Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
(Updated: November 07, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0

I Do Not Trust You

I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz is a young adult thriller that follows Memphis “M” Engel all over the world as she searches for pieces of an ancient Egyptian statue. If she can find them before the cult that kidnapped her father does, she can trade them for her father’s life. Or at least she hopes. Ash, her traveling companion, is there to help, but he has his own interests, beginning and ending with an opposing cult that also wants those pieces. To defeat old and dangerous puzzles in different countries and languages, M and Ash have to work as a team. In order to do that, they need to trust each other, but M isn’t willing to risk her father’s life on Ash’s fidelity.

This book is such a rich surprise. The story is set in present day and splashed against the backdrop of many world mythologies. It is lush with knowledge and history and it ignites my own interest in folklore and other cultures. With the characters, we readers get to travel to England, France, Egypt, Thailand, Italy, India, and more, and as such, it evokes a special kind of wanderlust.

I especially love how the relationship between M and Ash evolves over the course of the book and how they have to decide if they’ll ultimately betray each other. However, I am still confused as to why they have to split up later in the book. The solution M creates when fleeing in Central America should have been an obvious solution to them in New Orleans after what they witnessed in Bali. I wish the authors had crafted a more compelling reason to separate, so it didn’t feel like such a plot device.

With that being said, I DO NOT TRUST YOU is a thrilling adventure, one that will appeal to fans of TOMB RAIDER, INDIANA JONES, and THE DA VINCI CODE.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Made Me a Dad
In this touching celebration of fatherhood, the close bond between...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cicada
Cicada tells the story of a hardworking little cicada who...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam
Naval aviator Jeremiah Denton was shot down and captured in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Swap'd
After her Click'd catastrophe, Allie Navarro is determined to redeem...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Karen sprints into Stick Dog’s pipe and declares an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ruff vs. Fluff (Queenie & Arthur #1)
From the outside, Queenie the cat and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Yay for Vaycay! (Pug Pals #2)
The pugs are packing their bags! ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Braced
Rachel Brooks is excited for the new school year. She's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Focused
Clea can't control her thoughts. She knows she has to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where the Heart Is
It’s the first day of summer and Rachel's thirteenth birthday....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Because of the Rabbit
On the last night of summer, Emma...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Secret Soldiers: How the U.S. Twenty-Third Special Troops Fooled the Nazis
In his third book about deception during war, Paul B....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Light Jar
Nate and his mother are running away. Fleeing from an...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Stars  (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #2)
When the Demon Queen shows up in her bedroom, smelling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Martha Tom knows better than to cross the Bok Chitto...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

To Best the Boys
 
5.0
"TO BEST THE BOYS was everything I hoped it would be and more- I loved it! In this alternate world..."
Within These Lines
 
4.7
"Italian-American Evalina Cassano falls in love with Japanese-American Taichi Hamasaki in 1941. Then Pearl Harbor happens and their forbidden love..."
Corpse & Crown (Cadaver & Queen, #2)
 
4.0
"Adding in the characters of Oliver Twist to the unique world of Bio-mechanicals created in the first book, this stand-alone..."
An Assassin's Guide to Love & Treason
 
4.0
"AN ASSASSIN’S GUIDE TO LOVE & TREASON by Virginia Boecker is such a breath of fresh air. It’s a YA..."
The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow
 
4.0
" "The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel" is a retelling of the Legend of Sleepy Hollow from the point-of-view of..."
The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow
 
4.0
"A romantic, female-driven gothic tale of star-crossed lovers with a real-world twist on Washington Irving’s classic ‘The Legend of Sleepy..."
Girl At The Grave
 
4.0
"Valentine was only six years old when her mother was hung for a murder. After the death, Valentine's basically taken..."
When We Caught Fire
 
4.7
"It's 1871 and Emmeline Carter is set to married eligible Chicago bachelor Frederick Tree. But she can't forget her first..."
Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2)
 
5.0
"Words cannot express how much I loved this book. I was a bit worried that it wouldn't live up..."
Hunting Prince Dracula (Stalking Jack the Ripper #2)
 
5.0
"Why do I always feel highly inadequate to correctly express my love and admiration for Kerri Maniscalco and her extraordinary..."
Silent
 
4.7
"SILENT by David Mellon is quite cinematic, which makes sense as the author has been a storyboard artist in the..."
Banished
 
4.3
"Check out my other reviews on my blog: The Butterfly Reader Jayden is so much stronger in this novel!..."
Forbidden (Forbidden #1)
 
4.0
"So I started reading this series because I wanted something different from the normal and I got that. I love..."
These Vicious Masks (These Vicious Masks, #1)
 
4.7
"These Vicious Masks is everything I love in a novel and more. Victorian society, badass women, dashing heroes, a mystery..."
Wayfarer
 
4.7
"I almost feel ashamed that this series is my first by Alexandra Bracken. It’s clear that she has a gift..."
Yakimali's Gift
 
3.7
"Yakimali's Gift is the story of young Fernanda and her odyssey through loss, adventure, new beginnings, love, friendships and finding..."
The Tsarina's Legacy
 
3.7
"I enjoy this author's ability to bring history to life. I particularly enjoy the way she alternates the past with..."
Every Hidden Thing
 
5.0
"I had such fun reading this book. My oldest son turned me into a dinosaur nerd when he was around..."
Every Hidden Thing
 
5.0
"If there's one historical YA book about romance, travel, and adventure to read in 2016, it's this one. Every Hidden..."
The Madman's Daughter (The Madman's Daughter #1)
 
4.0
"This book opened strong but lost a bit of steam along the way--a trend I found continued in the series...."