Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Fantastic Historical Baseball Title!

Things are rapidly changing during World War II for Maria. The farm her father rents and runs is undergoing some changes, her close knit Hispanic/Indian community is experiencing losses, and she is finally granted permission to play baseball... while wearing shorts! This isn't easy for her, but with the help of her teacher and coach, Maria learns the sport and overcomes the objections of her family and community to girls playing. There are grade appropriate struggles with friends and a younger brother that show that even during different time periods, some essential middle grade concerns stay the same.

Good Points
This was a great example of what makes great historical fiction-- vivid descriptions of details of daily life during a different time, an unusual twist to the history, and sports. If all historical fiction included sports, it would be helpful! I had never heard of the Mexican-Hindu community in California, and the brief glimpse into Indian history was fascinating, since the book put it into context against US history that younger readers might know a bit better. I am always glad to see books that show the difficulties that girls had playing sports before Title IX as well.

Maria is a great character, and her reactions to situations are flawed but charming. She is supposed to watch her brother, but this interferes with practice. The solution? Clearly, bribe her brother! She lies to her mother about things, but feels guilty. She appreciates her parents' culture, but also doesn't feel it's completely her own.

There were two details about this time period that I found particularly interesting-- the Beckers, both Elizabeth and her father, were shown as pure meanness at the beginning of the book, but Maria does start to understand their motivations more. There are few treatments of German-Americans at this time, so it's a nice touch to include this. The other thing that was interesting was the fact that Maria's father couldn't own land, but his children, being born in the US, could.

Baseball might be the most "American" sport, but perhaps that is because so many different ethnic groups embrace it. Step Up to the Plate, Maria Singh is a great addition to a list of multicultural basenall books that include Lorenzi's A Long Way Home (Pakistani), Volponi's Game Seven (Cuban), Lynch's. Gold Dust (Caribbean), Shang's The Way Home Looks Now (Chinese), Ritter's Fewnay Fever (Italian), Tooke's King of the Mound Mound: My Summer with Satchel Paige (African American) and any number of books set during WWII that feature Japanese-Americans and baseball!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Mean Girls
 
4.0
"MEAN GIRLS (2004), the cult film phenomenon starring Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Amanda Seyfried, and Tina Fey, is now a..."
Robin's Guide to Being Cool(er)
 
5.0
"This book is everything you don't expect it to be. Funny. Heart-warming. Educational. All wrapped up on one entertaining package...."
Monster Notebook: A Branches Special Edition (The Notebook of Doom)
 
5.0
"The Monster Notebook belongs to Alexander Bopp. He's the leader of the Super Secret Monster Patrol, also known as S.S.M.P...."
My Twinkly Tiaras
 
5.0
"This kit is genius! What do little girls love more than princesses? Not many things. At all. And..."
My Hand Art
 
4.0
"Cute and fun way to spend time with little ones. You see it in the classroom all the..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
4.0
"Abby is having a bad day-- she and her brother Jonah break a lamp playing duckball in the house, they..."
The Mysterious Moonstone (Key Hunters #1)
 
5.0
"The KEY HUNTERS series kicks off with a mystery surrounding a stolen priceless diamond. The story opens with Cleo and..."
Touch and Feel Dinos
 
4.0
"TOUCH AND FEEL DINOS has already been read several times to my nephew. He absolutely loves touching the bumpy scales..."
Play Time for Peppa and George (Peppa Pig)
 
4.0
"PLAYTIME FOR PEPPA AND GEORGE is an adorable story of Peppa and her brother George. George does not want to..."
Use The Force! (LEGO Star Wars: Activity Book)
 
4.5
"Once again LEGO and Star Wars team up to bring young fans a stellar activity book experience. Centering around..."
R2-D2 to the Rescue! (LEGO Star Wars: Chapter Book)
 
4.0
"LEGO and Star Wars team up for a beginner chapter book experience that takes some cheeky and entertaining liberties with..."
LEGO POP-UP
 
5.0
"A masterpiece of folded paper engineering, loaded with a wealth of interesting LEGO history and facts. From its..."
LEGO Knights & Castles
 
4.0
"LEGO continues its tried and true tactic of combining real world pictures and period art with their cell-shaded cartoon figures,..."
Cleonardo: The Little Inventor
 
4.0
"The first thing I noticed was the clever use of family names in the portraits of Cleonardo’s home. Neandernardo, Sapphonardo,..."
The Gathering: Shadow House Book 1
 
4.5
"I must say this is one of the most beautifully designed books I’ve seen in a long time. The illustrations..."
Face Off (LEGO Star Wars)
 
4.0
"The sarcasm is strong with this one. This format will likely hold the most appeal for young video game..."
Yo-Kai Watch: Official Guide
 
5.0
"All fans of the Yo-Kai Watch world must have this great guide to the world of yo-kai! A..."
LEGO Planets: A LEGO Adventure In The Real World
 
4.0
"In this informative introductory guide, LEGO borrows heavily from NASA images and taps a comic-style to walk kids through our..."
Carnival Capers! (LEGO DC Super Heroes: Reader)
 
5.0
"Once again LEGO and DC deliver with this simple-yet-valuable storyline, featuring beloved characters and stylized artwork. The Teen Titans..."