Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A charming tale of adventure and love

Reading FLORA AND ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo was an absolute joy. Children’s books are usually full of everything that’s normally impossible but becomes possible, and Flora and Ulysses is no exception.

Flora (don’t you dare care her Flora Belle) Buckman is a cynic. How a ten year-old becomes a cynic, no one knows, but she is. Her mother is a romance writer and why someone would want to read such frivolity is beyond Flora. All her mother does is clack away at her typewriter to meet her deadlines, punctuated by the continuous clang of the carriage return. And she thinks Flora is strange, too strange.

Although Flora Buckman is a cynic, which she reminds us often, she longs to be a superhero like the Amazing Incandesto of her beloved comic books, The Illuminated Adventures of the Amazing Incandesto. In fact, she lives her life guided by the bonus comics at the end of her Incandesto Adventures: TERRIBLE THINGS CAN HAPPEN TO YOU! Within these bonus comics are bits of knowledge that Flora uses when strange things happen. They cover everything from what to do if you somehow manage to consume a bit of plastic fruit to a bag of frozen peas making a handy cold compress. It’s within TERRIBLE THINGS that Flora learned how to perform CPR, yet it did leave out how, exactly, to administer it on a squirrel that was sucked up into a rogue vacuum.

And thus, we meet Ulysses. After being sucked into a vacuum--and brought back to life through Flora’s use of CPR--Ulysses is changed. He thinks, he loves, he writes poetry, and he flies! Ulysses is the superhero Flora has dreamed about. Together they will fight crime because, as her second bonus comic, The Criminal Element Is Among Us, explains, criminals are everywhere and they mustn’t fool you. Together Flora and Ulysses work to uncover the mysteries and challenges of the aloof shepherdess, a loopy neighbor, a temporarily blind boy, a quirky father (“George Buckman, how do you do?”), the Giant Do-Nut, tales of Blundermeecen, and one arch nemesis.

The characterizations of Flora and Ulysses are positively delightful. Flora may be a self-professed cynic, but she’s brave, independent, and craves the love of her parents. Ulysses, her faithful crime-fighting pal, is equally brave and adores Flora and her round head. Even little William Spiver and his battle with temporary blindness due to an unfortunate event involving his mother, her Tyrone, and an unsupervised car leaves a giant smile on your face.

Each character has a great need for love, especially Flora the cynic, and you want them all to succeed. Kate DiCamillo also penned The Tale of Despereaux and Because of Winn-Dixie. If you’ve read either of these books, you know she has a great knack for taking incredibly unique, quirky characters and making them undeniably loveable. Same with Flora and Ulysses. Undeniably loveable.

The pacing is spot on for a middle grade reader of 8 to 12 years, and possibly older. DiCamillo challenges the reader with more complex vocabulary than found in much older books, and that is wonderfully enjoyable. The words flow off the page as you read them in a near dance. I could almost see the bouncing ball over each word, bobbing in time with the cadence of the text. It is beautifully written.

The message of love in Flora and Ulysses is so powerful. In the end, Flora is just a little girl who had lost her father and mother to a complicated divorce. Her mother became overbearing and her father stopped laughing. The love of a child, the love for a child, is a precious thing. There is no love greater in this world. Flora and Ulysses touches the soul in a quirky tale of a cynical little girl who learns just what is means to be capacious of heart.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
Far, far away, in the realm of Enchantia, creatures...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Paper Bag Mask Cover.jpg
At the same moment he catches his teacher giving...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Cruel Design
The nightmare of the outbreak is finally...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

#Murdertrending
 
4.7
"In the near future, a reality TV star has become president and signed off on Alcatraz 2.0, a new prison..."
The Season
 
4.3
"THE SEASON by Sarah MacLean is a YA historical fiction novel that centers around seventeen-year-old Alex, who is coming of..."
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
 
4.3
"Sixteen-year-old Bluebelle, or BB/Big Bones, loves herself. Forget that others say she's fat. After a recent asthma attack, she has..."
The Exact Opposite of Okay
 
3.3
"THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY is a book that tackles sexism and slut-shaming. Written as a series of journal entries,..."
Girl Gone Viral
 
3.3
"Girl Gone Viral was pitched for Warcross and Black Mirror fans. Now I haven’t read Warcross yet, but I’ve seen..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.7
"Reading Patron Saints of Nothing invokes a lot of emotions, especially for someone who’s socially aware of the current political..."
This Time Will Be Different
 
5.0
"THIS TIME WILL BE DIFFERENT is an engaging YA contemporary with strong underlying messages about racism and social activism. With..."
As Far as the Stars
 
3.3
"AS FAR AS THE STARS is a slow-burning book about overwhelming grief. Air (Ariadne) is a high schooler with heaps..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Don't Date Rosa Santos
 
5.0
"DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees..."
Not Now, Not Ever
 
4.0
"Lily Anderson’s sophomore novel follows Elliot "Ever" Gabaroche during an intense summer program to compete for a scholarship. It’s Not..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Salvation Day
 
4.3
"Zahra wants the world to know the truth about her father. She believes he wasn't to blame for the deaths..."
The Stars We Steal
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Princess Leonie "Leo" Kolburg has a title, but not much else. She's heir to an older European spaceship.When the..."
In Another Life
 
4.0
"I really loved this storyline. The Story: Chloe is going through a tough time with her family. After her..."
When Summer Ends
 
5.0
"This book is everything. The Story: Olivia and Aiden have good lives. Olivia has a boyfriend she loves..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
The Beautiful Lost
 
3.3
"A first-person past-tense telling exclusively from the perspective of Maia, a depressed high school sophomore with some ambitious—if half-formed—plans for..."
Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #1)
 
5.0
"Absolutely fantastic! "Dance of Thieves" is a really wonderful YA fantasy that takes place in the world of 'The Remnant..."
10 Blind Dates
 
4.7
"10 BLIND DATES is the must-read romantic comedy of the fall! Sophie is staying with her grandparents and her very..."