Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

A Special Place in My Heart

My heart has always held a special place for book. They take you to far off places away from every day stress and pressures. I had a feeling I would fall in love with this book the moment I heard the synopsis at a New York Comic Con Panel this past October. Yes, I had a countdown on my phone to remind me exactly when the book was coming out. I even pre-ordered it that October. The wait was definitely worth it! Wexler puts it perfectly when he writes “ Books are the ocean in which magic swims… that every so often, somewhere among them, a particular word or phrase or sentence achieves a meaning that goes beyond the natural.” This is exactly what the reader feels when they open The Forbidden Library.

The Forbidden Library is a classic and captivating children’s fantasy story set in the 1930s. The main character Alice, is a young orphaned girl sent to live with an uncle she has never heard of. Once in his presence, she discovers he is a man that at times can be very kind and in the same instant very cruel. Her Uncle’s home is mysterious and dark with unknown things lurking behind each corner, and most importantly an unusual library. This library holds an almost Alice in Wonderland mystic. It has everything a fantasy fan could ask for; a dark and mysterious house, talking cats, dark every changing labyrinth, and a fantastical array of magical creatures, along with fantastic illustrations.

Django Wexler is gifted at word building and it shows in his brilliant imagination when creating Geryon’s Library and all the mystical things that can occur there. The library is magnificent and full of secrets-every book lover’s dreams. I want this world to be real. In the world of The Forbidden Library a small number of people are gifted Readers, readers with the ability to pull magic and creatures from books just by reading. There are different types of books such as prison books and portal books. Each book has their own danger lurking for the Readers.

The Forbidden Library is well paced. It’s the kind of book you unwind on rainy Saturday or outside on a sunny day. Wexler’s writing takes you on a magical journal that you wish never had to end.

Fans of Coraline and Inkheart will appreciate the similar sense of mystery and darkness with the light mix of humor. This book should not be overlooked and should be on every fantasy reader’s must read list.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sword and Scion 01: Into the Dark Mountains
How lost one feels when his own character remains a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Pirates of Brisa (Wyrms of Pasandir #2)
When young Eskandar leaves his ship with the tough broomrider...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Building a Trade Empire (Wyrms of Pasandir #4)
Trade had been Shaw’s life, her dream, her future –...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journeys: Young Readers’ Letters to Authors Who Changed Their Lives
Books can change lives — and here are more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Moonlight Meeting: The Nocturnals
In The Moonlight Meeting, Tobin, a sweet pangolin, Bismark, a...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hidden Kingdom: The Nocturnals Book 4
A group of veiled creatures--a chameleon, stick bugs and assorted...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sight of Stars
Seventeen-year-old Klee’s father was the center of his life. He...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bokkaners of the North (Wyrms of Pasandir #3)
Against all odds, Eskandar and his bunch of ragtag youngsters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Road to Kalbakar (Wyrms of Pasandir #1)
Seventeen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Air and Ash (TIDES Book 1)
Master and Commander meets Sarah J Maas in a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wolf Hour
Welcome, my little lambs, to the Puszcza. It's an...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Dragon Orb
The fate of a kingdom rests on the shoulders...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fragile Chaos
A GOD OF WAR SEEKING RESTORATION. AN UNWILLING SACRIFICIAL...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nice Try, Jane Sinner
The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I Love You Like a Pig
From the acclaimed bestselling author of Extra Yarn and Sam...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Uglies (Uglies #1)
 
5.0
"I loved how different this book was to most that I have read. The plot and the story line are..."
Wicked (A Wicked Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I read a TON of fae fiction and A WICKED TRILOGY by Jennifer L. Armentrout is so hilarious and refershing...."
Moonburner
 
4.7
" "The moon cannot enslave the sun, nor make the day its mistress." I absolutely loved this dark yet..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
4.7
" This is one of the most beautifully written books I've read in a long, long while. I found myself..."
In Sight of Stars
 
5.0
"IN SIGHT OF STARS is Gae Polisner’s latest young adult novel. It’s a contemporary story that tackles mental health in..."
First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)
 
4.0
"This is a very good series introduction. From the critical side, my first impression was that Rachel Carter broke..."
Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons #2)
 
4.0
"I am in love! The DC Icon series is turning me into a fan of superheroes, and Marie Lu's take..."
The Foragers
 
5.0
"An intricate narrative bringing out a picturesque imagination of the author, reverberating unknown Ainu culture and the footprints of experiences,..."
The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline
 
5.0
"Zoe, the daughter of the three, isn’t just another descendant–she’s the key to humanity’s salvation. In this first installment of..."
Nice Try, Jane Sinner
 
5.0
"HILARIOUS. Nice Try, Jane Sinner is hands down one of the funniest YA books I've ever read. Just imagine a..."
The Edge of Forever
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF FOREVER by Melissa E. Hurst is the first book of a duology set in 2146. It’s a..."
The Gatekeepers
 
4.3
"North Shore seems like the most sophisticated and put-together town there is, but it hides a deadly secret from those..."
Starswept (Starswept #1)
 
5.0
"Starswept was a really fascinating novel filled with adventure, music and romance. I loved the plot of the novel..."
The Wolf Hour
 
3.0
"THE WOLF HOUR by Sara Lewis Holmes is both a fairytale retelling and something new entirely. The book focuses on..."
A Love for the Pages
 
4.0
"A Love for the Pages was a nice and sweet contemporary novel. It's about June Eyermann, a nineteen-year-old whom loves..."
The Foragers
 
5.0
"I love how each chapter is written from a different character's perspective, it's like mini stories within a bigger one...."
The Rules of Magic
 
4.0
"Franny and Bridget (Jet) along with their brother Vincent are part of the legendary Owen family of witches. Settling in..."
Right Where You Left Me
 
4.3
"Calla Devlin’s sophomore novel offers a look into what happens to those left behind after disaster. The story..."
Divergent (Divergent #1)
 
5.0
"Divergent is one of my favourite books of all time. The story is about a girl named Tris who must..."
An Ember in the Ashes
 
4.7
" A remarkable work of dark YA fantasy—beautifully crafted, and laden with Arabian mythology. Told in alternating dual POV..."