Review Detail

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

Enthralling YA fantasy

THE SOUL OF POWER is a strong conclusion in The Waking Land trilogy. While the first book focused on Elanna (El) and the second on Jahan, this third book is all about Sophy Dunbarron, now the queen of Eren and Caeris. This book requires the context of the first two to really get into and thus does not work as a stand-alone. Eren and Caeris were countries once together but have separated becoming enemies and having one conquer the other. They were both under the power of Paladis, and sorcery has been outlawed/thought to be evil.

El, the Caveadear or steward of the land, has awakened the land and participated in the rebellion of the people against the then rulers. Now, installing Sophy and fighting against neighboring kingdoms, she is captured by Paladis and their Witch Hunters. Sophy has already sent Jahan to Paladis as ambassador, and her hold on the people is tenuous with hatred between Ereni and Caerisians still lying under the surface. As Sophy tries to navigate the political landscape, she must worry about other rebellions and dissatisfactions- and the secret she carries.

As tensions continue to rise, Sophy is increasingly aware of the difficulties of ruling. She must decide not only what is best for the people but also for herself as she fills the role she was raised to fill. While the characters from previous books are present here, there are many new characters and/or old characters who are now given larger roles, that are completely enchanting. This whole series is filled with extraordinarily well-crafted people who leap off the page in their descriptions and mannerisms. Each book has completely brought me into this realm.

This book has less romance than in the past, as Sophy is already with Alistair. Her main objectives are career-related (if we can call ruling the country as such), and this is always refreshing in the YA literature. The world is so well-crafted that it is easy to imagine and completely enthralling, much in the way of high fantasy books like Lord of the Rings. This whole series has been such a fascinating and engaging ride that I highly recommend for people who like YA or adult fantasy, and especially for fans of The Girl of Fire and Thorns series.

Overall, this is a great finale in a fantastic series, and I highly recommend you read it from start to finish. With beautifully crafted characters and amazing world-building, The Waking Land trilogy is a wonderfully enthralling journey. I would add warnings for rape (past/not in detail), sexism, torture (not described in detail), and gruesome deaths.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Enter the Core (Max Tilt #3)
Max Tilt thinks his luck is finally changing, thanks to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hugs and Kisses for the Grouchy Ladybug
From the World of Eric Carle comes a brand-new book...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hush, Little Bunny
Hush, Little Bunny is a heartwarming, lyrical love letter from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fangs for Everything (Crimebiters #4)
The CrimeBiters gang got its start with help from my...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer Babies (Babies in the Park)
An endearing board book with adorable babies on the go...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magical Creatures Academy 1: Night Shifter
Rina Nelle Mont has never been a part of...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Riverdale.jpg
Based on the massively successful CW show, Riverdale, this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emmie and the Tudor King
One moment, Emmie is writing her high school history paper;...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology)
First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Afterward
Romantic high fantasy from the bestselling author of Star...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tell Me Everything
Your secret's safe...until it's not. Ivy's always preferred to...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Genie Dagger
A magical dagger. An evil genie. A hidden past....
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Fox and the Box
In this debut picture book, author-illustrator Yvonne Ivinson invites readers...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lambslide
Nicolette Farmer is running for class president, and the rest...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am a Wonder Woman
An entertaining look at some of the most influential women...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun Down, Monsters Up!
Pitchfork Pines Preschool is anything but normal. Once the sun...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Ghoulia
 
4.0
"To Ghoulia, she's just the average girl. To us, she's something completely different: a zombie. Ghoulia's aunt wants her to..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
5.0
"I just want to shake the authors hand. I use to read books all the time but It takes so..."
Zombie Abbey
 
2.3
""Zombie Abbey" is Downton Abbey with zombies (and characters names changed). Although it's been a while since I watched Downton..."
Zombie Queen of Newbury High
 
4.3
"This book was probably the best book I have ever read. I loved the end so much I wished there..."
Ernestine, Catastrophe Queen
 
4.0
"Ernestine and her little brother Charleston are trying to bring on the zombie apocalypse. After doing a spell, they believe..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
Zombie Abbey
 
4.0
"It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie..."
Through the Zombie Glass (White Rabbit Chronicles #2)
 
4.7
"This was better than the first installment. But sometimes Cole still bothered me a little. He broke up with her..."
Plants vs. Zombies: Lawnmageddon #1
 
4.0
"An entertaining start to a graphic novel series fit for longtime fans of the Plants vs. Zombies game; appropriate for..."
H2O (The Rain #1)
 
4.0
"I think I want to lay off Apocalypse stories for a little while. (But I'm not going to, because they..."
The Zombie Chasers #7: World Zombination
 
4.5
"Scientist Nigel Black has sent the group to Madagascar to find mayfly larvae as the final ingredient for his antidote..."
The Zombie Chasers #6: Zombies of the Caribbean
 
4.5
"Now that Rice's addition of Spazola Energy Cola to the antidote has not only rezombified everyone but made them into..."
Zombies Y'all!
 
5.0
"Fun read. Recommend for youngsters who like zombies, but maybe don't want all the blood, guts and graphic gore of..."
Strange and Ever After (Something Strange and Deadly #3)
 
3.3
"I finally got around to finishing this series and I read it straight through, for the most part. It did..."
My Zombie Ex-Boyfriends
 
4.7
"Fun. In a word, this story is just plain fun. The premise is wacky in all the right ways, and..."
Strange and Ever After (Something Strange and Deadly #3)
 
5.0
"What I loved: THIS is how you end a trilogy, my friends. Like a freaking BAMF. Seriously, I had my..."
Dead City (Dead City #1)
 
5.0
""Normal kids have enough to deal with," but now that Molly was recruited into Omega, New York's elite zombie-killing academy,..."
Blue Moon (Dead City #2)
 
4.0
"What I Loved: A compelling heroine, a cast of interesting characters, and a new take on zombie lore make..."
Eat, Brains, Love (Eat, Brains, Love #1)
 
3.3
"Video games, zombie morphing and secret government agencies out to do you in. If it sounds like a weird B-movie,..."
Eat, Brains, Love (Eat, Brains, Love #1)
 
3.7
"What I Loved: This story is fantastically entertaining, and is a nice, quick read. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend..."