Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

The Backstory of Bamarre

Lady Peregrine is a Lakti, and her mother has taught her that the Bamarre are far inferior to her people in many ways, even though her loyal servant, Annet, is Bamarre. Soon, however, Perry learns secrets from the fairy Halina that make her doubt her entire existence. Still, she accompanies her father on a mission to her father's military headquarters, armed with several magical implements that her mother has given her. Among them are seven league boots, as well as a pendant that could keep her safe during fighting against the Kyngoll's her father is facing. Unfortunately, she needs these devices when she is captured, but her fate is not what she suspected. She ends up in a situation where she learns that her deep seated prejudices are unfounded, that her family is not comprised of the people she has known and loved for years, and that the fate of the Bamarre may rest with her.

Good Points

There are a lot of twists and turns in this story, and I don't want to give away anything in this prequel to The Two Princesses of Bamarre (2001). Even though it's been a long time since I read that one, I was quickly drawn back into that world. It was good to see the magical keepsakes again, and to discover the origin story of one of the important characters discussed in the first book.

Perry is an intriguing character who must deal with a lot of conflicting ideas about her identity and her family. She meets these challenges in a realistic way-- she is reluctant to embrace them at first, but slowly comes around to her new reality and is able to champion a new cause. She also encounters magic for the first time, and finds it surprising. She also has a tentative romance, which is never a bad thing in an adventurous fantasy.

The Two Princesses of Bamarre was one of my daughter's favorite books in middle school, and I know that she is very excited to see this new journey into that world. Readers who loved Wrede's Enchanted Forest or Pierce's Tortall, as well as the princess tales of Baker, Green and Zahle, will definitely want to step out with Perry... in her seven league boots!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The 11:11 Wish
Megan Meyers has a foolproof plan to reinvent herself at...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Silver Mask
A generation ago, Constantine Madden came close to achieving what...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Exile
Rosi must decide what she’s willing to risk to save...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unearthed
From the New York Times best-selling author duo Amie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Boyfriend Agreement
Fake boyfriends are hard work. When 16-year-old Bella’s dream...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone
Eighteen-year-old twins Adina and Tovah have little in common...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Believarexic
Asking for help is only the first step. ...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Graveyard Shakes
Katia and Victoria are sisters and scholarship students at a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Star Renegades
In the tradition of Star Wars, a galaxy-hopping space adventure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers how...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last to Let Go
A twisted tragedy leaves Brooke and her siblings on their...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pretty Dead Girls
Beautiful. Perfect. Dead. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
By a Charm and a Curse
A kiss is never just a kiss. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Silver Mask
 
5.0
"With Aaron gone, Call has trouble getting his feet back on the ground. He's torn up because he feels responsible..."
Graveyard Shakes
 
4.0
"All Victoria wants to do is fit in, but instead, her and her sister Katia are always being teased. It..."
InterWorld (InterWorld #1)
 
3.5
"A solid sci-fi/urban fantasy adventure premise, ideally targeting the mid-to-upper Middle Grade demographic. It’s a quick read—overall fun and fast-paced...."
Roar of the Thunder Dragon: A Branches Book (Dragon Masters #8)
 
5.0
"Carlos's dragon Lalo has been take by Eko, a Dragon Master who uses her powers for causing trouble. When King..."
In The Snow
 
5.0
"IN THE SNOW features a little girl and her dog doing typical snow activities like drawing pictures with a stick,..."
The Midnight Gang
 
4.0
"When Tom gets hit in the head with a ball, he earns himself a bed in Lord Funt Hospital. What..."
Mae Among the Stars
 
5.0
"A beautiful story with a beautiful message. Mae is a young girl with a big dream. She wants..."
Rabbit Moon
 
4.0
"A very cute bedtime story. Rabbit lives on the moon. Each night, children make wishes and they travel to..."
Tiny and the Big Dig
 
4.0
"An adorable little dog with a huge drive. Tiny smells a bone. He's sure it's there, somewhere beneath his..."
Princess Truly in My Magical, Sparkling Curls
 
5.0
"There is not one thing to dislike about this book. Princess Truly has magical sparkling curls and that..."
Three Little Monkeys
 
4.0
"A great looking story. Three little monkeys are left alone when the lady of the house leaves each day...."
Thank you Earth
 
5.0
"A beautiful and well-done love letter to our planet. Gosh, what can I say about this one? I loved..."
Pignic
 
4.0
"A cute adventure with a family of pigs. As you can guess by the title, the pigs decide..."
Grace For Gus
 
4.0
"A cute adventure through New York City. Grace is a spunky girl with many hidden talents. Gus is the..."
Marlo and the Dinosaurs
 
4.0
"A gorgeous seek and find. The images are the true star of this book. Marlo falls asleep and goes..."
Molly's Story
 
5.0
"Molly is panting, her tail wagging happily as she retrieves the long stick that CJ had thrown for her. Molly..."
Two's a Crowd (Pug Pals #1)
 
5.0
"Sunny is an older pug who has a comfortable life with her human and her stuffed animals. When Rosy, a..."
Dangerous Jane
 
4.0
"Following Jane Addams life from her well-to-do but uncomfortable childhood, we see that she was interested in helping the underprivileged..."
Silent Days, Silent Dreams
 
4.0
"Artist James Castle was born with many problems right before the turn of the last century. Raised on a farm,..."
Midnight in the Piazza
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Beatrice Archer isn't too excited when her professor father is offered a job far away from Boston. When she..."