Mine
Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin
Justyce McAllister is top of his class and set...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Dragons (Rebel Vampires Volume 1)
A young rebel vampire, a red-haired devil, and a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Enchantment of Ravens
Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
Being a member of the Elite Hunter Command imperils Joy...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bad Girl Gone
A recently deceased girl must solve her own murder in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"The Hanging Girl was a quick, suspenseful read. Author Eileen Cook has a great writing style. The story picked up..."
The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"Skye Thorn is a fake. Her so-called psychic abilities are all a scam. Then she gets involved in the biggest..."
Sanctuary Bay
 
5.0
"Sanctuary Bay was a title I was really excited to read and I admit that I hate that I pushed..."
The Killer In Me
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old Nina Barrows hates to sleep. Whenever she does, she sees through the eyes of a serial killer that..."
How to Disappear
 
3.7
" How to Disappear is an intriguing, adventurous tale about a girl running for..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"How to Disappear is about a girl on the run and the boy she meets along the way…the boy who..."
Complicit
 
N/A
" Complicit is one of those dark tales that grabs you and forces you to turn the page even though..."
Sanctuary Bay
 
3.0
"Sarah Merson is used to a world of Goodwill and foster homes, and the new, prestigious school she’s been accepted..."
The Dogs
 
5.0
"Sometimes secrets are harmless, sometimes they are fun, but other times, secrets can be dangerous. The Dogs is..."
Ruthless
 
4.7
"Ruth Carver's nickname is 'Ruthless' as she takes charge and goes after what she wants. She's ambitious and tough...."
The Bunker Diary
 
4.7
"After reading iBoy I have found myself truly addicted to Kevin Brooks' writing style. It is real and raw...."
Complicit
 
4.7
"I’m not sure the right words even exist to describe this, but I’ll try. It’s dark, twisted and strange. On..."
Black Ice
 
4.0
" Honestly, at first, I wasn't planning to read Black Ice, but when I got a copy..."
Complicit
 
4.7
"COMPLICIT is an amazing book. It's the story of Jamie and his sister, Crazy Cate. Cate may be the craziest..."
Black Ice
 
4.0
JenJen
"What I liked: the cover, the action, suspense and pacing. I never got bored, and with all of the survival..."