Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Dr. Kitty to the rescue!

Dr. Kitty Cat and her assistant, Peanut the mouse, are seeing an upswing in the amount of patients showing up to their clinic with minor injuries. It turns out that there is a field day competition, and all of the animals are practicing. When Posy the puppy gets stuck in a tunnel on the agility course, Dr. Kitty is on her way! She and Peanut manage to extricate Posy, but it's unclear why Posy was limping, when she was so bouncy at her well puppy visit the day before. It turns out that Posy is trying to cover up another issue so she doesn't get in trouble, but Dr. Kitty is able to get to the bottom of the problem with the help of her able assistant, and the games can continue.

Good Points
The illustrations in this book are black and white photos of animals with the additon of purple and white drawings or clothing, backgrounds, etc. This is an unusual and charming illustrative style that is particularly effective, especially since Posy is a very appealing yellow lab puppy with a purple bow in her hair!

What I liked best was the age appropriate medical descriptions. Peanut informs Dr. Kitty that "The first signs of shock are a quick pulse and cold skin", and a detailed description of cleaning and dressing a wound on Clover the bunny's ear is just the right amount of information for young doctors to memorize and try out on their own stuffed animals. There is even a list of what Dr. Kitty has in her medical bag, and how the items are used. The language is straight forward and matter-of-fact. What a great book to give a budding medical professional!

It's also nice that Dr. Kitty and Peanut are respectful of each other, and Posy's reasons for faking a limp are good ones that will serve as a cautionary tale.

Readers who have graduated from I Can Read and Step Into Reading Books and who enjoy animal tales will find that Dr. Kitty to be just what the doctor ordered!
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Tom Gates: Extra Special Treats (Not) (Tom Gates #6)
 
4.0
"When Marcus Meldrew gets a Star Pupil Badge, Tom decides that he will try to mend his ways and earn..."
The Pudding Problem (Lyttle Lies #1)
 
4.5
"Sam doesn't tell the truth as much as he should, so his mother is not sure who broke her prized..."
Winter Wonders (Cupcake Cousins #3)
 
5.0
"After their adventures in Cupcake Cousins and Summer Showers, cousins Willow and Delia are back with their family in Michigan,..."
Applesauce Weather
 
4.0
"Faith and her brother Peter live with their parents on a farm that used to belong to their Aunt Lucy,..."
The Secret Daughter of the Tsar
 
4.3
"The Secret Daughter of the Tsar is a carefully woven tale of three lives, converging in a powerful ending that..."
The Forget-Me-Not Summer
 
4.0
"Marigold's father is a screenwriter, and she's very excited that she might be getting a real agent, after appearing in..."
Adventures with Waffles
 
4.5
"Translated from the Norwegian by Guy Puzey, first published in 2005. Lena and Trille live in a small coastal..."
The Midnight Door (Scare Scape #2)
 
4.5
"Just when Morton thinks that all of his Scare Scape toys are no longer going to attack him and his..."