Review Detail

 
Young Adult Fiction
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0

No-holds-barred Villain

Wyatt has a decent life, but when his dad takes off, it dissolves into chaos. His mother doesn't function well, his younger brother is clingy, and his aunt Narcissa moves in and is only really helps if you consider snacking on the couch helpful. Wyatt does some stupid things and compiles a small criminal record for himself, but it's enough to land him in big trouble when he is framed for his friend's shooting of a convenience store worker. He is sent to juvenile detention, but given an odd opportunity-- he can go to a summer camp program run by the government and given the opportunity to wipe his record clean by working in covert ops for them. Soon, Wyatt is at Camp Valor, doing boot camp style drills and learning the ins and outs of espionage. In a parallel story, we follow Wilberforce Degas, a more than avid gamer whose father is a crime lord. They are vacationing on their yacht with Wil's friend Chris when things go bad. Colonel Degas is killed, and Wil flees with his mother and Chris. Unfortunately, Chris and his entire family are killed after he leaves, and Wil sinks into a deep depression and becomes the very antisocial, psychopathic hacker, the Glowworm. The Glowworm later meets Raquel, a violet nine-year-old girl, and the two set out to find his father's killer, whom he believes is . Eventually, his search connects him to the Camp Valor program, and Wyatt's group's training ultimately triumphs, although tragedies occur and there are complications put in place for the next book.

Good Points
Wyatt's descent into criminal behavior, his redemption at the camp, and the complicated twist involving his father make this a riveting read. Teens love the idea of saving the world, and putting them in a camp where they are taught the tools to use to do this is brilliant. The paramilitary aspect will also be popular with readers who like war stories as well as tales of spies.

This is definitely a young adult book, and the Glowworm and Raquel are deeply disturbing characters. There is a fair amount of human-on-human violence in this one, and while it isn't lengthy and graphic, there will be occasional scenes where the Glowworm decides to put a bit of his nemeses' flesh into a blender and through his feeding tube. Raquel's background and motivations aren't really explained, but she is brutal and senseless in her killing. This will appeal to some readers raised on crime shows and video games, but was less than appealing to me personally.

Readers who enjoyed David Gilman's The Devil's Breath, Muchamore's Cherub series or McNab's Traitor books will love the pulse-pounding action and adventure of this new paramilitary series featuring troubled but talented delinquents who have a shot at redemption.
Was this review helpful to you? 

Comments

 
 
Ordering 
 
Already have an account? or Create an account
 
 
 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
The Mantle that separates the kingdoms of Elsira and Lagrimar...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Her light protects her world. But to defeat an...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Kingdom
Welcome to the Kingdom… where "Happily Ever After" isn’t...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stepsister
Isabelle should be blissfully happy - she's about to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Merbaby's Lullaby
Hush, foam rocker, sleep, wave breaker. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mage's Apprentice
Vampires. Shifters. Fae. Mages. This ain’t the New York...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bright Burning Stars
Best friends Marine Duval and Kate Sanders have trained...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Voice in my Head
For Indigo Phillips, life has always been about basking...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Virtue of Sin
Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Tin
Tin
In an alternative England of the 1930s where the laws...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stolen Girl
Nadia is haunted by World War II. Her memories of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Iliad
More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Light Amongst Shadows
James Spencer is hardly the typical troubled youth who ends...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
the orphan fixed.jpg
Sometimes the ones who save us are the ones we...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Astrid the Unstoppable
Pippi Longstocking meets Heidi meets Anne Shirley in this tale...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Whispers of Shadow & Flame (Earthsinger, #2)
 
5.0
"WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME is a fantastic second installment in the Earthsinger Chronicles. Although it is the second book,..."
Merbaby's Lullaby
 
5.0
"MERBABY’S LULLABY is an elegant and sweet poem, perfect for a bedtime book. As waves rock, whales sing, and starfish..."
Shatter the Sky (Shatter the Sky, #1)
 
4.0
"SHATTER THE SKY follows, Maren, who has been raised in a small mountain town. She and her girlfriend, Kaia, have..."
The Virtue of Sin
 
3.7
"Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven from the evil outside. She's taught to be submissive and obedient to their..."
Tin
Tin
 
5.0
"Christopher is an orphan boy who works for Mr. Absalom, an engineer who creates mechanicals, a 1930s version of robots...."
The Light Jar
 
4.0
"Nate and his mother leave their home in the middle of the night to get away from Gary, an emotionally..."
Stolen Girl
 
4.0
"Nadia and Marusia arrive in Canada after being in Displaced Persons camps in Europe. They are Ukrainian, and Nadia is..."
Because of the Rabbit
 
4.0
"Emma's father is a game warden, and when she accompanies him on a rabbit rescue, she falls in love with..."
No Place Like Here
 
4.0
"NO PLACE LIKE HERE is an engaging and summery YA contemporary that emphasizes healing and friendship. Ashlyn is at the..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book and looking back I’m honestly a little surprised. Hear me out! This book..."
The Iliad
 
3.7
"Long ago in Ancient Greece, a prince of Troy, Paris, steals the most beautiful woman in the world from another..."
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
 
4.5
"Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"It’s no secret that I enjoy a good fairytale retelling and Golden Curse by M. Lynn is that. This book..."
A Bond of Venom and Magic
 
4.0
"Diamond is a half-fae and is considered an abomination. When her home is attacked and her father is killed, she..."
The Crimson Deathbringer
 
5.0
"It will be weird for me to review my own book, so instead, I am going to post one of..."
Astrid the Unstoppable
 
5.0
"Nine-year-old Astrid is the only child in her Norwegian village, and she's called the little thunderbolt by the adults living..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
4.0
"After a tragedy that changes the community of Twin Rivers forever, Peyton finds herself coping with it the way a..."
Second Star (The Neverland Transmissions)
 
3.0
"SECOND STAR alternates POV between Peter and Wendy. It starts off with Peter sabotaging Captain Hooke's ship and stranding them..."
Shadow Realms: A Vampire Hunter Novel
 
5.0
"When Kali's brother Mason is taken by the demons, she has no choice but to turn into the very monster..."