Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Simple Mystery for Emergent Readers

King loves his human girl, Kayla, especially when she makes him peanut butter dog treats, his FAVORITE food! He sits patiently and asks to lick the bowl nicely, but Kayla informs him that raw dough is not good for dogs. The two meet Jillian, Kayla's good friend, and hew brand new puppy, Thor. Thor is full of energy, but King patiently lets the puppy chew on his ears. When it is time for sampling the delicious treats, some are missing, and King gets blamed. Kayla points out that King's breath does not smell like peanut butter. Other possible culprits are investigated, and eventually Jillian and Kayla figure out who took the baked goods.

Good Points

This is told from King's perspective, and young readers will be amused that King is trying so hard to communicate with Kayla, but she just always thinks his barking means he needs to go outside! King tries very hard to help Kayla with her investigation, since he knows the true culprit long before she does, and there is a gentle humor in this.

The illustrations are simple, bright, and charming. There's plenty of white space on the page for readers who are just starting to navigate text on their own. The reading level is similar to the I Can Read book series, and the story is broken down into three chapters.

It's great to see books with diverse characters, and King is a very appealing dog, with his love of all things food and his devotion to Kayla. His enthusiasm is spot on-- I'm pretty sure if my dog should talk, she would sound just like King.

This is a great choice for emerging readers who like McDonald's Judy Moody and Friends books, Clarke's Dr. KittyCat, and Birney's Humphrey the Hamster.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

20316920_1595609687178811_492401856_o.jpg
This is the true story of a young family of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Stealing Liberty
When Reed Paine is sent to a secret detention school...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Monster (Gone #7)
It’s been four years since a meteor hit Perdido Beach...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sink or Swim: A Novel of World War II
It's been a month since the bombing of Pearl Harbor....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The White Tower
When Livy's accepted at Temple College, an exclusive school for...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Abby in Wonderland (Whatever After Special Edition)
Down the rabbit hole . . . ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rapunzel, the One With all the Hair (Twice Upon a Time #1)
There are two sides to every story -- even fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genuine Fraud
The story of a young woman whose diabolical smarts are...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian meets...
 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
This Darkness Mine
Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin
Justyce McAllister is top of his class and set...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Dragons (Rebel Vampires Volume 1)
A young rebel vampire, a red-haired devil, and a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Enchantment of Ravens
Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
Being a member of the Elite Hunter Command imperils Joy...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bad Girl Gone
A recently deceased girl must solve her own murder in...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"The Hanging Girl was a quick, suspenseful read. Author Eileen Cook has a great writing style. The story picked up..."
The Hanging Girl
 
4.0
"Skye Thorn is a fake. Her so-called psychic abilities are all a scam. Then she gets involved in the biggest..."
Sanctuary Bay
 
5.0
"Sanctuary Bay was a title I was really excited to read and I admit that I hate that I pushed..."
The Killer In Me
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old Nina Barrows hates to sleep. Whenever she does, she sees through the eyes of a serial killer that..."
How to Disappear
 
3.7
" How to Disappear is an intriguing, adventurous tale about a girl running for..."
How to Disappear
 
5.0
"How to Disappear is about a girl on the run and the boy she meets along the way…the boy who..."
Complicit
 
N/A
" Complicit is one of those dark tales that grabs you and forces you to turn the page even though..."
Sanctuary Bay
 
3.0
"Sarah Merson is used to a world of Goodwill and foster homes, and the new, prestigious school she’s been accepted..."
The Dogs
 
5.0
"Sometimes secrets are harmless, sometimes they are fun, but other times, secrets can be dangerous. The Dogs is..."
Ruthless
 
4.7
"Ruth Carver's nickname is 'Ruthless' as she takes charge and goes after what she wants. She's ambitious and tough...."
The Bunker Diary
 
4.7
"After reading iBoy I have found myself truly addicted to Kevin Brooks' writing style. It is real and raw...."
Complicit
 
4.7
"I’m not sure the right words even exist to describe this, but I’ll try. It’s dark, twisted and strange. On..."
Black Ice
 
4.0
" Honestly, at first, I wasn't planning to read Black Ice, but when I got a copy..."
Complicit
 
4.7
"COMPLICIT is an amazing book. It's the story of Jamie and his sister, Crazy Cate. Cate may be the craziest..."
Black Ice
 
4.0
JenJen
"What I liked: the cover, the action, suspense and pacing. I never got bored, and with all of the survival..."