Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Simple Mystery for Emergent Readers

King loves his human girl, Kayla, especially when she makes him peanut butter dog treats, his FAVORITE food! He sits patiently and asks to lick the bowl nicely, but Kayla informs him that raw dough is not good for dogs. The two meet Jillian, Kayla's good friend, and hew brand new puppy, Thor. Thor is full of energy, but King patiently lets the puppy chew on his ears. When it is time for sampling the delicious treats, some are missing, and King gets blamed. Kayla points out that King's breath does not smell like peanut butter. Other possible culprits are investigated, and eventually Jillian and Kayla figure out who took the baked goods.

Good Points

This is told from King's perspective, and young readers will be amused that King is trying so hard to communicate with Kayla, but she just always thinks his barking means he needs to go outside! King tries very hard to help Kayla with her investigation, since he knows the true culprit long before she does, and there is a gentle humor in this.

The illustrations are simple, bright, and charming. There's plenty of white space on the page for readers who are just starting to navigate text on their own. The reading level is similar to the I Can Read book series, and the story is broken down into three chapters.

It's great to see books with diverse characters, and King is a very appealing dog, with his love of all things food and his devotion to Kayla. His enthusiasm is spot on-- I'm pretty sure if my dog should talk, she would sound just like King.

This is a great choice for emerging readers who like McDonald's Judy Moody and Friends books, Clarke's Dr. KittyCat, and Birney's Humphrey the Hamster.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Robin's Guide to Being Cool(er)
 
5.0
"This book is everything you don't expect it to be. Funny. Heart-warming. Educational. All wrapped up on one entertaining package...."
Monster Notebook: A Branches Special Edition (The Notebook of Doom)
 
5.0
"The Monster Notebook belongs to Alexander Bopp. He's the leader of the Super Secret Monster Patrol, also known as S.S.M.P...."
My Twinkly Tiaras
 
5.0
"This kit is genius! What do little girls love more than princesses? Not many things. At all. And..."
My Hand Art
 
4.0
"Cute and fun way to spend time with little ones. You see it in the classroom all the..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
4.0
"Abby is having a bad day-- she and her brother Jonah break a lamp playing duckball in the house, they..."
The Mysterious Moonstone (Key Hunters #1)
 
5.0
"The KEY HUNTERS series kicks off with a mystery surrounding a stolen priceless diamond. The story opens with Cleo and..."
Touch and Feel Dinos
 
4.0
"TOUCH AND FEEL DINOS has already been read several times to my nephew. He absolutely loves touching the bumpy scales..."
Play Time for Peppa and George (Peppa Pig)
 
4.0
"PLAYTIME FOR PEPPA AND GEORGE is an adorable story of Peppa and her brother George. George does not want to..."
Use The Force! (LEGO Star Wars: Activity Book)
 
4.5
"Once again LEGO and Star Wars team up to bring young fans a stellar activity book experience. Centering around..."
R2-D2 to the Rescue! (LEGO Star Wars: Chapter Book)
 
4.0
"LEGO and Star Wars team up for a beginner chapter book experience that takes some cheeky and entertaining liberties with..."
LEGO POP-UP
 
5.0
"A masterpiece of folded paper engineering, loaded with a wealth of interesting LEGO history and facts. From its..."
LEGO Knights & Castles
 
4.0
"LEGO continues its tried and true tactic of combining real world pictures and period art with their cell-shaded cartoon figures,..."
Cleonardo: The Little Inventor
 
4.0
"The first thing I noticed was the clever use of family names in the portraits of Cleonardo’s home. Neandernardo, Sapphonardo,..."
The Gathering: Shadow House Book 1
 
4.5
"I must say this is one of the most beautifully designed books I’ve seen in a long time. The illustrations..."
Face Off (LEGO Star Wars)
 
4.0
"The sarcasm is strong with this one. This format will likely hold the most appeal for young video game..."
Yo-Kai Watch: Official Guide
 
5.0
"All fans of the Yo-Kai Watch world must have this great guide to the world of yo-kai! A..."
LEGO Planets: A LEGO Adventure In The Real World
 
4.0
"In this informative introductory guide, LEGO borrows heavily from NASA images and taps a comic-style to walk kids through our..."
Carnival Capers! (LEGO DC Super Heroes: Reader)
 
5.0
"Once again LEGO and DC deliver with this simple-yet-valuable storyline, featuring beloved characters and stylized artwork. The Teen Titans..."