Review Detail

 
Easy Prey Featured
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

Easy Prey

Easy prey’s story is directly relevant to its title. It tells the story of how when you prey on others, completely disregard the people you hurt, you just might become easy prey yourself.

The internet can be a nasty place. I think many of us have experienced its nastiness in some way shape or form. Easy prey shows this in seemingly real time.

Jenna, Mouse, and Drew are paired off in law class. As a group, they must tackle the effects of the internet by reviewing a case in which a girl’s photos are posted online, and the guy gets no punishment. See, Jenna has been before and would prefer not to go there again.

This time, however, she plans to be on the right side of it, and to prove once and for all, that the girl suffering is the victim and deserves justice, even if it means she must get it by unconventional means.

What worked for this story is the fact that it comes off as very real. Most of us or have heard of someone who’s been cyber bullied-whether it be by words, or having risqué photos posted of you online. At least one or two celebrities of this lifetime has had this happen.

While the book does a good job of tackling this, by the end of it, the reader dependent upon the interpretation, could be left with a bad taste in their mouth.

The end of the story contradicts its overall message. If its intention was shock value it did that, but in order to accomplish what was intended it caused the same harm, it fought so hard to struggle against throughout the book.

That was a hard pill to swallow, realistic, but hard.

Overall, it’s a decent read that does more good than harm, but a more fair ending would’ve been preferred.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Ideal Boyfriend is a Croissant
This honest, laugh-out-loud novel brimming with body positivity, bite-sized nuggets...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Carnival Catastrophe (The Problim Children, #2)
All siblings are capable of magic if they stick together....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
As Far as the Stars
Christopher is the sort of guy that no one...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
TWO LIVES BOUND BY ONE LIE. Magic has consequences—...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wicked Fox (Gumiho, #1)
Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
4.0
"Possible spoilers ahead. Angelfall is most definitely a unique story with a dark twist on angels and the apocalypse..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
4.7
"This book follows Penryn, a young girl living in a dystopian world where angels have conquered the world and have..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
5.0
"This book was on sale in Amazon.com so I decided, why not buy it. My best friend enjoyed it, so..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
4.7
"Whoa. This is pretty much everything I love rolled into one book. I don't know why it took me so..."
Sketchy (The Bea Catcher Chronicles #1)
 
3.7
"The first installment in the Bea Catcher Chronicles is a high-stakes mystery that will keep you enthralled and guessing until..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
4.7
"Angelfall is a book worthy of a read. And I'm not the first to suggest this. Susan Ee, took the..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
3.0
"Angelfall would have never really reached my reading radar if it wasn’t for Octavia of Read. Sleep. Repeat bringing it..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
5.0
"The post-apocalyptic world that Ee has created is horrifying, brutal, and very compelling. The cities have crumbled, street gangs run..."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
5.0
"THIS BOOK. This is the book that revolutionized angels for me. The only complaint I have is that I..."
The Meme Plague (Memento Nora #3)
 
3.0
"What I Liked: As a dystopian series, The Meme Plague has enough going for it to outweigh the weaknesses. Most..."
Sketchy (The Bea Catcher Chronicles #1)
 
2.0
"Sketchy should have been a thrilling and exciting read, with dynamic characters and a unique supernatural twist on a protagonist..."
Sanctum (Guards of the Shadowlands #1)
 
4.7
"Riveting debut brimming with heart-wrenching endings, thought-provoking beginnings, and unforeseen choices in a world that only death can bring on...."
Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1)
 
5.0
"“There’s a strong fear of the supernatural now. Both mortal predators and prey seem to agree on listening to their..."
Sketchy (The Bea Catcher Chronicles #1)
 
2.7
"Eh. It had promise, but that's about it. I liked the mystery aspect of it. The summary on Netgalley really..."
Sanctum (Guards of the Shadowlands #1)
 
5.0
"“I wanted the chance to give him something, to give him the best of me, as pathetic as it was,..."
Passion Blue
 
5.0
"I love books set in Italy. The blurb to PASSION BLUE intrigued me and I was very excited to..."
The Good Braider
 
3.3
"Viola, her mother, and her brother are doing their best in war-torn Sudan, where all the men have gone to..."