Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: December 02, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

How She Died How I Lived

What worked: Gripping tale that deals with survivor guilt after a horrific murder. This story is intense, but one I feel needs to be told. I lost my own younger sister to gun violence a number of years ago. The author nails the emotions of a loved one who lost someone to violence. Also it addresses the guilt a survivor might feel. To be honest, I was worried this story would be too painful to read, but I found I couldn't put this book down.

In this story the murderer sends five emails out, fishing for his victim. The one girl who did response, the 'Saintly Jaime', is brutally murdered. A number of emotions hit the girls who didn't respond. I felt this was so realistic as everyone handles loss in different ways.

Readers follow the protagonist as she struggles with different emotions, including guilt that she wasn't the one who was murdered. I love how Charlie tries to 'get' over the death of his girlfriend, but is told by the protagonist:

"It's not like there's an expiration date on any of this." "It's messed up, but you didn't mess it up. It's not on you."

There is a strong message that it's okay to feel after a horrific tragedy like murder. It's okay to not forget. And it's also okay to live.

The only thing I wished was that the author showed more on how the parents were feeling and dealing with the death. We see that one of the girl's, Lindsey, mother is never around. Jaime's mother ends up joining a survivor's group. **Interesting as my own mother joined one of these too after the murder of my sister. But I wanted more from the protagonist's family. Other than that, this is a very powerful novel that has tons of feels. Intense, moving, and unforgettable, this story is one that addresses survivor's guilt in a realistic way.



Good Points
1. Author NAILS the emotions of survivors
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

UFO Spotted!: A Branches Book (Hilde Cracks the Case #4)
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ghoulia
Ghoulia lives in Crumbling Manor with her Auntie Departed and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, Life, and the List
Seventeen-year-old Abby Turner’s summer isn’t going the way she’d planned....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction
Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Absolutely Everything!: A History of Earth, Dinosaurs, Rulers, Robots and Other Things Too Numerous to Mention
Discover how science, nature and history connect in this fast-paced,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Sloth Who Slowed Us Down
When the speediest family in the world finds a sweet,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Little Golden Book About the Solar System
Little Golden Books introduces your young reader to the solar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enlightenment by Reno Ursal
When Dorothy Dizon meets the mysterious Adrian Rosario and his...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Flash: The Secret Files of Barry Allen: The Ultimate Guide to the Hit TV Show
My name is Barry Allen. You probably know me as...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blood Spell
Blue de la Cour has her life planned: hide the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ogre Enchanted
In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Home and Away
Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirage
In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dactyl Hill Squad
It's 1863 and dinosaurs roam the streets of New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Hiding Edith: A True Story
 
4.0
"There are quite a few Holocaust books out there (including some really famous ones, like Night and The Diary of..."