Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

A bio-mechanical adventure ride

LEGO BIONICLE is a theme of LEGO constructions that follow a group of part biological and part mechanical beings set in an Asian-inspired fantasy meets science fiction world. REVENGE OF THE SKULL SPIDERS by Ryder Windham is part two of a chapter book series spin of this world. We follow the Protectors as they try to discover what’s happened to the Toa as they vanish in the City of Mask Makers after defeating the Skull Spiders.

The world building around this story is amazing. If you have not yet ventured into the world of BIONICLE, you need to start from book one in order to fully appreciate. There is just so much to soak in! Revenge of the Skull Spiders picks up after book one. The skeleton warriors have been defeated, and the Toa are destined to find the Great Mask Maker, Ekimu. But the Toa arrived without their memories and lack the ability to fight alongside one another. Perhaps it’s the destiny of the Protectors to ensure the Toa reach Ekimu. With the help of one they once thought lost, the Protectors can live up to their names.

The world of Revenge of the Skull Spiders is nothing short of brilliant. From lush landscapes to deep caverns buried under rock, Windham does a wonderful job of making the reader feel connected to the story. I absolutely love the sweeping epicness of the fantasy element with an Asian flair.

The pacing is fast, and the vocabulary is challenging enough for young to mid-range middle grade readers. Also, the message imbedded within the story is an important one to learn without being overly preachy. The Protectors are put into a position where they must learn to work together. Only then will they reach their objective. Teamwork is a priceless lesson, and Windham handles this with ease.

Revenge of the Skull Spiders is a bio-tech joyride sure to please readers who enjoy deep fantasy adventures with a modern flair. Fans of the LEGO BIONICLE sets will love seeing their favorite Protectors brought to life through each page. The characters are relatable, and each brings something valuable to their mission. The Protectors—Vizuna, Korgot, Narmoto, Izotor, Kivoda, and Nilkuu—are way cool, and their elemental weapons are even cooler. I look forward to the rest of the series!

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Esme's Wish
When fifteen-year-old Esme Silver objects at her father's wedding, her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What the Night Sings
For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the first book of this new series, Sage Stone...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burns the Night
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Edge of Juniper
Malcolm Dearing is sweet, gorgeous, persistent...and off-limits. Fay is...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Marked Beauty
Uncovering hidden secrets can sometimes kill you . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Listen to Your Heart
Kasie West brings us another compelling read with “Listen...
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Screenshot
Skye's social media game is always on point. Until...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
And She Was
Dara’s lived a sheltered life with her single mom,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The God Gene Chronicles: The Secret of the Gods
Legend and lore lay the foundation for this exciting new...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Big Water
Seventeen-year-old Christina McBurney has led a sheltered life. But when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two schools: One of magic and science, the other focused...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Kidult Handbook: From Blanket Forts to Capture the Flag, a Grownup's Guide to Playing Like a Kid
Adulting is hard! But “kidulting”— engaging in nostalgic childhood activities...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Science: A LEGO Adventure in the Real World
Did you know that the blue whale could blow up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Meant To Be Broken
Rayne Davidson is perfectly happy fading into the background. Her...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
Switching Gears
Still mourning the loss of Lucas Nelson, the boy she...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
4.0
"This kept me on the edge of my seat for the whole 4 hours it took me to read it......"
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
3.0
"I must say, this was a big imporvement from Eagle Strike. I really didn't know what was going to happen..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alex W. Alex Rider the 14 year old spy is back. He is on a..."
Necropolis (The Gatekeepers #4)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Julie H. This series is perhaps a bit more suitable to a slightly older tween/teen than Horowitz's..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tyler Skeleton Key book rocks. it is the thrid book in the alex rider seris and..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi I didn't know what to expect of this book when I began, but I must say,..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by EshInoBi Skeleton key was exciting, book-round. Not that a book is round. But I was pleased to..."
Skeleton Key (Alex Rider #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Allyssa Not to confuse this book with a (different) movie or band. Alex Rider is back in..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Emma L This book is almost ready to be made into a movie. It is action-packed and..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by joanne Out of all the Alex Rider books, I liked Scorpia the best. The excitement and power..."
Scorpia (Alex Rider #5)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Arly I love this book. Alex has been unfairly treated by MI6. You can really identify with..."