Review Detail

 
Kids Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

A Special Place in My Heart

My heart has always held a special place for book. They take you to far off places away from every day stress and pressures. I had a feeling I would fall in love with this book the moment I heard the synopsis at a New York Comic Con Panel this past October. Yes, I had a countdown on my phone to remind me exactly when the book was coming out. I even pre-ordered it that October. The wait was definitely worth it! Wexler puts it perfectly when he writes “ Books are the ocean in which magic swims… that every so often, somewhere among them, a particular word or phrase or sentence achieves a meaning that goes beyond the natural.” This is exactly what the reader feels when they open The Forbidden Library.

The Forbidden Library is a classic and captivating children’s fantasy story set in the 1930s. The main character Alice, is a young orphaned girl sent to live with an uncle she has never heard of. Once in his presence, she discovers he is a man that at times can be very kind and in the same instant very cruel. Her Uncle’s home is mysterious and dark with unknown things lurking behind each corner, and most importantly an unusual library. This library holds an almost Alice in Wonderland mystic. It has everything a fantasy fan could ask for; a dark and mysterious house, talking cats, dark every changing labyrinth, and a fantastical array of magical creatures, along with fantastic illustrations.

Django Wexler is gifted at word building and it shows in his brilliant imagination when creating Geryon’s Library and all the mystical things that can occur there. The library is magnificent and full of secrets-every book lover’s dreams. I want this world to be real. In the world of The Forbidden Library a small number of people are gifted Readers, readers with the ability to pull magic and creatures from books just by reading. There are different types of books such as prison books and portal books. Each book has their own danger lurking for the Readers.

The Forbidden Library is well paced. It’s the kind of book you unwind on rainy Saturday or outside on a sunny day. Wexler’s writing takes you on a magical journal that you wish never had to end.

Fans of Coraline and Inkheart will appreciate the similar sense of mystery and darkness with the light mix of humor. This book should not be overlooked and should be on every fantasy reader’s must read list.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Morning Glory
This war is far from over. This war is only...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forget Me Not
Cole Dyami is a mysterious boy with a dangerous secret....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Crown of Amiriel
Despite her unstable powers, Warrior Princess Raynin is the most...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Darkest Legacy
The long-awaited new novel in the New York Times best-selling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nightbooks
A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Intoxic
When Alison Hayes walks into her storm-darkened trailer the afternoon...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Ranch Hero
Kid lit with a comic book twist! This is a...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
The Black and White Ball
In a lush and bountiful woodland, teeming with magnificent wildlife,...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Denis Ever After
Written by award-winning author Tony Abbott and perfect for...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
Texas: 1931. It’s the height of the Great Depression,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
You May Now Kill the Bride
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hiding Lies
At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Shadow Wings
I will never be controlled again. A manipulative dragon...
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Into Darkness
Fifteen-year-old Alexandra Spencer's life was not supposed to turn...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Kai's summer changes when she gets a summer internship at...
 
0.0
 
4.3 (1)
Zoe is just your average teenage girl expecting another average,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Darkest Legacy
 
5.0
"It's been five years since the "rehabilitation" camps have been destroyed and now, everyone is working on rebuilding. Zu is..."
Side by Side A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde
 
4.3
"Bonnie Parker is waiting for Clyde to be released from prison. It's 1931 and she wants him to come..."
Here to Stay
 
4.7
"Bijan Majidi does okay in high school-- he has a good friend, Sean, is on the basketball team, and while..."
Hiding Lies
 
5.0
"HIDING LIES is the second installment in the Eleanor Ames series. It begins with Ellie and Miles saying goodbye since..."
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)
 
5.0
"Apollo, now known as a human teenager named Lester, must restore five Oracles that have gone dark in order to..."
The Red Ribbon
 
5.0
"Fourteen-year-old Ella is striped down and treated as subhuman by the Nazis and tries to survive. When she hears of..."
Strange New World
 
4.3
"Dahlia 16 just found out her whole life is a lie and that she's not a clone after all...."
Ascent (A Peak Marcello Adventure #3)
 
5.0
"After their disastrous climb in The Edge, Ethan, Alessia and Peak are looking for some adventure that is a bit..."
Uncle Tom's Cabin
 
5.0
" “Any mind that is capable of a real sorrow is capable of good.” To be..."
Brave New Girl
 
4.0
"All Dahlia 16 knows is that she's just one of five thousand identical girls that's sole purpose is to work..."
The Last Best Story
 
4.7
"'The Last Best Story' by Maggie Lehrman is provocative and intriguing, bringing a shadow of a doubt to the truth-finding..."
Picture Us in the Light
 
2.0
"I tried, but I just could not finish this book. I could only make it to chapter three. It is..."
Little White Lies
 
4.0
"LITTLE WHITE LIES by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is a novel mashup of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars set in..."
Missing at 17
 
3.0
"When Candice, better known as Candy, discovers that she's adopted, she feels betrayed and angry. These negative emotions make her..."
Let Me List the Ways
 
4.3
"'Let Me List the Ways' by Sarah White is a breezy and engaging look at the relationship between two best..."
LIFEL1K3
 
4.3
"LifeL1k3 is an engaging novel full of incredible writing, violence, action, romance, and strong world-building. Told in third person, and..."
Playing Her Secret Crush
 
4.0
" "Playing Her Secret Crush" follows Katie and Alex as they enter their senior year of high school. Katie has..."
The Year of Living Awkwardly
 
4.7
"Chloe Snow is a high school sophomore who is struggling with the abandonment of her mother. She also is absorbed..."
Six of Crows
 
4.7
" A clever and dark YA fantasy—featuring a well-rounded cast paired to a heist plot that tugs at the mind..."
Three Dark Crowns
 
2.3
"Original Review: literarychaos.com Rating: 2.5 Stars I really wanted to love this book, unfortunately, I just..."