Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun and Exciting

I have to admit the only reason I picked this one up was because Greg Grunberg had authored it and J.J.Abrams had a fantastic quote on the cover. It was interesting to learn that Grunberg was inspired to write the story after his own son's dreams.

Grunberg has crafted an engaging world where dream jumping and fighting is possible. It deals with the issues of growing up, facing your fears, and building self confidence. Ben is a lovable character that you cannot help but root for - you want to go on the journey with him.

The illustrations are fun and vibrant and add great detail to the story and help push the plot along. The good versus evil plot is sure to make this a popular series. I can see this series being a big hit for fans of Oddly Normal, Amulet and Explorers. I am looking forward to book 2. It is a great series for any reluctant readers or just graphic novel fans like myself.

Good Points
Fast paced
Great for young readers
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
In 1945, at the end of World War II, Adolf...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You May Now Kill the Bride
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die (Ruby Redfort #6)
Ruby Redfort: you can count on her when the ice...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Wish I Was a Gorilla
What if you wished you were a gorilla and then...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The New Kid
Middle school can be tough! Especially when Alex's best friend...
 
3.0
 
5.0 (1)
Margot and Mateo Save the World
When Margot Blumenthal removes a bright blue slug alien attached...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
When destiny and desire collide... In a community full...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Escape The Future
"AS POWERFUL AS CORMAC MCCARTHY... A TIMELY, TROUBLING, AND MEMORABLE...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Challenge Accepted
Emma Dawson and Logan Reynolds have been neighbors and...
 
4.2 (3)
 
0.0 (0)
The Planetsider
A story of self-discovery, belonging and hope. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Sea Takes Me
Two years later might as well be two lifetimes....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From You to Me
Amelia Peabody lives in a small town where nothing changes....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
"According to legend, when the world was young, two gods...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Why Can't I Be You
Claire Ladd knows that this summer is going to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What will it take for a cynical older sister to...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found