Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

beautiful story of family and finding yourself

DON’T DATE ROSA SANTOS is a sweet and touching book about family. Rosa lives with her grandmother, and she sees her mother every now and again as she arrives and leaves unexpectedly. Rosa’s family is thought to be cursed, as her grandfather drowned on the trip fleeing Cuba to America with her pregnant grandmother, who gave birth to her mother along the way. Her father disappeared to the sea when her mother was pregnant, and only his ship was ever found. Her mother and grandmother are rather tight-lipped about it all.

Rosa wants to connect with her heritage and has selected her college based on the availability of a study-abroad program in Cuba. She is not sure how her grandmother will take it, as it is one of the things they don’t discuss. Despite being a coastal town, Rosa has not spent much time around the water for fear of the curse. As the town needs to raise funds to prevent the marina from being bought out by upscale developers, Rosa proposes they have a cultural Latin American festival to raise money. As she gets into the planning, she is repeatedly paired up with Alex.

Alex (Alejandro) has left college and is back in town, working with his family and sailing- a fact that could make Rosa dangerous for him, if you believe in the family curse.

What I loved: This is really sweet story about family history and finding out who you are. The legacy of Rosa’s family has defined a lot of her life, and when the college that she planned to go to throws her a curveball, Rosa is left reconsidering her choices and why she has chosen the plan for herself that she has. I also really loved the representation of Latinx characters and the Latin American culture presented throughout. The relationships between characters, family and friends, were simply beautiful. This is a book which diverse audiences could easily connect with.

Final verdict: This is a lovely book about finding yourself, learning about family, and coming together. With beautiful writing that really connects the reader to the characters, this is a fantastic book for fans of Maurene Goo, Sandhya Menon, and Angie Thomas.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Be More Chill: Broadway Tie-In
The groundbreaking novel that inspired the Tony-nominated Broadway musical! Jeremy...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Season of the Witch (The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #1)
From the creator of Riverdale comes the Chilling Adventures of...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Dummy Meets the Mummy! (Goosebumps SlappyWorld #8)
After being put back to sleep and abandoned in an...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's Alive! It's Alive! (Goosebumps SlappyWorld #7)
A brand-new Goosebumps arc narrated by the most iconic and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Stolen Breath
The Swarm is unrecognizable, untraceable, and unpredictable—random attacks on the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cursed Beauty
Aurora Rose Brynhild is out of time. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The C Word
Addison: Secrets have a way of getting out....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Aphelion
Ky isn’t your typical seventeen-year-old girl. She's an alien hunter.Ky...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Announcing Trouble
I may know everything there is to know about baseball,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seneca Lake
It's 1944, and high school senior Meg Michaels has always...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freshman Witch
Of course, magic is real. Everybody knows that. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sarai and The Around The World Fair
When Sarai outgrows her bike, she worries she'll never get...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Of Beast and Beauty
7 vengeful sisters 7 fairytale kingdoms 7 daughters...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
4.7
"I don’t even know how to begin this review. This isn’t the first time I’ve read Stephenie Meyer‘s Twilight. It..."
Storm and Fury
 
5.0
"Storm and Fury by Jennifer L Armentrout is the first in her spin-off series The Harbinger. When I started reading,..."
 
5.0
"'Handwriting Skills Workbook' does a great job of informing students and parents alike about the importance of focusing on how..."
 
5.0
"'Sorting for STEM Big Skills Workbook' deals with core concepts. Science, technology, engineering, and mathematics are the focus in this..."
 
5.0
"'Math Practice Extra Big Skills Workbook' has a large variety of fun activities to help students build their math knowledge...."
Be More Chill: Broadway Tie-In
 
3.7
"BE MORE CHILL is an interesting discourse on popularity/being "Cool" and the pros/cons of technology. Jeremy is part of the..."
Darkblood Academy
 
5.0
"With the integration of the human and supernatural worlds, things are bound to get crazy. Luna never thought she was..."
Season of the Witch (The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #1)
 
4.7
"SEASON OF THE WITCH is a fantastic start to the Sabrina series. While fans of the shows will appreciate all..."
The Dummy Meets the Mummy! (Goosebumps SlappyWorld #8)
 
5.0
"When Cathy's dad gets a new mummy for his Haunted Horror Museum, he's over the moon. It's just what his..."
It's Alive! It's Alive! (Goosebumps SlappyWorld #7)
 
5.0
"With parents who are experts in robotics, Livvy wants to follow their lead and build an amazing robot for her..."
Hitched: The Bachelorette
 
5.0
"When Kimmie-Jayne lands the role on Hitched, she's thrilled that her dreams of acting are coming true. She's also excited..."
The Culling
 
5.0
"Grant and his sister Stevie are on their own, trying to survive in a desolate bayou with limited food sources...."
Every Stolen Breath
 
4.0
"EVERY STOLEN BREATH is an engrossing read that follows Lia as she attempts to uncover her father's killers. Every so..."
Skipping Forward
 
3.8
"Skipping Forward by Bethany Wicker is a standalone contemporary fantasy about a girl who can skip through time. This book..."
Fangs & Fins
 
3.3
"Ivy and Ember are thrown together when their parents marry. One a popular girl, the other a bookworm, they start..."
The N Word
 
5.0
"Alright, if you read my review of The F Word, you know how attached I already am to these characters...."
Announcing Trouble
 
5.0
"Making me smile all the way through, ANNOUNCING TROUBLE was a pure delight. Josie is almost eighteen with an enormous..."
Of Wolves and Witches
 
4.0
"Harper is sent to a magical Academy when she breaks the rules. She doesn't expect to end up with two..."
Golden Chains
 
5.0
"Feedback I just… wow. What a different pace than the first novel! Right off the bat we are thrown into..."
Sarai and The Around The World Fair
 
3.0
"Though rich and vibrant in illustrations and culture, Sarai and the Around the World Fair is a slow-mover. ..."