Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Fun and Exciting

I have to admit the only reason I picked this one up was because Greg Grunberg had authored it and J.J.Abrams had a fantastic quote on the cover. It was interesting to learn that Grunberg was inspired to write the story after his own son's dreams.

Grunberg has crafted an engaging world where dream jumping and fighting is possible. It deals with the issues of growing up, facing your fears, and building self confidence. Ben is a lovable character that you cannot help but root for - you want to go on the journey with him.

The illustrations are fun and vibrant and add great detail to the story and help push the plot along. The good versus evil plot is sure to make this a popular series. I can see this series being a big hit for fans of Oddly Normal, Amulet and Explorers. I am looking forward to book 2. It is a great series for any reluctant readers or just graphic novel fans like myself.

Good Points
Fast paced
Great for young readers
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Brightly Burning
Stella Ainsley leaves poverty behind when she quits her engineering...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All's Faire in Middle School
Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
No Sad Songs
Following a family tragedy, 18-year-old Gabe LoScuda suddenly finds...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground #1)
Turned into a vampire at the age of two,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The 11:11 Wish
Megan Meyers has a foolproof plan to reinvent herself...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonkyn
Marc used to think he was pretty ordinary, but...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Facade (Blind Barriers Trilogy #1)
The Brightest Smiles Hide the Darkest Secrets.... When Raven...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
This Tiny Perfect World
The big-hearted story of a small-town girl who discovers...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Silver Mask
A generation ago, Constantine Madden came close to achieving what...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tombs
New York, 1882. A dark, forbidding city, and no place...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children of Exile
Rosi must decide what she’s willing to risk to save...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Teeth of the Gods
Chained to an enemy general. Determined to be free....
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Vampire Trick (Dark World: The Vampire Wish 3)
In a kingdom full of secrets, no one can...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Am Alfonso Jones
Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unearthed
From the New York Times best-selling author duo Amie...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Boyfriend Agreement
Fake boyfriends are hard work. When 16-year-old Bella’s dream...
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

My Sweet Audrina
 
4.0
"Right, I predicted bout the mystery floating around Audrina life, but then ending shocked me. Audrina is a sweet..."
Deception Point
 
N/A
"I had a hard time putting it down once i started reading this. very informative and knowledgeable. and the plot..."
 
4.5
"This is the best book about surviving that I have read, it's on my top 5 list. My favorite part..."
 
5.0
"I learned early on that the books required to read in school are not so bad. This was one of..."
 
4.7
"Finding what makes guys work is a hot topic in a lot of YA novels. This one was a bit..."
Pay It Forward
 
4.7
"I've seen the movie Pay It Forward multiple times so when my english teacher suggested we read the novel for..."
Deception Point
 
4.7
"Deception Point Book Review “Exceedingly clever…. Fascinating and fun…a considerable achievement.” is the praise that the Washington post gave to..."
 
N/A
"I think the book is ok, but i feel that some people will like it learning wise, not that much..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Raelyn             Hatchet is the most exciting and thrilling book Ive ever read. It is about..."
Violet Eyes
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Ruthie This was a beautiful re-telling of The Princess and The Pea. The book was fantastic! It..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by ccc I think hatchet was awesome!!!!!!!!!! It showed survival skills that I didn't even know.          I guess a..."
Fearless (Fearless #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by random one fearless is a book with a message that will stick..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Brittany The book, My Sister's Keeper, was written by Jodi Picoult in 2006, an award nominee..."
Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jess I really liked this book, so much so that I have read and reread the entire..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by jenn this book is absolutely amazing and a five star rating hands down. this is the first..."
Truth or Dare (Fear Street #28)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Chaellee Typical Stine work. Several teens are stuck in a ski house waiting for the roads to..."
On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi This book is, essentially, Stephen King's memoir, but, as the title suggests, it focuses on writing,..."
No Place Like Home
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ashley Liza Barton killed her mother when she was ten and shot her step-father numerous times...."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by amanda  although this story is reall really really sad( i cried) it is one of my favorites,..."