Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0

A heartfelt look at a tough topic

Suicide is always a touchy topic and Richard Peck's book explores it in a subtle and gentle manner. It is a story of three friends who support each other through the torments of both growing up and a world that changes rapidly around them.


Two of them, Buck and Kate, deal well with the pressures. But Trav's worst pressures are internal ones that, even with their support, he cannot handle. It is when he seems to have finally relaxed that he takes the final step over the edge.


He leaves behind two friends who aren't sure how to grieve and parents who try desperately to understand what happened. A public meeting with the school board and the community is a telling scene. Everyone wants to blame someone for what happened. The school board wants to blame the parents. The parents want to blame the teachers. Finally, Kate's great-grandmother makes them all see that everyone in the room is hiding and that everyone--and no one--are responsible for Trav's death. It is a very powerful speech about community and one that means a lot in today's world of school violence.


As the title of the book suggests, the main story is about the good times the three friends shared. Even though it is a sad story, it is also a happy one. It ends, fittingly, in springtime.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
 
3.5
"I'm a huge fan of graphic novels and this series is one that is sure to appeal to those who..."
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
"VOW OF THIEVES is a thrilling end to a wonderful spin-off YA fantasy. Although a spin-off series from the Remnant..."
Dance of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #1)
 
5.0
"Absolutely fantastic! "Dance of Thieves" is a really wonderful YA fantasy that takes place in the world of 'The Remnant..."
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
 
4.0
"WICKED FOX is a unique urban fantasy that uses Korean mythology to bring a mythological creature to life. Miyoung is..."
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
"CROWN OF CORAL AND PEARL Is a story of sisters, adventure, and change. Nor and Zadie, whose names mean coral..."
The Hobbit
 
3.5
"This book is strong and well hearted. "
The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MERCIFUL CROW is a lush new fantasy unlike anything I have read before. In the kingdom of Sabor, people..."
Eva and Baby Mo: A Branches Book (Owl Diaries #10)
 
5.0
"Eva and Baby Mo, the next book of the Owl Diaries Series What a fun book! This book..."
Teeth in the Mist
 
5.0
"Deliciously creepy, shocking at every turn, and unexpectedly horrific, TEETH IN THE MIST is an intense page-turner. Fitting the supernatural..."
Gravemaidens (Gravemaidens, #1)
 
4.7
"GRAVEMAIDENS is an intriguing YA (light) fantasy that completely pulls you in to this other world. Kammani is an aspiring..."
Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
 
5.0
"WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME is a fantastic second installment in the Earthsinger Chronicles. Although it is the second book,..."
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Last Hope (The Raging Ones, #2)
 
4.7
"THE LAST HOPE is a thrilling conclusion to the THE RAGING ONES duology. As we know from the first book,..."
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
 
5.0
"SPIN THE DAWN is an unbelievably fantastic read with some elements of a high-stakes PROJECT RUNWAY, some elements of FLAME..."
The Chosen (Contender, #1)
 
5.0
"MAZE RUNNER meets LAND OF THE LOST in this engaging page-turner full of twists and turns in an epic tale..."
The Deceiver's Heart
 
5.0
"THE DECEIVER'S HEART opens in an epic way. Kestra tries to kill Lord Endrick, but fails and tries to escape..."
The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow, #1)
 
5.0
"THE STORM CROW is an engrossing and imaginative YA fantasy. Anthia (Thia) is a princess of Rhodaire and eagerly awaits..."
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
 
4.7
"If you love a snarky heroine, surprise twists and turns, and a fairytale-themed plot, THE EVIL QUEEN is designed to..."
Stepsister
 
4.3
""The wolves in the woods have sharp teeth and long claws, bit it's the wolf inside who will tear you..."